We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Ok and bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Montien Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #382 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Only Ok and bit dated”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Oddly situated - not close to river or main shopping area. Bit dated now as well, but great buffet breakfast. Staff really pushed the thai kick-boxing which is also average. Good value for money, but needs some renovating / updating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    361
    233
    84
    56
See reviews for
111
284
108
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I like the Montien quite a lot. It's a fun blend of East and West and has been for over 40 years, but then again, I like old hotels. It's within easy walking distance of Patpong night market and across from Chulalongkorn Hospital (where one might need to go for a variety of reasons after a visit to Patpong). It's true there are plenty of cheaper hotels and hostels in the area, but The Montien is quite affordable when one considers the location, amenities, service and price.

Travel on the cheap can be its own reward, but stay at The Montien just once, if for no other reason than the enjoyment of the strong, hot coffee in the morning while you admire the room and think of days gone by.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glsisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambala, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

we stayed at montien for one night. we had our trip booked by make my trip. The hotel gives a nice feeling just as u enter it.they have a beautiful looby and coffee area. Beautiful clean rooms, and washrooms ......lovely spread of breakfast.... and the hotel is nicely located too..... u can easily go to MBK mall near by... the pat pong night market is just 2 mins walk from the hotel and a must visit... there r lots of massage centres too around this place... we enjoyed our stay here, just wish it wud have been a lill longer...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meenakshi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I travelled with my friends who are a married couple, we were staying in Koh Samui for a friends
wedding for 3 nights then Phuket for 4 nights. Our 1 night in Bangkok was spent at Montien Hotel.

Initial impression was great - the hotel was big, lobby was beautiful. Yes some might say it's outdated and I think in it's hey day it would've been the place to be. But it was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful, and it was in a good location.

We didn't get a chance to eat the breakfast as we accidentally slept in! But all in all, a good stay.

The only thing I could fault was there were three single beds instead of a double and a single, but my friends didn't seem to mind. And the key was an old style key and with three of us it would've been nice to have a key each but this was not possible.

Ratsack was a hoot! I'd recommend this place as a short stopover to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor and enjoyed it. No disruptions, all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I checked in here on July 2nd afternoon (2pm) and checked out by July 4th afternoon (12am). Their service was good. I had my safe not working but they replaced it but with couple of follow ups. Rooms were very neat and had good cupboards. Breakfast provided was excellent to suit all country people. This hotel is located in a place from where BTS, Patpong market, MBK center, Silom, Siam paragon mall, Indra center are reachable very easily. good connectivity from the hotel to all places. they also have star bucks nearby. Overall this place is very good and near by to all major shopping centers.

Room Tip: I prefer north wing rooms. south wing rooms have water complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwarakanathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Tawana Bangkok
The Tawana Bangkok
#229 of 871 in Bangkok
879 reviews
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#209 of 871 in Bangkok
1,382 reviews
Montien Riverside Hotel
#254 of 871 in Bangkok
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#194 of 871 in Bangkok
882 reviews
Silom
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Dusit Thani Bangkok
#110 of 871 in Bangkok
3,026 reviews
Silom
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montien Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montien Hotel Bangkok

Property: Montien Hotel Bangkok
Address: 54 Surawongse Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#225 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,851 - ₹ 9,499
Hotel Class:4 star — Montien Hotel Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Montien Hotel BangkokIn Bangkok for shopping, entertainment or business, The Montien Hotel Bangkok is the ideal place to stay. Conveniently located only minutes away from sky train station Saladaeng on Silom, the underground station Sam Yan on Rama IV and Hua Lumpong main railway station. The Montien Hotel Bangkok offers all modern amenities, including high speed internet access and non-smoking rooms, complimented by traditional Thai hospitality.The Montien Hotel Bangkok is in easy reach of major shopping centers such as Siam Paragon, Central World Plaza, MBK, and Gaysorn, as well as tourist attractions like China Town, The Grand Palace and The River of King, the Chao Praya river and Lumpini Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Montien Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Montien Hotel
Montien Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing