We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmosphere plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #22 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Atmosphere plus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stay her as an alternative to getting out of Bangkok. The place feels like an old colonial beach resort.
Excellent pool gym bars and restaurants. I stronly recomend both Brio and Trader Vic's. Cheeper options are available at the adjoining small mall and if you want more choice at Asiatec across the river.
On the down side:
You are far from any attractions
The building is old and is constantly in need of maintenance. The doors are heavy and bang loudly shaking adjoining rooms when not closed considerately.
The drinks service around the pool was slow and I get the feeling they expect an good size tip on top of the 10% service charge.

Room Tip: Buffet lunches at Brio are excellent. Buffet pizza or pasta may not be your thing but the Antipasto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBflysagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia P, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

It is nice to read that you have experienced and appreciated many of our facilities such as our pool and gym and our restaurants. The special mentions of Trader Vic's and Brio make our teams and me very proud. Thank you for this.

We are very sorry you did not feel the same about our pool bar service and rest assured we will address this.

We truly hope to welcome you back to our resort in the near future and remain,

With best regards,

Claudia Pronk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,756
    1,262
    262
    83
    26
See reviews for
1,466
2,346
234
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
262 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 696 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I do not know what the Anantara fuzz is all about. We first stayed in the Anantara at the golden triangle at over 10,000.- for a room of about 40 spm, then at the Anantara on Kho Samui and recentlynatnthe Anantara BKK riverside and every time we could not the value for money as they seem to be out of touch with pricing. I always enjoyed the riverside hotel in the days when is was a Marriott butmImmust say the new branding has not brought anything good except higher prices. We will not be back.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Werner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia P, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your short review and are simply very sorry to read that you have not been totally happy about your most recent stay with us. This is the opposite of what we strive for and I would be grateful if we could get in direct contact to talk further about your experience. I would appreciate this very much and hope you will contact me at cpronk@anantara.com.

Warm regards,

Claudia Pronk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

All perfect to be real... but it's real !!! The places, the atmosphere, the perfect employees, all makes your holiday an unforgettable experience. Especially the rooms on riverside.... or the swimming pool open in the night. The Breakfast at the morning is fantastic and all it's perfect...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pino7eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed in Anantara Riverside for a short holiday of 3 nights. I have mixed comments about this hotel.

This hotel is one of the 5-star resort style hotels in Bangkok. The hotel is tranquil with facilities like restaurants, fitness centre, spa centre, swimming pool, kids’ centre, tennis courts and pier for shuttle boat. The facilities are quite comprehensive. We can only comment on the facilities that we used – the 2 tennis courts are fabulous, swimming pool is a bit small for a hotel of this size, the fitness centre is well equipped, spa centre is also a decent one. The free shuttle boat service to Saphan Taksin BTS Station and Asiatique is most convenient. The only restaurant we had been to was “The Market” for breakfast that is included in the room rate. The breakfast was great with lots of varieties. Staff are friendly and helpful too.

However, I don’t quite understand why the amenities provided in the rooms in this kind of 5-star hotel are always different. We booked 5 rooms for our group. Each room came with different amenities. There were welcome fruit basket in some of the rooms and there were none in some rooms. Some rooms were provided with shampoo / conditioner / body wash while some were not. Some balconies had table and chairs while some others did not have any. I was surprised to see this happen in a 5-star hotel.

If you want some peace in the busy Bangkok and do not resist spending a little bit more travelling time, you can consider this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Our recent stay at the Anantara resort was a thoroughly relaxing experience. The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable, staff were extremely polite. The location was a little far out if you enjoy night markets, but the hotel provided a free shuttle boat every half hour until midnight from downtown Bangkok. Although there is Asiatique nearby which provides more up market lounges & restaurants.
The breakfast buffet was a delight, there is cuisine to suit every taste. We did not try the spa which was a shame as it was a little expensive.
The gardens beautifully kept, it was a very good experience if you are looking to relax after a full day of running around in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,196 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,807 - ₹ 14,326
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing