We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian Restaurant in Recent Memory” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masala Art Bangkok

Masala Art Bangkok
Ranked #408 of 10,604 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Thong Lor & Ekamai
Description: Located in the Heart of Bangkok's Thonglor - the chick street , is this contemporary and stylish Indian Restaurant called " Masala Art " .The restaurant seats 75 comfortably , has a smart stocked bar and an outside dining terrace overlooking the great views of Sukhumvit Soi 55 .A refreshing concept - one that breaks away from the Moghul mould - is what you can expect from Masala Art the finest indian food in bangkok .The Best Indian restaurant in bangkok , boasts a refreshing splash of colours - burnt orange upholstered sofa combined with green and beige seats , alongside elegant tabletops .A gleaming line of oak colour walls blended with gold mirror back grounding modern artifacts giving you a cozy and warmth .With wafts of delicious aromas , grace two sides of the restaurant while the open concept kitchen acts as a window ,if patrons care to take a glance at how their food is prepared .
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant in Recent Memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I love Indian food, from New York to everywhere around the world. Living in Bangkok for many years, I have tried many Indian restaurants throughout the city and by far Masala Art is my "Go-to" place for the finest Indian food in Bangkok.

My family and I were very fortunate to find Masala Art by a chance visit to Thonglor 8. We didn't know what to expect, but after tasting the food and experiencing the excellent service and attention to detail we were hooked! That was about 2 years ago. Now when I venture out to any other Indian restaurant I quickly miss the fine flavors of Masala Art. Before Masala Art, we used to frequent Rang Mahal but we are so happy to have found Masala Art because the flavors and attention to detail just blows all other Indian food away.

Until the day I find a finer Indian food establishment, Masala Art is the finest in our minds.

Recommended dishes:
- Tandoori Chicken (Soft, tender, succulent and lots and lots of flavor unlike other places which tend to be milder and other places too dry)
- Murgh Makhani (Butter Chicken) - Our family's favorite. We always order this dish. You just have to try it. So velvety smooth, with excellent flavors and tender pieces of boneless chicken.
- Bhindi Masala - Okra - Very tasty and well seasoned. Very good
- Achari Jhinga - Grilled Jumbo Prawns. Love it.
- Kashmiri Roganjosh - (Lamb), so rich in smooth flavors
- Any of the Biryanis are excellent (Indian Fried rice)
- Naan - Our favorite is the Garlic Naan

And don't forget the Mango Laasi! Best one I have had to date. Period!

Service here is excellent. It can be a bit slow when crowded, but what do you expect when you want perfection? They use the finest and best ingredients and you can tell when the food touches your tongue.

Masala Art is currently my favorite restaurant in the World for the past 2 years. That is a bold statement indeed, but I have tried many other places and as of our visit yesterday to Masala Art nothing still compares.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    87
    25
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were there last night and had a wonderful time. The service was fantastic and after trying many Indian restaurants in the city, we found our go to spot. Fresh, fantastic food. The owner is very involved in the dining experience, he even took our order, and the care he has for his restaurant shows in the food. Highly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Slmrbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakes
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Bangkok!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We had lots of wonderful food in Thailand but for a change went to this Indian restaurant. It was in a mall so did not look promising but we persevered and are so glad that we did. The food was divine and the waiters charming. We have visited Rajastaan and it was as if we were back there as the food was so authentic and well spiced. Everything we tried was delicious and we only wish we could have had time to return there.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catherineY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
“delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

After one whole week of eating different cuisines , we decided to go for the Indian choice and it was definatley one of the best we have tried. The staff were very welcoming an dhelpful, we tried several new dishes from the Indian cuisine most of which were very spicy as we requested. I would definatley recommend this place to others who like the spicy cuisine.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zodiacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sincerely very very good!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

i live in Bangkok and I like indian food, and Masala Art is the best indian in town, the appetizers from the Tandoor are very tasty , not over spicy , main course and Naan bread are perfect too! fish, prawns, chicken, lamb, veggie , everything is well prepared ,very nice and friendly service,good wines not over priced for Bangkok.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PoirotA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masala Art Bangkok also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Masala Art Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing