We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican Food with Mango??”
Review of Sunrise Tacos - Siam Paragon - CLOSED

Sunrise Tacos - Siam Paragon
Cuisines: Mexican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Sukhumvit
Description: At Sunrise Tacos we make a concerted effort to build lasting relationships with our guests through our food, service and value for money. We realize this goal by providing large portions of delicious food and drinks at affordable prices, coupled with a service-minded and personable staff purpose-trained to provide memorable dining experiences.
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Over all, I would recommend this place. That said, it is not what I consider Mexican food. But what do I know? I grew up in Los Angeles CA. I remember working down town where Spanish was pretty much the first language. So I have some knowledge of Mexican food. Not to say Carnitas Tacos with Mango are bad, just not Mexican. This is Thailand Mangos are not expensive and I actually enjoyed them in Carnitas. The prices are high already if they used Avocado instead of mango, prices would be higher. The wait staff also tried to up-sell me, do want extra sour cream? how about an order of guacamole? So if you are in Bangkok and want food that resembles Mexican food, you have a place to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rucus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
show36, Owner at Sunrise Tacos - Siam Paragon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you very much for your review of our restaurant. I appreciate the fact that you found our quantity and quality delivered to be good. Please be informed that the Mango salsa is no longer on the menu. It was very hard to get the supply year round and it was very popular with people eating it by the gallons. We just could not find enough mangoes part of the year and it would disappoint too many guests when we said we sold out. I would beg to differ if its Mexican however. If you do a Google search on images you will find carnitas and mango salsa will show 63,400 results and Mexican Mango salsa will show over 2 million results.

We have nine different salsas so you can always ask to substitute the salsa paired with that set menu or simply ask for the build your own tacos and select one of the nine salsas offered.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Greg Lange

( Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is an initial review of my lunch visit to the Siam Paragon location of Sunrise Tacos in Bangkok on 28FEB12.

Sunrise Tacos is a foreigner-run restaurant that now has five (5) Bangkok locations and one new location in Pattaya. They serve principally Mexican food, but from a classically western/American format.

==> The Place:
This location is on the ground floor of the Siam Paragon shopping center. The restaurant itself is not a traditional, free-standing enclosed restaurant. Here, because it’s open the mall itself, you get a sense of the foot traffic around you. It makes for a lively people watching experience, At times it can be a bit loud, but this is a mall aspect and not something Sunrise can really control.

The actual restaurant itself is not very large with the kitchen and associated areas taking up nearly 50% of the total floor space. There are about a dozen 2-person tables; all of which can be re-arranged to accommodate larger groups.

==> The Food & Menu:
As noted earlier, this is a Mexican place, so naturally most all of the menu follows this theme. Their offerings do however include a very good selection of appetizers; such as chips & dips as well as a several soups and salads. Therefore, those who just want a small bite to eat do have options here.

The entrée selection covers most of what you might expect from a Mexican themed restaurant, such as tacos; both soft and crispy/hard shell, fajitas, quesadillas, burritos and enchiladas.

However, for those who are not Mexican food eaters, there are a few non-Mexican options such as classic American hot dogs, burgers and wraps. So if someone in your party either cannot or doesn’t like to eat Mexican, there are options for that person here.

To close out their menu offering, they have several pies such as apple, cherry and the like available.

They offer a reasonable selection of name-brand import tequilas and other drinks, in addition to all the normal non-alcoholic beverages.

In all, their menu; while clearly on the Mexican theme is broad enough for most to find something to their liking—including those who do not eat Mexican. When you add in the appetizers, soups & salads, drinks and desserts, they offer and full, comprehensive menu.


==> The Service:
This was not my first visit to Sunrise Tacos, nor was it my first visit this location. On my first visit, I felt the service was slow—perhaps unreasonably so given what the food and process appeared to be.

I emailed the restaurant about my experience and received a very quick, very personalized and detailed reply to each of my concerns and issues.

Essentially I was told that yes, it IS supposed to be “slow” but that’s only because this is not classic “fast food” like a Taco Bell where your burrito is made in less than 0:45 seconds from start to finish in a production line environment and with ingredients that have been made much earlier and stored, reheated or the like; it’s mostly fresh.

My email reply went into great detail about how the food is cooked nearly to order; most all ingredients are hand-made that day. etc, etc.

And rather unabashedly the restaurant did acknowledge that they want it like this… That is made-to-order food of higher quality, rather than a manufactured 0:45 second microwave burrito.

My only closing comment to the restaurant was that as a part of what I call “expectation management” that had I been told—somewhere on the menu that our food is made-to-order, so please allow us time; I would have been happier. again, what I call expectation management.

On this visit the service was inline with previous visits, in that my wait time for order taking, but also food delivery was in keeping with and reasonable for made-to-order items.

==> My Experience:
I arrived a little after 3:30PM for their Tuesday & Friday special offering; All You Can Eat (AYCE) tacos. At the present time on Tuesday and Fridays from 2PM to 7PM they offer an AYCE taco deal for B220, or a little under US$8 (before service and 7% VAT). That, in and of itself, is a very, very good deal.

I chose a seat and my order was taken promptly.

I initial order was for two (2) chicken tacos and one (1) beef taco. (note: all subsequent AYCE orders are done on a one-at-a-time basis, but are in fact unlimited as advertised).

I will say that the food was top quality. The flour tortilla was freshly steamed and slightly browned; the beef was well seasoned with the right amount of fat and spices—not too spicy, nor bland. The chicken was marinated lightly and was juicy; a pet-peeve of mine is over-cooked chicken.

All tacos come on a small bed of lettuce (green and not wilted nor brown on the end lettuce) a hand-made salsa and a touch of fresh cilantro.

Everything was served hot and right from the kitchen.


==> Summary:
If you’re after Mexican food, like you find in the US, but in Bangkok, you can’t go wrong here. The food itself is very good; most everything is fresh, made-to-order and the menu is diverse to include appetizers, a decent selection of entrees, desserts as well as a selection of spirits.
Service time is in keeping with what it is—made-to-order and the facility itself is well maintained, clean and well kept.
The staff here are pleasant and communication is easy. I was quite impressed to get a personal and timely reply to my earlier email-- which to me signals management attention to detail.
The value (quality and quantity compare with price paid) here is good, with the AYCE Taco Tuesday/Friday special being in my opinion of a very, very hard to beat value anywhere else in town for comparable food.

==> PRO:
Sunrise is easy to get to as Siam Paragon is accessible via direct BTS connection or by car. Food quality is very good—fresh Diverse Mexican menu. Clean facility and dining area.

==> CON:
Ambiance is a little loud, but that’s due to the open-facing mall set-up, limited non-Mexican offerings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GOPBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
show36, Owner at Sunrise Tacos - Siam Paragon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. I remember your email. I appreciate you rating us high as "Good Value". We only work with first quality ingredients and love to give guests extra tacos on Taco Tuesday and Fridays . This regardless of how many tacos you desire, all for one set price !

Many thanks for visiting us and recommending our restaurant to others.

Regards

Greg Lange

( Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015
Google Translation

1  Thank Мария Г
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
show36, Owner at Sunrise Tacos - Siam Paragon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
show36, Owner at Sunrise Tacos - Siam Paragon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yuki k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
show36, Owner at Sunrise Tacos - Siam Paragon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunrise Tacos - Siam Paragon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing