We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Grand President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand President
Ranked #694 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
central coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 days on arrival in Bangkok, our driver was waiting for us at the airport even though our plane was very late which was great at 11-30 at night! We were settled in to our room in tower two which was very nice. We had been upgraded from a junior suite to a deluxe suite due to a promotion going on, I was a bit confused because I thought a junior suite was above a deluxe suite and wondered if we had been downgraded, but at midnight I just wanted to sleep and would sort it in the morning. We went to reception and asked to look at the junior suite the next day and was shown it with no issues. I found it a bit nicer as it had been recently renovated. It seemed the only thing it didn't have which the deluxe suite did was its own washing machine. We decided to take the junior suite and moved towers to tower 1. The rooms were very clean and tidy and when people whinge about things like cracked tiles or paint scraped off doors I just think get over it!! Go and stay in a 5 star hotel and pay for your perfectly painted doors. The bathroom was nice, we had lots of light come in and saw the most awesome sunset every day. The pools were clean and a good size and not too many people around, they have a great gym there, lots of machines for those inclined. We had no issues with the staff, they were polite and friendly and helpful to us all the time. The buffet breakfast was...well a buffet breakfast lol. They run breakfast from 5am to 10am I think so you can imagine that at 9am the food is going to be looking a bit sad. In saying that we had an early start one day and I ate at 5am and it was hot and filling. My feelings are that a buffet is essentially the same everywhere....its food left in bain maries and bowls for you and everyone else to stack on your plate.....is it ever going to be wonderful?? They are big on the buffet in thailand it seems and I have to be honest so far I have eaten a few and they are all pretty average, so Grand President is not doing anything wrong, it is what it is!! I would stay here again without a thought, we had a good time and it was in a great position with access to anything you needed, food, drinks, partying, massages, shopping and the rest of thailands many joys!

Room Tip: Tower 1 was great, Tower 2 has gym and lovely pool, but yes the birds in the aviary next door to tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerstripes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    551
    359
    193
    217
See reviews for
259
404
387
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Pros-
1.excellent Location-soi 11 ..that is a lively market where u have all the facilities,nana station is just walking distance from the hotel and that is a plus point .
2.Nice rooms(Tower 3)where we stayed-newly renovated rooms,clean hygienic,nd nice ambience rooms
3.Nice nd friendly Housekeeping staff-always welcomed with a smile
4.mini kitchenette
Cons-
1.poor breakfast-almost same menu everyday
2.late check-in(we reached the hotel by 12:30pm but they provided the room only by 2:30pm)

Room Tip: take ur room in tower 3..new renovated rooms with mini kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jags31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

it is over hyped hotel. when we checked in we requested for a checkout around 3.30 pm and which was confirmed to me by the check in personnel. However on the day of check out we were informed that we would have to vacate the room by 12 pm and leave the hotel, which came in as a very very rude shock and after quite a hassle and shouting they finally gave us check out time of 2.30 pm instead of 3.30. I feel break fast was just ordinary and would have liked the staff to be more helpful and courteous with the guests.

Hope they are changed or they improve

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmehta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I think it was good for the money but everywhere is cheap in Bangkok and you can do better. The room was tired and the breakfast a large buffet of terrible sausages and bake beans included. You pay for what you get but having said that it was cheap. I was disturbed by the noise from the street even on 14th floor but then that of course is large cities with bad double glazing and noisy aircon.

Room Tip: High up are better as quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David&Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GP-ESA, General Manager at Grand President, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for having stayed at Grand President. Your feedback is very valuable to us in order for us to review our standards and set up. As mentioned before, we are currently finalyzing an extensive renovation program for our Standard Rooms which will begin middle of July in order for us to continue to offer great value for money. We thank you for recognizing our efforts and rest assured that we are not taking lightly the comments from our guest.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future and remain.
With klnd regards.
Christoph Spiess and the Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

it is tough to find rude people in Thailand, but if you are looking for one, try N----, the receptionist. She not only locked me out in the middle of my stay, but refused to admit her mistake when I told her i had a confirmed room till the next day. That too, booked on their website. She then dared me to write about it. GP was a good option in the early days, but with an indifferent and cocky front office, old rooms, and an attitude that makes you feel like they are paying for your stay, one is better of on a couch in starbucks. There are other compass hospitality properties and they are reasonable. And they do not have a front office from hell.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_gorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ambassador Hotel Bangkok
Ambassador Hotel Bangkok
#524 of 858 in Bangkok
582 reviews
Sukhumvit
Royal President
Royal President
#414 of 858 in Bangkok
928 reviews
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
President Park Bangkok
President Park Bangkok
#317 of 858 in Bangkok
721 reviews
Sukhumvit
Kingston Suites
Kingston Suites
#304 of 858 in Bangkok
580 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand President? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand President

Property: Grand President
Address: 11, 14, 16 Sukhumvit Soi 11, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#268 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,904 - ₹ 5,549
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand President 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand President Bangkok is situated along Sukhumvit Soi 11 and a 5 minute walk to Nana BTS skytrain station. It is walking distance to entertainment outlets such as QBar and Bash, and a short drive to hospitals, embassies and shopping centers. This property features 437 air-conditioned rooms and suites all with a kitchenette consisting of a large fridge and microwave oven. Additional facilities include a Laundromat, 3 outdoor swimming pools, cafe with alfresco dining, sauna and steam room. Present your keycard for exclusive discounts and/or free entrance to select restaurants, bars and hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Grand President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand President Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand President Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Grand President Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing