We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, clean and quiet”
Review of Sam Sen Sam Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sam Sen Sam Place
Ranked #41 of 741 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Everyone working at this guesthouse was so friendly and helpful, and spoke English very well. They even made a special effort to remember our names and our breakfast preference. The rooms were a bit small, but had everything you could need, including a TV with loads of English channels and a big comfortable bed. The entire guesthouse was immaculately clean and our room was cleaned every day. Location is very quiet but within walking distance to major tourist sites and Khao San road, basically the perfect base for exploring Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 169 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

A great place to stay in Bangkok. Walking distance to the pier and to many downtown tourist attraction. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again on our next trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ullrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed for three nights at this small guesthouse last January.
What we liked:
- Very helpful and friendly staff
- Close to Khao San Rd but not right on it
What we didn´t like:
- Rooms too small for the price
- Hot and not very well ventilated rooms
- One day they didn't make the beds and the room was poorly cleaned even though we left early
- Internet wi-fi signal is poor in the room so you have to go to common areas to get internet

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here and need good internet signal and space ask for a different room from Ban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guidillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We were pleasantly suprised when we arrived after booking a fan room with shared bathroom. The room was cool enough and had a decent wifi connection. For a little extra we moved to an air con room with TV and again this was clean and comfortable. When it came to extending our stay there was only a superior room left which was way out of our price range. When the owner realised there would be little chance of renting it to anyone else she reduced the rate and we were thankful as it would not have been worth the original price she was asking, it was extortionate for a guesthouse room. Breakfast is small but ok with quick service. Like the review before we also were caught out with high charge for the use of the telephone despite only being on it for a couple of minutes. We also wanted to use a computer to upload some of our pictures but it would not work and the internet was really slow yet we still had to pay. The staff were friendly enough when we first arrived, however on some days throughout our stay they were less friendly than others which we found really strange and caused a slight atmosphere. I would probably stay here again as the rooms are clean and the location is good but just watch out for those added extras and the odd atmosphere!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is a difficult review to write because in many ways our stay at Sam Sen Sam was enjoyable. The location is great, the people are friendly, the guesthouse is clean and safe, and there's breakfast, albeit of the 'continental' variety. Really, as a rustic boutiquey hotel this place is a fantastic option. However, our experience here was sadly not as good as other places we've stayed in Thailand so far. We transferred here from another nearby guesthouse because we decided to extend our stay in Bangkok and our guesthouse was full. I had been going here for coffee every morning and because the staff was sooo friendly we decided to stay. Overall it was a nice stay but we had many problems. First, the wi-fi did not work in our room. I didn't think this would be a huge problem but I needed wi-fi for work and planning out future trip plans and sitting out in the common area for any length of time became uncomfortable due to the plethora of hungry mosquitoes which happily feasted on us the longer we stayed out there. Our room, which was off the kitchen, was small but comfortable and more than sufficient except that every evening and morning the smell of unventilated sewage would slowly start creeping in. I think it actually came from outside of the guesthouse but it was hard to tell. The shower drain drained too slowly so the bathroom floor would quickly flood with water. That being said the shower was otherwise great and the hot water heater worked quite well. The only other thing that bothered us was the little charges that kept popping up. The first morning I was there I decided I wanted an egg with my toast. Not possible. I had to order two eggs and they charged 30 baht for it. Now, $1 doesn't sound like much but considering that you can eat an entire meal around the corner for the same price, and eggs cost about 2 baht a piece, it starts to feel a little rich. Next we wanted to do laundry. Great the wash machine costs 30 baht and you can hang your clothes, which is preferable to drying them but they charge you an extra 10 baht for the soap. Now considering most people do not travel with their own laundry detergent I can't understand why they wouldn't just charge 40 baht and be done with it. Also, every place we've stayed in provided a bottle of water with the room, including the one I'm currently writing this review from, Sam Sen Sam charged for it or you bought your own. I like simple convenience but small extra charges irk me. As a traveller I have slept in hammocks 6 inches too short, tents with bedbug infested mats, too many dorm beds to remember, 5-star hotels and everything in between. Sam Sen Sam was definitely on the better end of in between so I hate to nitpick about the little things but to me its the little things that make the difference between a 3/5 and a 5/5 review.

I hope your experience here was as good as the others I have read, I'm a bit disappointed in my own.

Cheers and happy travels!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coconutfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#53 of 741 in Bangkok
302 reviews
Banglamphu
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
#56 of 741 in Bangkok
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Lamphu House
Lamphu House
#20 of 741 in Bangkok
733 reviews
Banglamphu
Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House II
New Siam Guest House II
#33 of 741 in Bangkok
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Sen Sam Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Sen Sam Place

Address: 48 Samsen Rd., Soi Samsen 3 | Banglumpoo, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 741 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: ₹ 1,077 - ₹ 3,042 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam Sen Sam Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Zenrooms, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sam Sen Sam Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam Sen Sam Place Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing