We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, of course”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #33 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent, of course”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a standard room with executive package, which means breakfast, some washing and as many cocktails as you can drink between 5.30 and 7.30 pm. (Alcoholics, beware!)

I enjoyed staying here. My room 433 was a long walk from the foyer but the surroundings are pleasant so you can't complain too much.

The room was excellent and the service very good. The pool is nice but you are in the middle of Bkk so it has its limitations.

The thai restaurant is very good, as is the Colonade. English skills could be improved. One girl behind the egg cooking counter looked at me blankly when I asked for 2 fried eggs. but I don't mind too much. I can't speak their language and I don't like the colonial mentality of some westerners.

I was amused when I was sitting at the front desk counter organising my checkout and a cute young guy who was very nice came and gave them the door key as he left. The three girls behind the desk shared something after he left which was probably something like "he' so cute" or "he's so nice". It's kind of nice, too, to know the staff are human.

I cannot fault the service but service in a big city like Bkk won't be as personal as say in Chiang Mai. The service at the Chedi in C M, for example, is much more personal in some hard to define way. And the physical space at the Chedi is much much more relaxing.

The sukothai hotel is a class act. Do try it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too far from the foyer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonsays2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of The Sukhothai Bangkok, we thank you for a taking your time to write us a lovely review. Delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation and the benefits that came with our executive package . We are glad that you enjoyed our Thai restaurant Celadon and breakfast at Colonnade, your comments regarding our service is appreciated. On the other hand we have taken your note of improvement into consideration. Thank you once again for this review we hope to welcome you back in the future

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,789
    436
    98
    49
    30
See reviews for
304
1,019
254
386
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

A highlight of a grueling 10 day trip. Wished I could have stayed and been pampered a bit longer.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wilmdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Delighted that your stay was the highlight of your trip, hopefully in the near future we would see you again and that you would be able to stay as long as you would have liked.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Located in the city center, yet when you first step in you don't feel like in the city, very calm.
Decor is modern with a touch of traditional Thai features. Room is spacious. They gave us chocolates & fruits daily. Like it! Each room has its own expresso machine.
The bar was so so.
Breakfast buffet was surprisingly good, I didn't expect that.
I stayed for seminar so it's quite relaxing to stay in a such a nice hotel, I'm not sure I want to stay for holiday, because it's quite pricey!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngelencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of The Sukhothai Bangkok, thank you for your review. Its pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with our amenities and breakfast buffet . We hope to see you here in the near future.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This was our second stay at the Sukhothai and again it was absolutely stunning. We got the hotel transfers and were whisked from the airport to the hotel is a beautiful Mercedes S Class, complete with refreshments, cold towels and soothing music. The hotel itself is just lovely. An understated luxury. The room was beautiful and our standard double was newly refurbished. A great rain shower in a lovely bathroom. The decor is all dark wood / colours and with a massive television. The food in the restaurants is exceptional as is the room service. The only negative comment was the temperature of the pool. As it was April it was extremely hot in BKK but the pool was seriously warmer than bath water. I know some other places chill the water in their pool, so this is something which the Sukhothai should look into as the pool wasn't very nice to be in. The breakfast is probably one of the best breakfasts ever. The only place that might beat this is the Shangri-La hotel chain.

Overall a delightful experience and our hotel of choice when in BKK.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneysidersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Its always pleasing to welcome back returning guests and even more delighted that your second stay was a pleasant one. We are glad that you enjoyed our limousine service, accommodation as well as our food in the different restaurants. Your particular comments in regards to our breakfast buffet is appreciated, in addition to this your experience with our pool facilities is well noted. We hope that we would see you here again soon in the near future.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We had alovely stay over New Year. Very quiet and peaceful and unusually in Bangkok low rise. Our room was enormous with a huge bathroom and every comfort. Big pool but pool area rather crowded ( but it was New Year) and difficult to find a lounger. Great food especially the Italian. Lovely shop with delicious macaroons.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms at the backof the hotel and avoid the ones by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imogen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, glad that your stay with us over the new year was a pleasant one, its also pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our accommodation as well as our Italian restaurant. We hope that in the near future we would get the chance to welcome you again to enjoy The Sukhothai experience and Macarons in Thimian.

Best Regards

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 862 in Bangkok
6,205 reviews
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 862 in Bangkok
4,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 862 in Bangkok
4,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,760 - ₹ 18,477
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, TravelClick, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing