We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We love this place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Checkinn99

Checkinn99
Ranked #1 of 143 Nightlife in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Checkinn99 in in the heart of downtown Sukhumvit with our evening entertainment from Music of the Heart Band with hours 6 pm - midnight nightly during the Kings mourning period (we will extend hours progressively). Blues Jam Saturday afternoons 4-8pm and Jazz on Sundays between 2 - 6 pm. Our venue is located in Sukhumvit Soi 11 (above Zaks Bar) opposite the Grand President Hotel... please call for directions. Checkinn99 offers excellent nightly Cabaret style entertainment from the international class house band Music of the heart. We are a relaxed no-hassles lounge-style venue, ideal for couples, singles or groups looking for a night of live music, great hospitality and dancing. Very popular for birthday parties, celebrations or just a fun night out. We offer an excellent international menu choice ranging from tapas, pasta, pizza to steaks. We also host weekend afternoon Jazz and Blues jams highly popular with local and interntational visiting musicians.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Straight From the Heart Band has been singing along with their dance routines for years at this place. They have added some new songs and keep adding more all the time. The drinks are cold, the atmosphere fun, and the music is great!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckDickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
checkinn99, Owner at Checkinn99, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
UC Heavy... a belated thanks for your review. The support from our customers has been great - and it is so good to see how the staff and band respond so well to the positive feedback. Despite the strange Thai grammar that is produced by the automated translation engine that sits behind each of these reviews and puts it into the local Thai version of this website - our local staff can figure out the meaning and intent. Anyway - so pleased for you to be part of the fun. Please say hi when visit us next. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    82
    18
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ashtead
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Great Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I holiday in BKK often and found Checkinn. What a find. In my opinion the best band in the world singing the widest range of music available and ......... dancing too. What energy.

Great waiters in dicky bow ties and bar staff that are always smilin and pleased to see you new or old friends.

If you are lucky Bernard will be there adding the most wonderful addition to the girls.

The best place I know

Mikeheart

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
checkinn99, Owner at Checkinn99, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Mikeheart! a belated thanks from Thailand.... and as ever thanks so much for your kind words and genuine feedback to me last time. You will be pleased we are finally doing up the dodgy entrance as you recommended.(the kitchen we will attack after New Year!). not sure your travel plans - but please send a note in advance so I can schedule to meet you again. Take care and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place for music and entertainment in Bangkok bar none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife & I have been going to Checkin 99 for 3 yrs when we lived in BKK. Now that we live in Manila we go back to BKK on a regular bases and Check Inn is our number 1 place to go to visit friends that we met (Chris the owner) and the "The Girls" band and Keko. This place is truly a hidden gem and the music is outstanding!!! The girls, can play anything ....really!!!! The choreography is incredible, truly worth seeing in itself. The girls make everyone feel at home and welcomed. We were recently there for the Blues Brother revival night. Please have a look on Facebook a GREAT time had by ALL. Under the new ownership of Chris, he has done some wonderful things lowered drink prices, good bar menu,special event nights. EVERYONE is HAPPY!!!! So IF you ever get to BKK, you MUST drop by Check Inn 99 between Soi 5 and 7. Tell them that Ray & Mary sent you! :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RayS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
checkinn99, Owner at Checkinn99, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Ray & Mary - a belated thanks for your initial review and to say what a nice surprise to see you both back here again this month. Look forward to you coming back to Bangkok.. we will have a great year of entertainment and theme nights for next year! MOTH just get better and better! Take Care and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place for an evening cocktail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Very confortable bar to visit with a great group performing. Have visited this place numerous times and always enjoyed
the entertainment.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiitraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
checkinn99, Owner at Checkinn99, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Hawaiitraveller(s)... a belated thanks for your initial review. We look forward to any updates ;-) It is always good to see regulars back again and again - in your case you probably have earned a specially dedicated table! Please watch out for our next theme nights - as I know you have enjoyed previous ones. Look forward to seeing you back soon Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Go for the music, stay for the intrigue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Check Inn 99 is one of the reasons I remain in love with Bangkok.

The city develops at breakneck pace, but as progress is made, not all of the old is completely destroyed. Some of the best is preserved as part of the fabric of this great city. Check Inn 99 is one example.

You could be forgiven for mistaking the narrow entrance corridor for a time portal. When you come out at the end, blinking to adjust your eyes in the dim house lights, you find yourself in a night club. However, most modern venues that dare call themselves “night clubs” bear no resemblance to Check Inn 99. This is how night clubs used to look and feel. There are low tables and chairs arranged around a small stage and dance floor, where a live band with a trio of girl singers perform a series of energetic sets throughout the evening. The music choices are mostly contemporary, but the décor belongs to an earlier time. Check Inn can trace its roots back to the 1960s, and the atmosphere remains authentic. My “usual” is a bottle of beer, but in these surroundings the temptation was to have a cocktail. It felt more natural to drink something with an olive in it, or maybe a paper umbrella perched on top.

The music is great, but there are also some intriguing characters here, on both sides of the bar. I met the ageing, but remarkably spritely mamasan, who has been in the business since the early sixties. For the price of a drink and a kind word, she was happy to produce pictures of a far younger (and strikingly good looking) version of herself posing with visiting movie stars.

When old fashioned night clubs are mentioned, I think of Rick’s Place in “Casablanca”, or of Sean Connery sipping a martini with a sultry maiden hanging from his arm, as some hood in a fez hides on the balcony trying to get a shot at him with a silenced pistol. But, surely that is going too far. Here we have some of the low-life atmosphere (and the balcony), but these fictional clubs were mostly just plot devices to provide somewhere the hero could rub shoulders with spies and criminals. However - and I have to be a bit careful about the next part - I happened to mention this difference between fact and fiction to a chap sitting next to me, who then went a bit quiet. He wouldn’t say exactly what he did for a living, but he seemed to be enjoying some off-duty networking with a few of Bangkok’s finest. He was much happier to talk about the other customers in the club that night. He pointed out one or two, whom he described as residing “on the wrong side of the fence”. Not so far-fetched after all then. This is Bangkok, after all...

Back on stage, the trio of girl singers in the band can teach businesses a thing or two about customer relations. They pause between songs to greet some customers by name, official endorsement that they have achieved “regular” status. That sounds like a good idea to me.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Chidlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
checkinn99, Owner at Checkinn99, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Hello there Chidlom, you write a mean review! In fact you display a certain descriptive flair that even a seasoned thriller writer would be envious.... but hang on..... ooops better not go there. Your review however did inspire the Casablanca night we held several months ago. Martini's Moroccan lighting, the girls jewelry, spooks and even the waiters' Fez... we certainly had for real the mix of clientele and old hands that are the very stuff of a great story. As Time goes by.. Dooley Wilson would have been entirely comfortable playing it again for Ingrid and Humphrey. Thanks for your long term support and friendship. BTW... when can we expect the second edition? Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Checkinn99 also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Checkinn99? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing