We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jewel in the Crown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Ranked #101 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Jewel in the Crown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Dusit Thani has so much class and I consider in the top 3 of hotels in Bangkok.
The reception rooms are beautiful and the cuisine excellent.
The block where the lowest rate bedrooms are not so swish, but are still very good value with lots of space - a rare thing in such a crowded city.
The position is excellent overlooking a park and near to transport links.
I will continue to stay there again and again (as I have been doing so for the last 25 years).

Room Tip: All the rooms are fairly quiet, but the lowest cost ones are exceptionally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
On behalf of the management and staff of the Dusit Thani Bangkok, I would like to express our appreciation for the positive review and we are all delighted you had an enjoyable stay. It is indeed a great pleasure to receive your compliments on our services and facilities but especially your compliments on our staff.

We look forward to your continuous patronage and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    889
    285
    107
    34
See reviews for
444
948
321
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Arrived from Manchester and was greeted with a smile and a welcome drink , cases given a label and sent to my room ahead. Reception and check in was quick and efficient , the staff from the bell boy to security, and the managers was first -class. First impressions:- .The decor was very impressive, the lounges relaxing, the lobby bar was a lovelly place to have a drink and watch the fish .
I was very impresses by this hotel with the little touches at the pool side such as cool flannels , fruit kebabs . the smiles and greeting from the staff made my short stay so pleasant. They are a credit to the hotel.
There was a great choice at breakfast which accommodated every nationality. I did not eat in the restaurants in the evening as i preferred to adventure out. So i cannot comment on the meals.
The rooms are specious and had every thing you needed, from slippers, dressing gowns tea and coffee , toiletries etc. In room safe and you had a card for the lift so sfety features are good.
The pool was a sanctury !!! The weather was very humid and the pool was great place to cool down and have drink and a bite to eat.. plus there were a lot of similar travellers trading stories and giving advice. .The guys who worked at the pool were great, nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel was a great base for business travellers and the sky train outside takes you to the shopping malls in Siam, the Stadium, or the River. Just get the tickets at the sttion from the ticket booths 20,-50 bht for a trip depending on distance. Just get off when you want . Its a great way to travel. The park opposite gives you the opportunity to have a pleasant walk , complete with boating lake.. Take a picnic as there are plenty of tables and chairs dotted about,.
I want to thank the hotel for a pleasant stay, for a first time traveller to Bangkok with my daughter i felt safe, treated with respect and i would reccommend this hotel .

Room Tip: My room on the 7th floor overlooked the pool i could see the bright lights of Siam in the distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nativethereapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

You've just seen a cheap deal for the Dusit Thani hotel right? You're thinking, "Wow, that's cheap for a 5 star hotel". There is a reason for that. You won't get a proper room, but one of the decrepit, old rooms round the back. They even have a separate reception area for them. I just checked in - the first room had fungus growing next to the smoke alarm, and the carpet was horribly stained. I asked for a change of room - exactly the same type of room but with a very loud AC. I now have to stay here, as I prebooked on Agoda. I'm putting this as a warning.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. Seriously, a cheap 3 star would get you a better room than this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Valis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Valis100, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are sorry to you hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. However, your comments are very valuable and help us to improve.

We will put into place plans for renovation in 2013, which will address the issues that you raised in your review such as old carpets and loud AC. We hope you will have a chance to stay with us again to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have stayed here many times, if you get a good price for a Club room its well worth staying here. Beware of the old rooms in the old building they are really poor. I like the location its close to both BTS and MRT and lumpini park is just 2 minutes away. Staff is not really 100% be sure you have patience when dealing with them.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredrikHalmstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear FredrikHalmstad, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your comments are very valuable and help us to improve. Regarding your comments about our staff, we plan to implement targeted training programs to improve staff quality.

However, it would be very helpful if you could provide us with more details about the problems you encountered, such as where the problems occurred (front office, restaurant, concierge, gym), and what were the problems (language skill, not pro-active, lacked product knowledge, unhelpful). This will help us to find more targeted training and overall solutions to avoid these kind of issues in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stay at the Dusit quite often when I go to Bangkok and it is always a nice stay. The locations is fantastic, so close to skytrain and Lumpini Park and for the gays it is super close to DJ Station etc. The public areas of the hotel are beautiful and very grand but the rooms could do with a refresh. All the rooms I have stayed in have been quite nice and spacious and well laid out and furnished but they are not as new or modern as some other hotels in a similar price range. Having said that, the service is always really good (although check in and out can be a bit slow). The spa is super nice but very expensive. If you don't mind spending the money it is well worth a visit (especially recommend the hot ginger press and back massage). The pool is also really nice and it has one of the better hotel gyms I have seen. Despite a slightly fading grandeur I really like this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the original part of the hotel are better than those in the newer part out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxytoxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitThaniBKK, Director of Communications at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Foxytoxin, thank you very much for your positive review of Dusit Thani Bangkok. We are all delighted you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your comments about the quality of our facilities.

We would like to update you about our plans to upgrade facilities in the East Wing. We hope you will have a chance to stay with us again to see the improvements.

Please remember that Dusit Thani Bangkok has an active Facebook page where you can share your memorable experiences, pictures, news and reviews of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Silom
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
#90 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,035 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#15 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Bangkok

Property: Dusit Thani Bangkok
Address: 946 Rama IV Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#80 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#90 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,843 - ₹ 10,659
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Bangkok, known as the 'City of Angels', it sits opposite Lumpini Park with its broad boulevards and expanse of lakes. The luxury hotel is adjacent to both the sky train and subway systems within easy proximity to major business, shopping and entertainment centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Thani Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Bangkok
Hotel Dusit Thani
Bangkok Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing