We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing on a hot humid day”
Review of CocoJJ

CocoJJ
Ranked #130 of 362 Dessert in Bangkok
Neighbourhood: Chatuchak
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Chatuchak
Reviewed 3 June 2018

There are quite a few of such ice cream stalls around but I still find this CocoJJ more authentic. They have lots of topping available and also see cooling coconut drinks at the same time. Not difficult to find since it is situated near the toilet in Section 1, Soi 36.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erico2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

You don't have to ask me whether I want a coconut ice-cream and I've tried many in Thailand.

THis is one of the better places with a huge variety of toppings and mixes to add to the coconut flesh.

If you're visiting the Chatuchak Markets definitely stop and try CocoJJ - your taste buds will thank you for it :)

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aussiemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

This stall is always crowded, as the coconut ice cream tastes good and thirst quenching. The ice cream on a half coconut husk with some meat comes with a cup of coconut juice.

If you happen to be in the market, you may want to try this delicious ice cream.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YK N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I'm surprised that the very popular coconut ice-cream stall in Chatuchak Market has yet been listed. So with a little time on my hand, I've submitted it to be listed on TA to share with those still not in the know of this excellent and cheap dessert in Bangkok.

When I think of returning to Bangkok, this ice-cream is always on my mind. I'm not a lover of coconut products except the natural thing and well, this is very natural. It is refreshing and tastes great.

To find this place, get off from Kampaengphet MRT station and the small stall is just a few steps away. You'll see a queue but it won't take long.

The ice-cream is served on a half husk and comes with some meat, a scoop of ice-cream and two choices of toppings. There are quite an array of choices but don't worry, you'll probably be able to decide while you are in the queue. My favourites are the sea coconut and nipa palm 'seeds'. This very refreshing dessert, a life-saver in hot and humid Bangkok, is all of 40 baht, if I remember correctly. They will also give you a free cup of coconut juice. Yum.

If all these are not enough to dispel the heat, throw in 20 baht for a bottle of fresh coconut juice. I'm always thankful for that.

CocoJJ is a very small roadside stall. If you really need a break for those tired legs they do have a few seats at the corner though it's not that easy to get one since the place is really popular. There's some stalls selling similar stuff but this is the one that claims to be the original. It's the one thing I'll go for again if I'm back in Bangkok.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Smelltheflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CocoJJ also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to CocoJJ? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing