We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 148
US$ 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AVANI Atrium Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$ 80
US$ 73
AVANIhotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 91
US$ 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 139
US$ 121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
US$ 69
US$ 60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 145
US$ 124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 98
US$ 72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Banyan Tree Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$ 233
US$ 151
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 449
US$ 370
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,659)
Filter reviews
4,659 results
Traveller rating
3,984
486
119
38
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,984
486
119
38
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo baracross the riverfloor butlerauthor's loungechina housesala rim naamlord jimbest hotels in the worldgrand dameriverside terracegarden wingthai restaurantbutler serviceview of the riverchao phraya riverhotel boatpool staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,474 - 2,479 of 4,659 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This was my second stay and once again The Mandarin Oriental Bangkok is perfection. From the moment you enter the lobby and you are given an elegant wai by the doorman and are presented with flowers, you have entered a place that will coddle you and attend to your every need. Each staff member amazingly remembered my name and was always available to help. The butler on my floor arrived within minutes of my stepping into my room to offer to help me unpack my bags.Rooms are very handsome and have every amenity. And of course the view over the Chao Praya River is magnificent, particularly in the evenings when glittering boats float by.

Room Tip: My friend and I tried three of their restaurants - Lord Jim's for fish, Ciao for Italian food (located outdoors on the edge of the river) and their casual restaurant. All were outstanding.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmtree2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Known to locals simply as the Oriental, the legend of the original Mandarin Oriental is alive and well. Yes, you will have to pay a premium over the other five star hotels in Bangkok..but come-on luxury lovers, you will still be paying less than half what you pay in the US for a five star hotel...and this is has so much to offer. What did we love: (1) being on the river is the best place to stay in Bangkok; (2) eating at the Oriental restaurants on the river...always nice to be able to eat at the hotel when you want to stay home or don't have time to be adventurous; (3) the butler service (figure it out and use it); (4) the mail box by which they can deliver newspapers and mail from the hall into a cabinet in your room; (5) make up the room switch..always love these; (6) the Oriental's boat service (free....learn about all the spots they will take you besides the oriental facilities across the river...best boats and crews on the river; (7) all the live music...string quartet in the lobby late PM and early evening...jazz combo for the terrace restaurants on the hotel side of the river...Thai show at the spa side restaurants....jazz singer in the lounge; (8) breakfast buffet; (9) located only a few blocks the expressway....convenient for getting to and from the airport (tip---you can use the limo service company at the airport and get a safe driver and car (Toyota Camary) for about $40-45...We saw two taxi accident scenes on the way in from the airport.....the consierge will also call that company to take you from the hotel to airport...a lot cheaper than the Oriental BMW). We really loved our stay at the Oriental...even though the hotel was at capacity, service was never compromised anywhere including the restaurants. Three other tips....(1) traffic is as terrible as reported, but the skytrain is a savior...learn it, use it; (2) the old River City mall just down the river (you can go and return by the Oriental's boat) is useful if you are looking for Thai goods and antiques...no Hugo Boss or Prada stores and it is an easy pleasant trip (3) we liked our visit and tour of the Jim Thompson house...a different kind of look at Thailand. If you look at our other reviews, you will see we have stayed at some pretty nice properties...we rank the Oriental with our favorites.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The Oriental epitomizes old-world class, quality and service.

The rooms are elegant, charming and well appointed. Service is spotless. The overall environment is wonderful. It's a luxury hotel with all its i's dotted and t's crossed.
So what makes it so special?

To me, the Oriental's edge over all other Bangkok luxury hotels are its lobby and its riverside terrace. The Oriental's lobby is the most beautiful and grand I've ever seen. But it's also the most warm and inviting. The proportions, the decor, the musicians playing classical music, the Thai hi-so roster walking in and out - it all transports you to a different time and makes you feel instantly happy. It's the perfect place for afternoon tea, sheltered from the outside heat while watching the world go by.

The terrace (and its Verandah restaurant) is decidedly my favorite spot in Bangkok. The laid-back atmosphere, the location in the most lively spot on the Chao Phraya, the impeccable service, divine food (especially the Thai selection) and overall atmosphere are unrivalled.

Yes, it is pricey. But, after all, it is deservedly Bangkok's grande dame. And it lives up to expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

There is not much to say about The Oriental in Bangkok, other than, perfection. They really get everything right here. The service is seamless, the restaurants are diverse and tasty and the location is unique.

For the business or leisure traveler to Bangkok, you can never go wrong with this hotel. Its been doing what it does for decades and will always be a special hotel in Bangkok.

If you have never stayed here, you should, at least once in your life.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jared_C_OBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Mandarin Oriental - it is the kind of hotel that is timeless , with a floor butler there to look after you if needed. The room has everything you need and is well maintained, apart from the fact that I had to ask them to change my (blood) stained bedcover upon arrival!!! I would have thought that would not have passed inspection by the butler!
It is a very traditional hotel and with all the new boutique hotels that have opened in Bangkok, the competition is fierce. They really have to keep their standards up.
I am also very much against a hotel of this calibre (and price) charging for wifi - there is no excuse for this when it is free at many other hotels in town.
The buffet breakfast on the river was excellent and the service was good.
I am not a fan of the location of this hotel, even though it is a lovely river view. I find it too far away from the action in Bangkok. I don't hunk I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews