We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the heart of Bangkok”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oasis in the heart of Bangkok”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We spent 6 days in Bangkok and chose Ariyasomvilla as our base to explore the city and beyond from.

I won't repeat what countless others have said. Just agree that the rooms are amazing, huge and comfortable. Bathrooms are modern and great. Spa is good.

The pool. THE POOL!! One of our daily highlights was slipping into the cool, saline pool at night after dinner. Washing away the grime, sweat and exhaustion of each day. It was truly a GREAT way to end each day and we really loved it.
All of the staff is amazing. REady to assist in whatever way they can.

My ONLY disappointment, if you can call it that, was the restaurant. This was in NO way the restaurants fault, it's just that I'm not a vegetarian and I don't love seafood and my husband won't touch seafood, so it was just hard for us to find dishes that satisfied. I tried the penang curry that came with tofu. The flavor was great, but it was TOFU. I really tried to LOVE it, but couldn't. I only mention this for the benefit of other meat eaters, as I have read several reviews from meat eaters who have said that they didn't miss the meat at all. That is great, but if you don't eat seafood, i do believe you will miss the meat. HOWEVER, I would NEVER not stay here because of this. There are 1000's of restaurants to choose from in Bangkok if you have to have your meat! That being said, breakfast is great. Coffee is strong and amazing. The desserts are to DIE FOR, made by David the owner daily. (Try the plum tart, divine)

David (the owner) is awesome! Always available,always smiling, always ready to assist in whatever way possible. One morning he walked around with freshly baked muffins and gave them to anyone who wanted one. I fell in love with his coffee cups and other assorted pottery/ceramics. He told where I could possibly find it in Bangkok, and after unsucessfully looking, printed out all of the information for his supplier up in ChangMai.

Overall, Ariyasomvilla has earned it's number one ranking. A fabulous place and we would reccommend it to anyone looking for a boutique experience in a frantic, hectic city!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norwegianwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    213
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
244
861
92
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Just concluded 2 weeks in SE Asia (Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam) staying at some great hotels - but Ariyasomvilla was the best of all. The rooms are just so elegant: big, well decorated, big updated bathrooms, the balcony. The hotel restaurant is also good, with reasonable prices and a decent beer selection. And the pool is beautiful, a great way to clean Bangkok off of you after a full day of touring around. The location is good - a short walk to the sky train.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My spouse and I were visiting Bangkok, and we were amazed how beautiful it is, generally speaking.... This place was amazing. It was so relaxing and filled with great vibrations. We really had a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip to SE Asia, stopping back in Bangkok before flying home.

We were all around impressed by the Ariyasomvilla. The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathroom decor was well done, the beds were comfortable. We ordered room service and it did not disappoint. The staff was friendly and helpful arranging for us to get back to the airport early in the AM. Our only regret is that we did not stay here for more of our stay in Bangkok.

Downside: the Wi-Fi was spotty at times.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jskendzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This hotel is a tranquil home away from home. Lots of little extras which go all the way to making it the best choice for a plave to stay in Bangkok. If you are vegetarian you will adore the food and if you are not...you will love it anyway!

The rooms were spacious, clean and the beds were soooo confortable. Lovely little outside areas for relaxing (we were on ground floor) Great pool which you can swim in until the middle of the evening ( nice touch as that is what we would all like to do in most hotels)

The sevice was fantastic. I was unfortunate enough to have my bag snatched on my way home (straight from my lap whilst sitting in traffic in a tuk tuk - so be careful) and the hotel could not have been more helpful or reassuring. Assisting with translations, directions to the appropriate police station and making phone calls on our behalf. One of the nights we were disturbed by loud noise coming from afar in the early hours of the morning and i got up to ask what was happening only to find the owner just about to make his way out into the city in his pyjamas to sort it out for his guests. The noise promptly ceased within 10 minutes.Fantasic!

On check out, after a long day cycling the staff allowed us to leave our bags in our room and shower there when we arrived back in the early evening at no extra cost. Things like this make this place so special and if i return to Bangkok this will be where i stay. The only drawback is the location, which is not central but just a few stops on the train (which is very regular) or in a tuk tuk (if you dare!!)

Thank you Ariyasomvilla and all the staff for making my stay so warm and welcoming .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenaround69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 863 in Bangkok
614 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 863 in Bangkok
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,446 - ₹ 13,536
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EaseMyTrip, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing