We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“indeed a roofview place. :D”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roof View Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roof View Place
Ranked #315 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“indeed a roofview place. :D”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

the hotel was a very good choice if you're traveling on a budget. the rooms we're well maintained and i never had any negative experiences with them. the stuffs were kinda friendly especially Phak who was willing to give you directions in Thai and was the only one who could speak english there. the ladyboy receptionist at night was bit intimidating to approach though. but overall, i would recommend this place to you travelers. few minutes away from tourist hubs and attractions yet far from the noises of the city. :))

Room Tip: the hotel doesn't have an elevator so if you're too lazy of climbing up and down, choose low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arjzayythoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    199
    85
    19
    12
See reviews for
20
155
97
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I arrived past midnight already and was greeted by a nice lady who told me that I can just pay in the morning. I booked for a single but was surprised that I got a double instead. The room was clean and basic. It even had a mini refrigerator stocked with 2 bottles of water each day. I particularly liked the free shampoo and body wash. Breakfast was very good. I appreciate the morning staff's effort to appear cheerful and upbeat every morning. The place is walking distance to khao san road, chaopraya river pier, even to the grand palace and wat po. The only negative thing that I encountered was the ugly ladyboy receptionist who seemed to have an attitude problem. He appeared surly and annoyed that a guest had to disturb him from watching his small tv to ask a question. He had a perpetual scowl on his face - not very welcoming for a tired traveller.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emee g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratov, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Me and a couple of my friends booked this guesthouse on the Internet only for the first night in Bangkok. Had to go to Koh Phangan next morning but there were no tickets for the train and we decided to stay for one night more.
The location was excellent: about 10 min walk to Soi Rambuttri and Koah San Road. Some rooms have view on the quiet and beautiful temple hidden in the backstreets of the area.
The room was very clean and the air-conditioning efficient in very challenging heat and humidity. The bathroom was again very clean though quite basic, had everything you need for your comfort.
The staff is very professional and helpful. We ordered tickets on the reception and used a great advice of the receptionist about a nice place to have a dinner in the neighbourhood - Jenny's restaurant with the best Tom Yam Kha I ever tried. Seriously.
You can use free wifi both in the room and lobby.
Breakfast was inclueded and very good: Thai home-style dishes and fresh fruits every morning + free coffee anytime.
I fully recommend this hotel to those who are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in Bangkok.

Room Tip: They have elevator only for luggage. If you don't want to climb up the stairs every night take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia_Akimova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was the start of our tour around south east asia. I have read mixed reviews on this site and so we were slightly dubious... As soon as we paid the deposit online, we received an email with a map in thai to give to the taxi driver frm the airport. When we arrived the staff were friendly, we paid for our rooms and had to leave a 500baht deposit. We went up to an immaculately clean room with good working aircon. The bathroom was spotless and although the beds were hard, they were very comfortable. We had fresh towels both nights we stayed and 3 rolls of toilet roll, more than a hotel!!! The breakfast is free and very good. I think we ate our weight in watermelon, toast and rice ha!!! Free fresh filtered coffee. The cooker looked priseen clean and everything was clean and tidy. Also we left valuables out accidentally when the cleaner went round and everything was still there when we arrived back so the staff were trustworthy. The wifi in the room was fast and we literally have no complaints. It felt like more like a hotel than a guest house and we thoroughly enjoyed the first two days of our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praslin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel was great value, 10mins or so walk from koh shan road so location was ideal. breakfast was very good too and overall i thoroughly enjoyed my stay here but would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PraslinGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#314 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#201 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#294 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#328 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#281 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#323 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof View Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof View Place

Property: Roof View Place
Address: 90/1 Samesean Soi 6, Banpanthom, Pranakorn 15000 | Soi 6 Banpanthom, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu , Old City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 902 - ₹ 1,740
Hotel Class:2 star — Roof View Place 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Roof View Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roof View Place Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing