We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Economy stay in good location amongst friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MHC-Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
MHC-Guesthouse
Ranked #162 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Economy stay in good location amongst friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the MHC recently, having stayed there before, during our annual trips to Thailand. The standard of cleanliness compares well with other guesthouses and the rooms are of a reasonable size. The location is really convenient and that is important in Bangkok. You are literally a stone's throw from the Sukhumvit main street and close to the BTS skytrain railway station, you don’t have to rely on tuk tuks or make long walks.

Max, the proprietor, a retired airline pilot, gives very thorough and helpful advice to guests, beginning with the taxi fares from the airport and how to substantially minimise them. This kind of information is not so easily forthcoming from other guesthouses and hotels, some of whom might have an eye on their commissions. In our case we needed to do a ‘Visa Run’ to Cambodia to renew our visa and he took us along to a tour operator that specialised in this operation, complete with document preparations and handling, saving us a whole lot of hassle.

There is a unique air of informality and friendliness at the reception area that makes one feel at ease with other guests and staff where the exchange of experiences and ideas can be invaluable.

Some previous reviews mention a smell in the single rooms. The guesthouse operates a moneyback guarantee system so I wonder why they did not mention it when they first moved in. We could not smell anything in our room. Anyway I understand from the management that it was found to be due to an overzealous use of an air freshener spray. We did not notice any mosquitoes in our room and no one else complained of this however I suppose if you leave the window open then you are inviting them in for supper!

I would certainly recommend a stay here, especially for newcomers to Bangkok who could benefit from the assistance.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Comet' room. Each room is named after an airplane. It is bright and cheerful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    127
    38
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
126
115
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

In arriving in Bangkok at the MHC Guesthouse we were greeted by a nice boy who works in the lobby/bar. He was a great help at getting our bags up to our room on the third floor. The room was quite decent for the 20 dollars a night we paid. Hot water, comfy, bed and cold AC. Also well in was near a very busy road and steps from the sky train the guesthouse is very quite and I got a good nights sleep each night. Max the owner was also very nice and very helpful. I have no complaints about our stay at MHC!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisha673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is a very comfortable low key place to stay in a very convienient location. It is just a short walk to the Sky Train and very good shopping, with a very nice supermarket just over the road. The GH is very quiet and the beds are very comfortable so sleep quality rates highly.

Room Tip: The double rooms have windows, the singles do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stop by Bangkok often and I've satyed in various area (silom, kao san road, etc) and so far MHC guest house is my all time favorite. it's located on the sukumvit, along a very quite street, within walking distance of the skytrain and many restaurants. The owner, Max, knows the city really well and will help you in every way he can, he welcomes you like friends and makes you feel like at home. the staff is very helpful and friendly, the room we had was roomy and comfy, wifi, A/C, a fridge, a kitchenette and a big bathroom, for 1100 baht ! we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is definitely a budget option. Very close to the sky train which makes it easy to get around. Rooms are very simple, but the hot water and air conditioning are reliable. Host is very knowledge-able about the city.

I agree with the other review -- avoid the single rooms which have the foul odor and go for a double. Worth the extra money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndependentTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhc-guesthouse, Owner at MHC-Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
This Guest Mr. Kevin Greenhouse stayed on 2 occassions at the Mhc. I don't really understand why Mr. Greenhouse returned if he was not completely satisfied. On his check in form it states quite clearly I offer a money back if guest are not saisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Klassique Sukhumvit
#67 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Bangkok 68
#239 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#275 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok Loft Inn
#61 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#112 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Sukhumvit
Check Inn Phromphong
Check Inn Phromphong
#154 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MHC-Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MHC-Guesthouse

Property: MHC-Guesthouse
Address: 8 / 4 Sukhumvit Soi 28 | Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,491 - ₹ 1,815
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MHC-Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket guesthouse in Sukhumvit Bangkok. Very close to the skytrain and many amenities. Very clean, convenient, comfortable and very competitive. Soi 28 is a quiet no-through street. Many buses on Sukhumvit taking you to all the shopping centres. Emporium Shopping Arcade is only a short walk away, with lots of restaurants, night life, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your MHC-Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing