We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and tired”
Review of Grand President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand President
Ranked #694 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Average and tired”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I think it was good for the money but everywhere is cheap in Bangkok and you can do better. The room was tired and the breakfast a large buffet of terrible sausages and bake beans included. You pay for what you get but having said that it was cheap. I was disturbed by the noise from the street even on 14th floor but then that of course is large cities with bad double glazing and noisy aircon.

Room Tip: High up are better as quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David&Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GP-ESA, General Manager at Grand President, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for having stayed at Grand President. Your feedback is very valuable to us in order for us to review our standards and set up. As mentioned before, we are currently finalyzing an extensive renovation program for our Standard Rooms which will begin middle of July in order for us to continue to offer great value for money. We thank you for recognizing our efforts and rest assured that we are not taking lightly the comments from our guest.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future and remain.
With klnd regards.
Christoph Spiess and the Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    551
    357
    193
    217
See reviews for
258
404
387
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

it is tough to find rude people in Thailand, but if you are looking for one, try N----, the receptionist. She not only locked me out in the middle of my stay, but refused to admit her mistake when I told her i had a confirmed room till the next day. That too, booked on their website. She then dared me to write about it. GP was a good option in the early days, but with an indifferent and cocky front office, old rooms, and an attitude that makes you feel like they are paying for your stay, one is better of on a couch in starbucks. There are other compass hospitality properties and they are reasonable. And they do not have a front office from hell.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_gorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Near happening place , lot of asian restaurants , Location ok,Service little slow.tower 3 is rooms are small.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavan208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GP-ESA, General Manager at Grand President, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you for having stayed at Grand President and for writing a short review on Tripadvisor. Sukhumvit Soi 11 is truly a special road with plenty of entertainment going on as well as lots of Restaurants to choose from. Grand President is offering various accommodation from smaller Studio rooms to large junior and deluxe suites to choose from depending on the budget of the traveller. We hope that you will try tower one or two on your next visit.
With kind regards.
Christoph Spiess and the Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Have just stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which was excellent. I stay every year the Hotel has a great location on Soi 11, the staff are really courteous and helpful.
They have 3 pools but we were put off by the number of women swimming fully clothed for religious reasons. Having someone with Robes floating on the water is unhygienic and caused us to leave the pool. They really should insist that only those wearing swimming costumes use the pool or make one of the 3 pools for their exclusive use.
The breakfast is as usual very good the only problem is the Toaster it's old and only does one side, which many guests found annoying.
Although there are signs in the Bathrooms saying Save Water it would help if the sink plugs actually kept water in !
I am returning again next week and have stayed many times and still recommend this Hotel for anyone staying in Bangkok.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GP-ESA, General Manager at Grand President, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you for your feedback and we thank you for sharing your experience thru Tripadvisor. Your comments are very valuable and we shall certainly work to improve some of them. We appreciate that you are a retrurning guest and that you mention that the location and staff are a great plus for Grand President. The point regarding guest with different religious backgrounds swimming in the pool is a sensitive one and shall be discussed internally.
We look forward to welcome you back and wish you in the meantime all the best,.
With kind regards.
Christoph Spiess and the team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

First impressions were good, hotel is in a "soi" which is like a little road off Sukahumvit Road, not far from nana station, markets are set up along sukahumvit of an afternoon..

the staff are fantastic, willing to help, polite and friendly.
the bed was comfortable (among the best in this trip)
the positives end there though,

the bathroom was dirty, there were stains on the bath.
I could not get the water hot enough to have an enjoyable shower.
the decor is dated
I could not get a comfortable temprature on the AC, Either too hot or too cold
the pool was out of towels every day by 2pm.
only one elevator in tower 3

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GP-ESA, General Manager at Grand President, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Sir
We appreciate your vaulable comments about our property. Thank you for letting us know about your stay and the feedback on pros and cons of Grand President. We understand that the rooms in Tower 3 are a bit dated and we have truly planned a reonvation of the rooms starting towards middle of July which will also include M&E works. Also, just for information, pool towels have been ordered and please accpet our apology for our shortcomings in this regard.
On your next visit to Bangkok, we hope to be of service to you once again.
With kind regards.
Christoph Spiess and the team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ambassador Hotel Bangkok
Ambassador Hotel Bangkok
#524 of 858 in Bangkok
579 reviews
Sukhumvit
Royal President
Royal President
#420 of 858 in Bangkok
928 reviews
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
President Park Bangkok
President Park Bangkok
#318 of 858 in Bangkok
721 reviews
Sukhumvit
Kingston Suites
Kingston Suites
#310 of 858 in Bangkok
580 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand President? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand President

Property: Grand President
Address: 11, 14, 16 Sukhumvit Soi 11, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#268 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,907 - ₹ 5,556
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand President 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand President Bangkok is situated along Sukhumvit Soi 11 and a 5 minute walk to Nana BTS skytrain station. It is walking distance to entertainment outlets such as QBar and Bash, and a short drive to hospitals, embassies and shopping centers. This property features 437 air-conditioned rooms and suites all with a kitchenette consisting of a large fridge and microwave oven. Additional facilities include a Laundromat, 3 outdoor swimming pools, cafe with alfresco dining, sauna and steam room. Present your keycard for exclusive discounts and/or free entrance to select restaurants, bars and hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Nozio Netplan srl and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grand President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand President Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand President Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Grand President Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing