We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sam Sen Sam Place”
Review of Sam Sen Sam Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sam Sen Sam Place
Ranked #33 of 632 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sam Sen Sam Place”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Sam Sen Sam Place is the perfect place to stay - close enough to walk to the Khao San Road and access to the ferries up and down the river to see Grand Palace, etc. but perfectly peaceful and relaxing. Staff are amazing and very helpful with regard to booking trains, buses and ferries, thank you Lek, you saved us so much time. We wished we had had time to stay again before leaving, but ill definitely stay on our next visit. Love to all, Lek, especially Potato and Phi Phi!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    125
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
162
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This is a really good place to stay in Bangkok if you don't want the madness of Khao San Road but still want to be close enough to walk there for a visit. Rooms are tidy and cozy, the building is gorgeous and the staff are great. They gave us some good advise on arrival as it was our first time in Bangkok and always greeted us with a smile.

It is a short walk to the river and it is also possible to walk to the royal palace area so it is still not that far away.

We would not hesitate to stay here again. The only downside is that it is a bit expensive compared to some other guesthouses in the area but in this you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This was my second time in Bangkok in 3 weeks and I wanted to stay somewhere a little quieter, I read the reviews of this place on tripadvisor and decided to go for it.

The rooms are all very nice and kept in very good condition. The staff were always very helpful and talkative and the place is a lot quieter than anything else in the area.

If I'm in Bangkok again I'm definitely staying here.

Room Tip: Room 1 appears to be right by the stairs. Any other room and you'll hear nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safe_Dave_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I originally booked just 2 nights at this place as this was my first stay in BKK and I wasn't sure about location - it looked from the map as if it were far from a metro/BTS. I thought this might be a problem. Not at all.

In fact, I extended my stay here to the total of 5 nights because as it turned out the location is absolutely perfect - within walking distance to the key tourist attractions like the Grand Palace (20-30 min stroll), Wat Pho i.e. the Reclining Buddha Temple (2nd largest in Thailand), the Temple of the Dawn (5 minutes to the river pier no. 14 for the boat ride), and the Vimanmek Mansion (15 minutes north - free ticket with the Grand Palace ticket). And of course - the Khaosan Road - is literally 10 min walk away.

Getting right into the busy (noisy) centre of BKK was not a problem either (although I must say I was glad to return to my riverside location) a fast taxi was only 80Baht, if you have no luggage a tuk tuk might be fun as well.

The rooms and common areas are exquisitely clean and well maintained. My room was a Delux with private bathroom, which had a powerful western-style shower and toilet, big mirror and a full array of complimentary toiletries (incl. comb, toothbrush & paste, plus the usual shampoo & soap).

The bed was super soft but comfortable (none of that sinking feeling...), the TV with satellite channels (incl. BBC/CNN/HBO etc), air-conditioning, a fridge and free WiFi - all made for a very comfortable stay.

The breakfast menu had 4 sets - and I loved the chicken&rice soup set in particular (toast / eggs also available).

All in all - highly recommended, if/when I return to BKK I will definitely be staying at the Sam Sen Sam Place again!

Thanks again to the SSS Place Team for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank magdapagda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I will be short about my comment here.
EXTRA: fast WIFI in all room, calm place, clean room and shared bathroom, close boat...
BAD: My room had very thin wall and close the principal stairs....noisy. I could see the light and heard people close my room.If you don't take your breakfast on the morning which is included in your room price, they don't refund it....

The place is pleasant, and charming.
So Why not.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tworoupies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#325 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#44 of 632 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
#50 of 632 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Banglamphu
Viman Guesthouse
Viman Guesthouse
#103 of 632 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Banglamphu
Green House BKK
Green House BKK
#56 of 632 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Sen Sam Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Sen Sam Place

Property: Sam Sen Sam Place
Address: 48 Samsen Rd., Soi Samsen 3 | Banglumpoo, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 632 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 973 - ₹ 2,465
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam Sen Sam Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Sam Sen Sam Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam Sen Sam Place Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing