We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune
Ranked #144 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I was in Thailand for a business trip and a friend recommend this hotel to me.
This hotel has good location, next to Pha Phram 9 Station and Central Mall next to it.

Rooms are up to standard but just that it is a little old. But for the cheap price, this is already good enough. Aircon was cold but there was no way we can bring it down.

Other than that, this is a hotel we will come back to the next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rwsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    421
    162
    50
    25
See reviews for
111
133
144
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg (Jo'burg), South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel has plusses and minuses. The plusses are:

1. Decent rooms for the money, a little worn on the edges and looking its age, but still clean enough to warrant three stars.
2. Excellent hotel staff, very attentive and willing to service customers. The staff tries very hard to please.
3. The executive-level club floors (25/26) + other bundled benefits such as four free pieces of laundry per day, free shoe shines, & free internet, are a good value overall.

The minuses are unfortunately show-stoppers for me and most business travelers. These liabilities include:

1. The exercise room is dated and badly in need of repair. The first stationary bicycle I got on was making loud noises, and then broke half-way through the workout. A the same time, one of the three treadmills developed a tear in the mat. The carpeting in the exercise room also need to be updated (replaced), or at least cleaned. The weights were acceptable, but the aerobic equipment needs to be updated.

2. The HVAC system really struggles to keep up; even with the thermostat set on the coldest setting and the fan on the highest setting, I was sweating in the room. A hotel engineer tried to repair the unit, but ended up dropping the access panel grate and getting dust all over the room (I tried to clean it up as best I could). The repair was not successful; overnight the room was just barely got cold enough (I slept on top of the covers), and during the day it was uncomfortable for me.

3. The internet connectivity is erratic at best. This is not a reflection of Thailand's world-wide-web infrastructure, since the problem(s) appear to be isolated to the hotels network and routers. Connecting via the wireless system proved to be a hopeless task; the hotel technical support specialist came to my room and she said the the wireless network was "unstable". She installed a hard-wired CAT-5 connection for my laptop, and that helped somewhat. However, even with a hard-wired connection the network was on-and-off, and repeatedly kicked my Juniper VPN off-line as it lost the IP address. My PINGS of the upstream router indicated widely-varying latency times. Somebody needs connect a TDR (time-domain-reflectometer) and isolate the bad connections in the network.

4. While the staff here are very good, I do not believe they are suitabliy empowered to correct known deficiencies (such as the wireless network issues).


Unfortunately, since I need a cool place to work and fast reliable internet, I may have to look for another hotel. That's too bad, because the staff here is definitely top-notch and the three-star hotel rooms are OK for the price.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the 25th or 26th floor, and try to avoid rooms which get too much sunlight; the HVAC syst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bukovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Pinas
Level Contributor
1,448 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel is in a good location accessible by subway and close to shopping and restaurants.
Reception was brusque and almost rude - so unlike most hotels in Bangkok. Rooms are spacious but rather dated. Breakfast was crowded. Good for a couple of nights stay. There are other choices.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 April 2012

It's a 4 star hotel that has slipped to 3 stars through age and lack of updating. Accor is a good company: they should invest in this property a bit and tighten it up. I love the location, though. A couple of items: better Club Floor lounge food and drink selections (VERY average) and get a decent internet service provider (service was extremely dodgy).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#454 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hi Residence
#668 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#99 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune

Property: Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune
Address: 1 Rachadaphisek Road | Fortune Town, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#122 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,041 - ₹ 6,786
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rises 26 floors, Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune is annexed to Fortune Town, IT Mall and the new Grand Central Rama 9 modern shopping mall. Enjoy easy access to expressways. MRT station (subway) at doorsteps. All 400 tastefully furnished bedrooms are equipped with individual controlled aircon, bathtub and/or shower, minibar, electronic safe, movie & satellite tv channels, IDD & internet service. Massage, sauna & outdoor pool on podium floor. 24-hour room service plus a choice of fine cruisines: Chinese, Japanese and international dishes. 3 Buffet meals available plus options on a-la-carte from noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Fortune Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand Accor Fortune Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing