We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King Royal Garden Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 151
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 114
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AVANI Atrium Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$ 67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 89
US$ 75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastin Hotel Makkasan(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
US$ 60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 501
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
27
124
99
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
124
99
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurasak bts stationrooftop poolfamily martconvenience storefree wifibudget hotelstreet food stallsfresh fruitgymtrainthbmouldmidnight
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at King Royal Garden Inn fo 4 nights. Best thing about this hotel is its location near BTS station, espesially comes usefull when trafic in the city gets heavy.

Room I was given was a delux room, which was big, but somewhat disorganized. For example, there was no sources of light right where you expect them too be, so the room seemed pretty dark. Also it may be impartant to some people, that the A/C was partly placed over the bed and had a strong flow even on min. settings, so I had to turn it off at night. I take heat pretty easily, so it was not a terrlible problem for me, but it may be for some.

Bathroom was OK.

Breakfast was actually pretty good, nothing fancy, but you would't be hungry after it.

I have mixed impressions about reception staff. One lady was looking very helpful, but her answers to my questions almost always led me wrong way, so to speak. Maybe it was communication problem. On the other hand, another manager was really very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Ivve lived and travelled in Thailand for more than a decade and I must commend the wonderfuly helpful English-speaking daytime concierge, Gung . She supplied neighborhood tips about hidden postoffices and food-courts, booked us a reasonably priced, reliable and super-friendly driver for a minivan to the airport for us and our 200lbs of cargo! She even helped us with some free translation services for a critical business phonecall!
Important to me, the room was huge, more like a bachelor apt really and very quiet. It's a budget hotel so expect a little more shabby than shiny BUT the linens were Brite-WHITE, the walls freshly painted, the bathroom fixtures polished. Like many places in Thailand, the western breakfast wasn't great but fresh fruit, fresh milk, freshly cooked eggs and smiling staff made up for the usual instant coffee and supermarket bread.
The skytrain is literally out the front door: good thing because so are a thousand cars heading for the bridge or expressway. Regardless, a quick jog north brings a walker to Silom with several embassies and Indian restaurants enroute.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AX1-250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

BTS station opposite hotel is big priority. Breakfast is OK. Romm big. Bed and bedclothes is enjoyable. If look for bugdet hotel, take this.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Rates at the moment jan 2011 are 900 std, 970 sup and 2200 for a double.

This rate includes breakfast.

The place has a rooftop pool and gym, at the moment it is being repaired and the deck is completely removed from the lower portion of the pool and the upper level is pretty dodgy wit missing planks and stuff.

The gym is dated, but they have all you need and a smith machine so you can work out without spotters. They also have a wierd machine which allows you to cycle while doing situps, But I have found it is not possible for a human to do this simultaneously.

Have not tried the breakfast as it was not included in our first night.

We originally found the place on the net and walked in to negotiate a better rate, they gave us the room for 900 baht, no breakfast, and we found out in the room it was actually 900 with breakfast,

But we were upgraded to superior and the rooms are big, a little old but the aircon is good and they have a movie channel, NHK world and some french channel.

There is a bath, safe and good internet in the room.

When we went downstairs the next day to pay for another night the person at reception said they could do the room for 1000 baht per night with breakfast, the figure previously quoted for the smaller room the day before.

We said we had actually booked online cheaper for 970 baht for the same room online so she said to book it online rather than just pay. Then the internet didn't work downstairs and she said wait I'll do it for 950 baht with breakfast, and we were like whaa? cause she just said 1000 was the cheapest and said it would be a pain with paperwork and time... which was what I though originally.

Anyway, long story short, just get the internet rate and ask for the same deal, no-one seems to budge on these prices in bangkok which is stupid as it saves them in reservation fees and commissions and you should be able to sell walkins at a cheaper rate than online booking. As with all things in Thailand however things are unnecessarily difficult.

Umm, location wise there is nothing here, not sure why they put a bts station here but it is good for us, there is a mini mart downstairs with normal prices, some hawker food as well, there is also a cooking school next door that is ridiculously expensive, like 2800 baht for a half day course for 4 dishes. I would want to be cooking lobster and oysters at that price.

Oh also the 8th floor seems to be closed as I went through there at night as the door to the 9th floor pool was locked. Was kind of spooky as the lights weren't on and the room at the end of the hall has no lock, and is gutted for renovations, the place may be getting better once the new deck is in as at the moment it is a mess where the pool is ans you have to step over exposed pipes and stuff, would not lean on the guard rail there either if I was you.

Overall it is a nice place to stay, they have good size and comfy beds, freezing cold adjustable aircon, free water everyday, a bath so you don't have to walk through water when you go to the toilet.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adaveinthelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I would recommend this place mainly for its location and for its free Internet. Situated right on Surasak BTS station makes it easy to access most of the attractions the city has to offer. Only one station away from the river's main pier and very few stops from the main shopping centers (Siam center, MBK etc'). Staff is quite friendly but that's about it.
It is obvious that the hotel is out dated and the maintenance is poor, even for its relatively low rates. As a guest I would expect basic comfort, which I did not get in this place. Though the rooms are quite big, equipped with frig and coffee set, yet, they are very old and the smell was too bad, in both, the rooms and in the corridors. Air-conditioner is old, noisy, and fail to run from time to time. The outdoor pool on the roof is nice but again, poorly maintained (broken deck). Breakfast is no more than average.
All in all, the hotel could use comprehensive renovation in order to be rated 3 stars. You may find it convenient (because of its location) if you are not too picky. I'm quite sure many other, and better hotels in town are offering such advantages, probably for the same money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam-Visits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews