We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful guesthouse in Rambuttri Village.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Ranked #402 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful guesthouse in Rambuttri Village.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed here in October 2011 and had a wonderful time. As we were arriving quite late at night we booked the rooms through their website. We had asked for balcony rooms but they told us they couldn't guarantee this so we would have to wait until we checked in. On arrival we were shown to our rooms which were balcony rooms which surprised me as I didn't mention this at check in. This request was made several months earlier.
The guesthouse is located in Rambuttri Village which is far nicer than staying on Khao San Road. It's quieter and much more laid back but only a 5 minute stroll to KSR. The rooms at New Siam 3 are basic but comfortable. The shower has great pressure and the beds are comfy too. This is not a 5 star hotel and doesn't pretend to be. If you want comfort and be in a great location then stay here. I will stay here again on my next visit to Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    73
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
11
69
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

This New Siam III (3) is in the "Khaosan Road" *area*. First, the Khaosan Road area is my FAVORITE place to stay in Bangkok *IF* you like traveling backpacker style & inexpensively. Khaosan is a great place to start and plan your trip in Thailand, a great place to decompress after you have been traveling awhile or great as a base for your time in Bangkok. There is everything you need here! Lots of cheap eats! Lots of cheaper guesthouses! Lots of internet spots to keep in touch. Lots of travel agents/organizers from which to arrange tickets. transportation, north or south, accommodations, adventure activities etc. And finally, it is a mecca for finding a friendly and eclectic mix of international backpackers who may already have been or may be going to the same places you are thinking! So, great advice is to be had just about everywhere! Just do a little eavesdropping and jump into the conversation. People, in general, love to share their experiences! :)

Now, for the New Siam III (3). First thing to know is that the owners have several guesthouses (There is a New Siam 1 and a New Siam 2 as well and one other, so please make sure you know which one is the one you are interested in and make reservations accordingly to avoid disappointment.)

I just finished my 9th trip to Thailand this past June and decided to try some different hotels to see if I might find a new "go to" hotel/guest house in Khaosan area that I liked and met my needs.

While I used to stay in some of the cheapest accommodations Khaosan had to offer, these days I want a little bit more comfort and willing to pay a little more for it. So these days I usually I look for places in the $18 - $25 range.

For this price range, the New Siam 3 had much of what i expect and look for and more: Clean room, good location, hot water anytime, air condition, pretty quiet location, ceiling fan as well, television with a few international channels in various languages, a digital safe, electronic door locks and a small refrigerator! The only thing that would make it better would be free WIFI. But in any case, You can see why this is a good value for the money!

Now keep in mind, all of these types of places are small, NOT fancy and in various shapes of repair/condition. Some have been renovated/updated over the years, while others have not. When you make a reservation, be sure you are reserving a air con room if that is what you want as most of these places have rooms that are fan only as well (I highly recommend air con if you can afford it as Thailand is very humid).

So in conclusion, this is a solid 3 circle Thai guesthouse. (Please, one additional note! I DO NOT recommend you use the travel agent in their lobby though their are better options all around) I will try to place reviews for a few other places I stayed during this visit as well: The Rikka Inn, Khaoson Park Resort and the Rambuttri Village. Stay tuned!

Thailand is a wonderful destination with something to offer to everyone. It is inexpensive, exotic, very safe. And Thai people are inherently friendly (more so outside of Bangkok). Have a great time! Enjoy your trip!!

Room Tip: When in Thailand, I recommend to always ask for a room on a high floor in the rear of the hotel, tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank medschoolguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We booked for the New Siam (III) for a total of five days in July 2011. The room we stayed in was nice and clean, with a nearly king size bed, ac, fan, safe, hot shower, and satellite tv. So actually after the first days we decided to book here also for our last night.
The reason why we still give the hotel a rather low rating is that they don’t care at all that their hotel guests are ripped off by the tourist agent who has his desk right in front of the reception, inside the hotel building. While the hotel offers quite a good service to its guests, the management apparently turns a blind eye on their guests being heavily overcharged by this tourist agency.
The mistake we made was to book something with this tourist agent. The agent appeared to be from T.A.T., the official Thai tourism agency, but he only had a T.A.T. licence, just as every agency or guesthouse that is legal and officially registered. And in contrast to the T.A.T., which does not sell anything but only gives information, he was very much after our money.
Although we only wanted to book a day trip for Bangkok and a night train, the lovely agent Joe – that is his name – tried to convince us that we had to plan our entire trip in advance, from the beginning to the end, with him. He argued that it was Thai holidays and that everything would be crowded by tourists and Thais, that we would not get train or bus tickets or spots in trekking tours, and would thus have a very unpleasant experience unless we planned and booked now. Although we reinforced that we wanted to stay flexible and decide along the way where to stop and stay a night more or less, he insisted that we would have a horrible vacation. But we stayed stubborn on this one and “only” booked with him, for two persons:
- a half day trip to the floating market (300 Baht each for transport and boat)
- night train from Bangkok to Suratthani
- Bus and Boat from Suratthani to KohPhangan
- night train from Suratthani to Bangkok
Our experience with what we got was very bad:
- As we got to the floating market, we had to pay an extra 150 Baht each to actually see the floating market by boat. The boat that was included in the trip was part of the transport from the floating market, passing and seeing the surrounding areas (which was nice to see), to a Cobra show, entry fee 200 Baht - we did not pay that one. So the trip is not worth it, but no big deal – it was neither too expensive nor we lost too much time.
- For the night train, we wanted second class air conditioned seats in the sleeping compartment. He charged us 1300 Baht each. What we got instead were two second class seats in the sleeping compartment with fan, they are actually worth 500 Baht. So not only he did he not mention that we got seats in the fan compartment, he charged us 260% of the actual price.
- We arrived at 06:30 at Suratthani. The Bus and Boat connection by the company Songserm was as follows: 45 min it took them to get us to from the train station to their bus station, there we waited another 60 min, the drive to the pier took us another 45 min. Waited there another half an hour. Then we took the boat to KohSamui(90 min), changed the boat, and again an hour to KohPhangan. I think we arrived at KohPhangan at 2 pm. There are way better and faster connections to get from Suratthani to Kohphangan, but they are more expensive, an additional 150 Baht per person. But it seems that Joe didn’t think that paying 150 Baht more is worth to reduce the travel time by half.
- For the night train back to Bangkok, again, we wanted two second class air conditioned seats in the sleeping compartment. He charged us 1300 Baht each. Their real price was 1500 Baht for both, so he overcharged us 73%. We ended up taking the plane from Koh Samui to Bangkok instead, spending more money but saving time.
Back in Bangkok, we told him, and we told the hotel , that this is no way to treat customers, since Joe overcharged us A LOT and tried to lure us into booking more with him by lying to us about the availability of tickets etc. He, of course, told us, that we were lucky to get the tickets, because of the Thai holidays, that everybody wants to make business and that, at the time, we were “happy to pay the money” (sure, because we didn’t know any better, but does that mean that you can simply rip people off?). Of course, we did not expect some money back from him, since it was surely not the first time he did this. Eventually, we were just happy we hadn’t booked more with him, because, in spite of what he had told us, not once did we have problems to get a place to stay or a bus/train ticket – just going directly to the station makes things much easier and cheaper.
The hotel receptionist actually had a look at our receipts and had an ear for our complaints. But she kind of just laughed and told us to send an email to the hotel. We think that, the agency being located inside the hotel, the hotel should care more about the bad service its guests receive from the agency, but apparently they don’t. This is what we wanted to let anyone know who considers to stay there. And to generally be aware that the agencies that try to pass as belonging to the T.A.T. do not have your best interest at heart.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank didino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed in New Siam 3 during each visit in the past 3 years. The first two years were wonderful -very nice staff, clean rooms, quiet. This past year was extremely disappointing. The put up a very little bar right in front of the hotel, right at the entrance. One table only...BUT: They play extremely loud music which is terrible. We always chose to stay at this hotel in one of the rooms with a balcony. After this stay we will only come back if we get feedback on an improvement. The "bar" has barely any visitors - two at most and still plays louder music than all other real bars together :(

The rooms are not as nice anymore, dirt is falling out the aircon, staff is demotivated. I was incredibly disappointed!!!

Next time, we will go to the good old New World Lodge Hotel, which I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: not recommendable ANYMORE
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahornblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed at NS3 at the beginning of our 2 month trip around SE Asia. Ticked all the boxes for good value, basic accomodation: A/C, great location in the heart of Bangkok's tourist district, not too noisy, private bathroom, staff ok.

Room Tip: Reliable online booking service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#313 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#403 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#196 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#346 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#538 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#295 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Siam Guest House III (Super)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Siam Guest House III (Super)

Property: New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Address: 7 Soi Rambutri, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,681 - ₹ 2,133
Hotel Class:3 star — New Siam Guest House III (Super) 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your New Siam Guest House III (Super) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing