We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful night - prostitute abused, hotel inaction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Residence Hotel
Ranked #655 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful night - prostitute abused, hotel inaction”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I spent one night at this hotel whilst in transit in Bangkok. The room was good, the price good, and the free airport shuttle bus was good BUT I will never go back there. I woke up to the sound of a woman shouting and screaming to be let go. She was a prostitute I am sure, and her client was clearly not treating her well (at one point it sounded like she was being strangled). I called the reception who sent staff up to the room. They knocked on the door, the noise subsided, they left, the noise resumed. I called again and hey hung up on me, I called a third time and asked that they call the police. They said they were dealing with it and I naively assumed they had called the police. They left one staff member outside the room - I guess in case it got any worse. I will not forget her screaming, nor the dreadful silence that followed and I feel awful that I did not do more to help her. As a woman travelling on my own I felt very scared. I complained in the morning, asking why they didn't call the police, that they didn't even know if this woman was still alive. The man at the desk said that they had called the room and that she said she was ok. I pointed out that if I was being threatened I would probably say the same thing. I am so horrified by the hotel's lack of action to protect this woman, and also ashamed that I relied on them to act rather than doing more myself.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Col81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    228
    201
    79
    82
See reviews for
102
225
166
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Hotel is a misconception for this property it is a Thai appartment building that normally rents for about 3,000 to 4,000 baht per month, given that, it s clean, reasonable and good value, never tried the food. Airport transfer was something t be desired we waited almost an hour to get picked up.

A local hint if you walk out of the property and turn left and walk up a 100 meters there are many small local Thai restaurants and bars, walk a litte further and turn left at the junction and another 100 or so meters is a small shopping area with western food, be carefully there are two the first is pretty useless.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

I am staying here now and am stuck in my room with a nasty case of food poisoning after eating in the hotel restaurant 10 hours ago. I just dragged myself down to the front desk to ask for water and had to fight the woman at the desk not to charge me for it. She would only give me 2 bottles of water though I thoroughly explained with google translate that I've had diarrhea and vomiting since eating in their restaurant. She suggests I get up in the middle of the night if I need more (I'm on the third floor in a separate building). On my way back in I passed a man with what I naively thought at first was his daughter--- uh uh. He didn't speak Thai- she didn't speak whatever he was speaking- and she was about 15. (he was about 40). I just trekked through Burma so I'm no high maintenance traveler. Save yourself and don't stay here. They also don't mention in any descriptions that it's right adjacent tithe highway and the bathrooms smell awful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CorKur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Montana
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

As a couple, we jointly stayed here around ten times in five years. In 2011, however, GR raised its prices and the staff has become, well, greedy. Before tipping was welcome, but not expected. Now it is impatiently awaited. GR has also increased the number of rooms by a lot--the place feels too big and impersonal. I now stay around the corner at the Thong Ta. However, GR will probably be our fall back if the TT is not available. The new outdoor seating area is nice and guests seem to enjoy eating there. We still prefer walking all the way down to the corner and turning left towards the outdoor food court (about 15 mins walk) -- better variety and the people watching can't be beat!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelermt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is the perfect place to stay if you are in transit over night in Bangkok and if you book on the site in advance of your trip you can get a room for around 700 baht (USD 23).
It is perfectly safe and the escorts at the airport pick-up are girls so that female travelers can feel comfortable. There is a van that drops and picks you to and from the hotel.
The rooms are comfortable and clean and the room service offers hot thai and international cuisine around the clock. The staff is also very courteous.
All in all, if you have a few hours to kill and need a place to shower and sleep without paying too much then this is your best bet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karuna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.8 km away
Mariya Boutique Residence at Suvarnabhumi Airport
2.5 km away
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
#291 of 863 in Bangkok
587 reviews
4.8 km away
Paragon Inn
Paragon Inn
#319 of 863 in Bangkok
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
#352 of 863 in Bangkok
594 reviews
0.7 km away
Suvarnabhumi Suite Airport Hotel
6.4 km away
Siam Place Airport Hotel
Siam Place Airport Hotel
#542 of 863 in Bangkok
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Residence Hotel

Property: Great Residence Hotel
Address: 1892/1 Lat Krabang Road, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #655 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,096 - ₹ 2,063
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Great Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing