We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience by the river..”
Review of Loy La Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loy La Long Hotel
Ranked #17 of 643 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A unique experience by the river..”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at Loy La Long in our first day in Bangkok after much research and we could not be happier with our choice. The hotel's entrance is situated at the back of the parking of a beautiful temple in Chinatown so it's best to download the map in Thai from the website to avoid confusion. We arrived quite early in the morning and although the website is quite explicative nothing can prepare you for the unique beauty of this traditional teak house. The staff are genuinely nice and accommodating, the deco is chic and rustic, the views and soft breeze from the Chao Phraya river are endearing, the rooms comfortable and stylish. In addition they make the best breakfast in town and they serve incredible mojitos which you can enjoy in one of the open terraces facing the river. The hotel is near the Royal Palace, the Wat Arun and many other beautiful sights and can be easily accessed by river taxis and the MRT. I would recommend Loy La Long in a heartbeat and I hope to come back soon ;)

Room Tip: Choose a room in the top floor (Blue or Green) as the water from the river can be noisy under the te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissMartinih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    57
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
43
160
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Broome
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in December 2011 and staying at Loy La Long provides the tourist with a wonderful opportunity to watch the Bangkok river life float, motor and karaoke by.

You need to remember that you are staying in a small refurbished teak house not a mass hotel so don't expect all the usual amenities but in return you are rewarded by living on the river within a temple complex that is on the edge of Chinatown - close to an amazing array of food, services (fantastic massages) and culture as well as easy transport links of the MRT and the river taxis.

The communal areas were great and the breakfast were also very good.

We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room which was lovely but a little cramped so I'd recommend the Green Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheapwhine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The most amazing B&B Hotel I stayed in so far!!! We spent 2 nights in Black Double River View Room and he had an amazing time!! Hotel is located few minutes away from Chinatown in very safe area.Our black room was FANTASTIC, testfully decorated, spacious and very clean. We also really liked the common area!! Thank you for fantastic service guys:))!! Loy La Long Hotel its a little gem in a very big and noisy city!! I would definetly stay in Loy La Long again!! Aga & Darek from Poland

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sluska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar es salaam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Loy La Long is a true B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed sundowners on the river while chatting with other guests. The service was fabulous. Breakfasts were hearty and delectable. The rooms were cozy. Overall the interior design maintains the rustic charm of the original boat house, yet was obviously very meticulously and tastefully revamped. This is not one of those ubiquitous spa, massage, and swan towel hotels. You can stay at the Sheraton for 3 times the price if you want an overpriced glass of wine and cookie-cutter rooms. If you're looking for a unique and personal experience, this is the place.

Room Tip: Print out a map for your taxi driver!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank water4chocolate6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

You don't stay at loy la,you live there.
It's like a home from home,right in the centre of china town.
The owner(think her name in chin)is the one of the nicest people I have ever met,and I have met alot of people!
You are welcomed into there home like one of the family.
The hole place is like something you will not see any wear in Bangkok..
The wood building,the inside decor,and the location are totally amazing.even the temple location is so "different".
We did a reckie mission to see wher it is,which I would recommend,as a lot off the taxi drivers still don't know wear it is.
If you are going too china town,it's a 2 minute walk,and can save a lot of hassle.
This was a stay I will never forget,I will be talking about it foever.
I will try to add some photos soon.
Thanx again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterelgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#86 of 858 in Bangkok
2,324 reviews
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 858 in Bangkok
8,107 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loy La Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loy La Long Hotel

Property: Loy La Long Hotel
Address: 1620/2 (inside Patumkongka Rachaworawiharn Temple) Song Wat Road | Sampanthawong, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,405 - ₹ 9,769
Hotel Class:3 star — Loy La Long Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loy La Long (LLL), a new Bed & Breakfast located in Bangkok Chinatown area, on the riverfront of Chao Phraya river. Founded in April 2011.Feel a touch of Bangkok realistic riverside livings with our nice wooden house with 7 different-style-of-decorating rooms.LLL is a place to experience a side of Bangkok tucked away behind the Neon billboards of modern Bangkok. A place where time stands still~~~We are not part of big chain or 5-star hotel. With limited of rooms and guests, we put more care and service our guests like friend to friend or a member in the house.Room Amenities:*Non smoking rooms*Breakfast included*Key card access at the main entrance*Upstair & downstair balconies with Chao Phraya river view*TelevisionLCD Plasma Screen with International Satellite*DVD/CD Player*Air-conditioner*Hot & warm water maker*FREE book & DVD rental*FREE towel*FREE soap, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, shower cap*FREE daily drinking water *FREE Wireless ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Loy La Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing