We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hansar Bangkok Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hansar Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #35 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
london
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“I was disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was very excited about staying here given the hundreds of rave reviews but left feeling like the experience wasn't at all one a #1 rating on Tripadvisor should offer. Here's what disappointed me:

- The "green wall" next to the room door is nothing special. It's behind a glass wall that is lit at certain hours, so nature is safely kept away from you, and it's just 4 rows of small potted plants along a wall... I really couldn't see what the excitement was all about.

- Despite the hotel branding itself as a green boutique hotel, I didn't get that feel at all. Staff were somewhere between indifferent and very casual; it's actually a big ugly concrete block that faces other big ugly concrete blocks on all sides on a potholed street; reception is on the 2nd floor (not the ground floor) so when you arrive with your luggage, you need to walk into the restaurant to be pointed towards a lift (not quite an amazing welcome); the corridors are what you'd expect to find in a concrete block (ie more concrete).

- The pool is on the side of the building, on the 8th floor, with views of big ugly concrete buildings (presumably, guests of the 4 Seasons enjoy watching people swim). When we went one afternoon, there was an event by the pool with lots of people in fancy clothes, a photographer and a microphone and I did feel like I was at the zoo (but inside the cage) while everybody sipped wine and looked at me... I didn't stay very long.

- The food at the French restaurant downstairs is just ok but incredibly expensive and not really worth bothering with at all.

- Whenever we enquired about tourist recommendations, the advice was absolutely not tailored to the guests' (our) taste: they have a print-out of several standard tours, and that's all they will sell. For example, I'm grateful tripadvisor helped me avoid the floating market as that would have been a very expensive and frustrating day-trip. Restaurant recommendations were equally disheartening.

- We were there during Chinese New Year and enquired if there would be anything special going on anywhere, but got absolutely no help there ("maybe if you go to Chinatown you can check if there is anything")

Things I liked:

- The rooms are very big and very nice with some very interesting books you can read. The bedroom part itself is a bit walled in though, in order to make the living room bigger.

- Breakfast was terrific, varied, beautifully presented, tasty.

- Location is between the St Regis and the Four Seasons, but more importantly it's next to the Skytrain. If you're in a cab, don't bother saying "Hansar" or even showing the hotel card with a map on it: just say "Four Seasons."

Room Tip: Don't bother with the rooms that have a "green wall" - it really doesn't add anyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
235 Thank jesuit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,060
    502
    114
    37
    20
See reviews for
411
1,316
220
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
foster city, Californa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

New hotel designed to be green with spacious rooms, great buffet breakfast, and good location

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimpardini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I went with my wife to Bangkok from Singapore to visit some friends. We would usually stay with them but as they have a young baby-boy now we took a hotel - not too far from their home.
The service in the Hansar was great and the everybody very friendly. They breakfast is nice and it is possible that friends come around for brunch - but they have to pay.
The bathroom in the suits are great and you. Everything made of glass and you have a nice bath-tap in the middle of the room.
Sorrily the bar on first floor closes around 12am. I never went to the roof top.
If you like massages the service in the hotel is great, but make reservation.

Room Tip: Take the suite with view to the golf club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guntsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

As a frequent traveler to Bangkok, there are many 5 star Hotels to choose from.
The Hansar is a touch of quiet luxury in a busy city.

Personal service, beautiful rooms, great amenities the Hansar most certainly stands out as a great hotel.

The rooms, Edge Suite is excellent, 2 rooms, beautiful bathrooms with all the amenities you could ask for, great bed. 2 Flat Screen TV’s .The rooms are quiet.

Spending 9 Nights in the Hotel you tend to get picky at small things, this was not the case with the Hansar. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home.

Eve Restaurant, the food and service are first class and compliments the Hotel.

The Spa is relaxing and the professional.

Visiting Bangkok for 1 day or 1 week, the Hansar is by far my first choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

So I was visiting family during the holidays and my parents wanted to take a day trip. So I decided to spoil myself by staying here for one night. I was really lazy and just stayed here for the day. I literally didn't leave the facility since I didn't have to.

So I checked in the afternoon and had to wait for the receptionist since there was a couple checking in ahead of me. But the process was nice and easy. After getting settled, I went to downstairs for an afternoon snack at Boca. Their Kao Soy was really good and I enjoyed the curry noodle soup. Then I proceeded to head upstairs to Luxsa where I got a oil massage. The service was nice and the masseuse made sure I was comfortable and enjoyed all two hours of relaxing.

For dinner I went to Eve and had their Wagyu short rib dish (can't fully remember what it was called). But I really enjoyed it, I wouldn't eat this every day, but it had this rich and delicious taste that I wouldn't mind going back and ordering it again. The service and ambiance was relaxing and comfortable, especially since I was eating by myself. Proceeded to go back to my room and take it easy. I am a night owl and got hungry after doing some work in my room so I ordered some room service. It came at a fashionable time and hit the spot without feeling heavy like eating American fast food. Proceeded to wake up around 9:30pm and have a nice breakfast at Eve. Drank some tea at Boca while reading the news and a book. Then checked out around 2pm.

Sorry for the long review, but I really enjoyed staying here. Even if it was for two days. Worth the money and I always tell my friends to check this place out to stay. Your are in the city, but you don't feel like it.

The only con was that my room was near the service elevator and I could hear it every once and awhile.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodandspalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Baan Rajprasong Serviced Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Bangkok Hotel

Property: Hansar Bangkok Hotel
Address: 3 Soi Mahadlekluang 2, Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,821 - ₹ 15,713
Hotel Class:5 star — Hansar Bangkok Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hansar Bangkok, an unrivaled luxury experience just steps away from the heart of Bangkok and a short one-minute walk to the BTS Skytrain, yet nestled in the seclusion and comfort in Bangkok's most prestigious location, Rajdamri Road. Endless and enchanting views of Bangkok greenery, outstanding architectural elegance and timeless style, amenities to please the most discerning traveler, this is the Hansar way of life. Our suites are steeped in modern comfort and amenities, contemporary yet timeless in style and adorned in Jim Thompson silk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hansar Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing