We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We where taken to this magical Hotel few yrs ago for Breakfast our friends lived then in Bangkok,Cliff Richard was there as well,now that was Special,the views along the River,busy,busy.wonderfull experience,would love to go back some day.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doff80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,433
    431
    102
    34
    23
See reviews for
718
1,759
304
512
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

From the minute you arrive at the front door the staff at the Oriental cannot do enough for you. We checked in in the room which is always a good start, were introduced to the floor butler and then left to enjoy the view of the river.
The bed was super comfortable, nice and soft unlike most hotel beds in Asia. The bathroom was large, clean and well equipped. Plenty of hangers for our clothes and enough room on the luggage shelf to put both of our suitcases up.
The breakfast was a buffet with the usual selection, nice but nothing special and while it's nice to sit by the river, it's not comfortable when in a suit and tie. In typical Thai fashion they had an airconditioned area but not for guests having the buffet, only a la carte. Thai logic, can't be worked out.
Our floor butler was terrific and the housekeeping staff did a great job. This hotel has pushed up the standard in Bangkok and I hope they continue to improve.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VKinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudolfstetten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have been 40 years ago in Bangkok (got married there as the first European couple, they told us at the time). Now for our Ruby wedding anniversary we came back to this town and chose the Mandarin Oriental to stay and did not regret it for one minute! The service there has been outstanding, once again - as always in Thailand - with a constant smile. We have been receiving a cake with "happy wedding anniversary" on it and lots of fresh flowers in our room. The lobby is worth staying at with so many fresh flowers, you have seen nowhere in any hotel. It was also my birthday during our stay and without telling them, I received congratulations from the General Manager (they must have noted the date from the passport) and again a cake. At breakfast, the waiters and waitresses even sang "happy birthday". The hotel is one of the finest we have been staying at, right at the river and next to it a ferry, which takes you over to their spa and another of their restaurants, which present you daily in the evening with a beautiful Thai dancing show. We can only recommend anyone visiting Bangkok, the Mandarin Oriental and the prices there are not outrageous as in other big towns (such as New York or Moscow) and if you are not visiting at high season, then you may even get special offers, such as "pay 2 stay 3 nights". The management invites all guests regularly for an apero and this is a way to meet various interesting people. The Mandarin was certainly one of the best hotels we have stayed during our many journeys all over the world and should we come to Bangkok again, we would definitely chose the Mandarin without even searching for another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I think this is the most amazing Hotel in the world!
The service is like being into a Movie of luxury, style, and everything it is about you and your concerns.
The decoration, the uniforms of the staff, the cuisine, the rooms, amenities EVERYTHING is Thailand in action! I am absolutely in love of this hotel. You Must visit it if you cannot stay there please come and visit
The history envolved the great and historic visit had been there.... It is a dream! Every dollar you expend worth it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alenicoqueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husbando and I first stayedn at the Oriental in 2008 and we have been going back every time we stop my Bangkok. It is just incredible. From the minute you walk in you fell special! The rooms are fantastic, get one with a view to the Chao Praya river! The breakfast buffet is simply the best! The water taxi stand in right outside the hotel for easy moving arooung in such a busy city! The swimming pool is perfect for relaxation! The spa is gorgeous, the restaurants simply exquisite!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeruvianFabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,775 - ₹ 38,089
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing