We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel at its perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #33 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Basel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel at its perfect.”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

One of the best hotel I ever visited. Perfectly located, cosy and relaxed atmosphere at a very high level. I surely will come back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuel068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments, we are pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us recently and look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,791
    436
    98
    49
    30
See reviews for
304
1,020
254
386
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

room, facilities and food were excellent. but on my last evening on a 4night biz trip, i caught a staff hotel in my room, nxt to my bed at 1 am while i was asleep. i was shocked and confronted him and eventually got him off my room. i reported to the duty manager but to date no clear action has been taken....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ichan1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, General Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Sukhothai Bangkok.

We are most concerned and regret to learn that you were disturbed in the middle of the night by the Room Service waiter, who entered your room to obtain the breakfast door knob menu for your early breakfast to be served at 04:00hrs. in the morning.

After a thorough investigation with the staff concerned, we found that:

1. Upon your arrival, our Duty Manager learned that on your departure date, you had an early flight and expected to leave the hotel at 05:00hrs. To anticipate your need, she offered to have breakfast served in your room due to breakfast in the restaurant normally starts at 06:30hrs. She then called to Room Service to alert the staff to expect your breakfast door knob menu order and breakfast to be served at 04:00hrs.

2. At 01:30hrs., as the normal duty of Room Service Night Shift to collect the breakfast door knob menus from all rooms, the Room Service waiter went to your room.

3. When he arrived in front of your room, he found that the room door was open (we have verified this through our electronic door lock system records, which clearly indicates that there was no use of key opening of your room door at that time by our staff). As the door was open, the waiter knocked on the door one time and waited for a few seconds before entering the room. If the door was not left open, and the breakfast door knob menu was not left hanging in front of the room, as per our normal practice, our waiter would not disturb any guest in the middle of the night.

4. Room Service waiter, was also concerned about your safety as the door was left open. He should have called the Night Manager to take action instead. Once he entered the room, he found you were on the bed and waking up to see him. He was shocked and immediately apologized to you. He then asked for the breakfast menu and you got out from the bed to hand the menu to him.

5. After leaving your room, he immediately reported the incident to the Night Manager. When finishing reporting the incident, you called to complain to Night Manager and he apologized for this unfortunate incident and inconvenience caused to you. At 05:00hrs. upon your departure, he once again apologized for this incident. On the same day, Khun Wasunthara, our Assistant Front Office Manager sent an apology email to you to apologize for the incident one more time.

We truly understand your concerns and please rest assured that in the history of the hotel guest safety has never been compromised in any way. The waiter concerned went into the room, with the intention of looking for the door knob menu and out of concern as to why the door was left open. We are certain that his intentions were honest and that he was doing his best to ensure guest's well-being. However, he has been warned and counseled accordingly to fully comply with our policies and procedures. On this occasion, we have obviously failed to meet your expectations and for this we apologize

We assure you that this is an isolated incident and that the Sukhothai Bangkok team can indeed do better to accommodate you. We do hope however that we will be able to make good on the poor impression we have made and would like to think that we may be able to continue to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best regards,

Gregory Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOrthing
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

To stay here is a dream, I have stayed many time on business but this review is based on a pleasure holiday.

We stayed for 2 nights and could not have been treated better, the staff looked after us very nicely and always on hand if we needed something. We took the sunday Brunch and we can highly recommend - the Sukhothai has one of the best chefs in Bangkok on hand.

If you book a package that has breakfast included, you can have this delivered to your room, something we did and it was a lot of fun.

The pool was just the way to cool off after a hot day looking around Bangkok, and very nice service next to the pool.

Looking forward to going back

Room Tip: Alway ask for a pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonykatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to learn that you had received great services from our staff and enjoyed our legendary Sunday Brunch. On behalf of The Sukhothai Bangkok, we are hoping to welcome you back again.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed whilst on a business trip. I've visited Bangkok about half a dozen times before, staying at Lebua State Tower, the Sheraton, the Met, and the Peninsula, all of which are great for their own reasons, but the Sukhothai was such a luxurious, boutique, tranquil experience that it easily rivaled the Peninsula and vastly out-classed the others. Great restaurants, fantastic rooms (although I'm biased as I was upgraded to a suite), and really charming, friendly staff. Rooms set around a courtyard (poor description - think lily pond with a fairy-lit tree in the centre). Beautifully quiet. Lovely pool.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant time during your stay with us recently. We appreciate your comment and look forward to seeing you at The Sukhothai Bangkok again soon.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

i stayed 4 nights with my wife in Sukhotai, the overall all stay was very good.

The hotel decoration is very Thai style and we liked it, the service was very good and the staff were very friendly.
The concierge service is unmatched, they are very helpful and they are willing to go the extra mile with you and make sure you are satisfied..

They have also a very good variety of pillows you can choose from, which solves the main problem i face when i stay in hotels..

The hotel feels a bit old though especially in corridors were sometimes there's a funny smell (dust or something else) ..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejam00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time writing a compliment review for us. We are pleased to learn that our hotel facilities and services met your satisfaction. We have well noted on your comment and will bring up to the management’s consideration and we hope to have a chance to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 862 in Bangkok
6,211 reviews
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 862 in Bangkok
4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 862 in Bangkok
4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,415 - ₹ 18,556
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing