We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
Ranked #8 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was my second stay at The Peninsula - the first time I was blown away by the experience. This time I'd come from staying at the Layana Resort in Koh Lanta which I think has ruined me after providing the best service a person could have. Every other resort will now suffer as a result!

Still, it is pleasant enough. The pool area is lovely after a busy day shopping although it does get quite noisy with the barges coming past. The breakfast is a must do as well - incredible choice of food.

One thing that did strike me as that you could find you've had a whole day running around and come back to the hotel late afternoon and find the room hadn't been cleaned. I just thought this was odd for a five star hotel. Twice we had to call to see if they hadn't forgotten us - maybe they don't have enough cleaning staff or maybe they were very busy. Either way, this should be improved.

I enjoyed getting the boat around and the staff on the boat were fantastic. We found a couple of great restaurants down in the River Centre and enjoyed visiting there. Makes it easy to get around.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,459
    615
    147
    41
    35
See reviews for
794
1,976
231
404
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Great experience! One of the best hotel in BKK

Check In was fast!
Nothing special on the rooms side as they are pretty basic. Nice and clean, as you would expect paying such high room rate…However If I can make a comment (not a complain!!), I found the rooms outdated and a touch of new technology would be nice, all bed control panels/phones are old fashion….

But on the other side, “The big plus” of this hotel is definitely the F&B
Staff was really great! Especially the Executive Pastry Chef Yoan who really did the extra mile to make our stay unforgettable! We also met a French chef Cedric if I remember is name right …Food was excellent
Spa was the best experience ever!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-foodfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The hotel staff was always so nice to be around and they were very gracious as they provided us with a nice bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries and a free dinner to help us celebrate our special occasion.

We stayed at the hotel in a balcony room. It had a gorgeous view and it was really wonderful to be looking out on bangkok's skyline at night. The bed was very comfortable and the shower and bathroom was big and clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bangkok.

We had a great experience at this hotel and thought it had a really interesting location. Since it was across the river from the main part of the city, it had a lovely private shuttle boat that took you across whenever you wanted. It was so nice to be on the boat that it actually ended up being a highlight of our trip!

the negatives:
1. the room was rather small, not a lot of room for luggage.
2. the room always seemed rather damp
3. The technology here is a little dated when compared to the Peninsula Shanghai, though it's still nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxurylover86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Thanks for The Peninsula Bangkok preparing for a unforgettable and the most impressive romantic candle-lit dinner for me and my girlfriend on 25 May, 2012, the date I proposed to my girlfriend. All the members, managers and attendants preparing for our special event are very nice and sweet. To be the most impressive thing, they settled a fabulous firework show on the Chao Phraya River without noticing me at first when I kneeled and gave the ring to my girl. So I was also surprised by the amazing firework and the warm service they gave to us. I and my girlfriend are very thankful for Peninsula Bangkok for giving us a sweetest memory ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chungyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Peninsula was a fabulous stopover returning from Europe to Australia. The service and amenties were exceptional, access to the ferry to go up and down the river was just great. The staff could not be any more helpful. The room overlooking the river was just amazing very large (we were upgraded) and just delightful. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Our corner suite was just perfect, 9th floor or so as I recall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WanderEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Property: The Peninsula Bangkok
Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,016 - ₹ 27,196
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing