We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite hotel in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #8 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

Not sure what to write such that this review doesn't just repeat the previous reviews! We have stayed here a few times now, and still quite put our finger on why this place is so perfect - it is everything about it. Rooms are big, spotless, bed comfy, views amazing. Service impeccable. Pool relaxing and stylish. Food lovely. The little boat across the river is great - and somehow highlights the fact you are on holiday, providing a barrier between the lovely madness of bangkok and the elegance and relaxation of the hotel. Our preference is for the suites or deluxe rooms - we had a balcony room once, but much prefer the floor to ceiling windows of the other rooms. If anything, I found the balcony blocked the view, and it was too hot to sit out there. The second loo in the suites has the best view from the window I have ever seen from a loo!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,326
    589
    140
    38
    34
See reviews for
751
1,906
223
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

From the moment we arrived, the superb check in at room, the service is just becoming much better.

We stayed here 4 nights, from 2 July-5July and we purchase the family package which is very good deal, because we got the second room for 50% and when you are travelling with kids especially they are under 12, this deal is a very good bargain. From the Intercontinental Samui and The Peninsula Bangkok, I think we chose the best hotels for our first thailand trip.

They really know how to treat you and make you feel at home. From the kids benefit that we got, the free voucher for lunch and dinner for kids when we dined in the restaurant and the list of kids places that they given us, these people are really good, they always smiled and always give you right information for anything I think. We asked them so much information and they always greet you with smile on their faces.

The breakfast which is very good compare to other hotels that I stayed before. It is just so delicious. I will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. The review is true. Simply no.1 in Bangkok.

My kids are so happy with the hotel free shuttle boat. They always want to ride this boat everywhere. It is a new experience for the girls. I must say that this hotel provide an excellent service for this. I mean, they operate until 11 at night and not even a grumpy faces shown on them. What a service!! We will definitely be back. Dont bother to look other hotels. Stay here and experience the peninsula moments.

Room Tip: Grand deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Location, location, location. Give the person who decided to build the Peninsula here a bonus. You can't provide a more memorable and enjoyable setting (though I stayed at the Shangri-La across the river about 8 years ago and that was also pretty nice).

After checking in the fantastic hostess took us right up to our balcony room and described all the amenities. We had a memorable first night dinner river-side at their buffet which was priced about $15-18 more than what it should have been priced. I recommend the hotel either add more quality food to reach that price point threshold or to reduce their costs accordingly. Otherwise it gives an unfavorable impression and they lose out on potential customers (it was rather empty). Nonetheless, the breakfast buffet (which came with the room) was outstanding. Again, location, location, location...we were eating right on the water (got a little sea sick, but that's ok)!

Great service (albeit spotty) from the start. Staff on the shuttle boats and at the restaurant were on-point.

We dealt with 2 male and 1 female concierge during our 4 day, 3 night stay and we give them a "poor" grade. They appeared overly busy and the male concierge recommended a horrible Italian inspired Thai restaurant off the Peninsula Pier across the river. The restaurant surprisingly received good reviews on Tripadvisor, but it was substandard of what we told him what we wanted. He didn't listen because he was too busy with I don't know what...his recent IPO purchases? Urgent email about his investment properties? Reorganizing the stack of travel brochures?

The pool was very fun, but again the pool service was terrible. I recommend the hotel pull up the service of their Concierge (and Pool) team to match the rest of the hotel...otherwise it's a shame that everyone else is working so hard just to be pulled down by the Concierge team.

Property management: the gym was ok sized and uninspiring. The hotel must clean up the tennis court which was covered with grime. They should also clean up the 2 fountains which book end the lawn. With every room looking down upon the lawn, this is a major point of attention for the hotel.

I had a wonderful spa treatment and the entire spa team was excellent. The setting was unbelievable and tranquil. Truly a Peninsula Spa experience!

Room Tip: Balcony room on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mangosteen800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at this superb hotel for the third time in February and now awash with all the rain in London I still hold onto the memories of our stay. Watching the boats on the river from our room on the forty-fifth floor was mesmerizing and the panorama from the suite to which we were upgraded on our last night was stunning.

The staff are always so friendly and helpful and the swimming pool - swimming always an important part of my day - is second to none, absolutely beautiful. And breakfast down by the river in the sun is a wonderful way to start the day.

The location is great. With the constant ferryboat you can be on the opposite side of the river in minutes where the shops are located.

And the restaurants are good too.

All in all, there is no hotel like this one in the world - I coud put a bet on it!

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room with a river view - much of the enjoyment of a stay at this hotel rests on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAE357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Peninsula for three nights ahead of a ten day break on Koh Samui. Situated on the west bank of the Chao Phraya river that runs through Bangkok, the Peninsula is approximately 45 minutes drivetime away from the main airport. I recommend a room with a balcony to take advantage of river views, just spending some time watching the traffic on the river is fascinating. The hotel operates a boat service across the river to the skytrain station and access generally to 'central' Bangkok.

A lovely hotel with what I would describe (positively) as a reasonably classical, 'old school' hotel look and feel to it with great staff throughout offering a very good service and customer experience. Our room was well equipped and sufficiently spacious with an excellent bathroom (including two sinks) and separate shower, nice large double bed.

The pool area (including a restaurant/bar) is great with three separate swimming pools all quite narrow but it works well. Jacquzzi is great too.

Breakfast served on a terrace (option to eat inside if you prefer) overlooking the river, with an excellent, extensive selection of food available.

On a couple of evenings, we enjoyed pre-dinner aperitifs from the bar on the aforementioned terrace and this was great. Dined at the in-house Thiptara restaurant twice and enjoyed the ambience and Thai food there too (good but not outstanding).

I have previously stayed at the Shangri-La (in 2007) and this compares favourably, due in part I think to the Peninsula's smaller scale which I felt promoted a more more intimate experience.

If I return to Bangkok there is little doubt I would stay at the Peninsula again, it has much to recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S1mpleM1nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,770 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,149 - ₹ 24,695
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing