We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant guest house”
Review of Roof View Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roof View Place
Ranked #326 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Brilliant guest house”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was the start of our tour around south east asia. I have read mixed reviews on this site and so we were slightly dubious... As soon as we paid the deposit online, we received an email with a map in thai to give to the taxi driver frm the airport. When we arrived the staff were friendly, we paid for our rooms and had to leave a 500baht deposit. We went up to an immaculately clean room with good working aircon. The bathroom was spotless and although the beds were hard, they were very comfortable. We had fresh towels both nights we stayed and 3 rolls of toilet roll, more than a hotel!!! The breakfast is free and very good. I think we ate our weight in watermelon, toast and rice ha!!! Free fresh filtered coffee. The cooker looked priseen clean and everything was clean and tidy. Also we left valuables out accidentally when the cleaner went round and everything was still there when we arrived back so the staff were trustworthy. The wifi in the room was fast and we literally have no complaints. It felt like more like a hotel than a guest house and we thoroughly enjoyed the first two days of our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    202
    85
    20
    12
See reviews for
20
157
99
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Praslin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel was great value, 10mins or so walk from koh shan road so location was ideal. breakfast was very good too and overall i thoroughly enjoyed my stay here but would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PraslinGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel on the Internet only for the first night in Bangkok and I can say it was a good choise from what you can find in the Internet. Room was clean, breakfast was good, location was not so central as we thought, but still within walking distance to the main sights. We traveled as backpackers and discovered you can find so many 2-3 times cheaper options of similar hotels with even better location, but they are usually not available on the Internet. Thailand is a perfect place to travel without any booking in advance

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meshkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Roof View Place. This isn't a place to stay if you're after luxury, a bathtub, room service and the like, but it's a great, inexpensive place to base yourself if you want to explore Bangkok. It's close enough to the backpacker hubs of the Kosarn Rd to make them walkable in 5mins, but far enough away to make it a quiet place to stay. The rooms are clean, well appointed, with a TV. Breakfast is your standard eggs, bacon, muesli, bananas fare and perfectly okay. The surlyness of the reception staff varied depending on who you got, but all are helpful. Pim is a delight.

Now for the downsides. There were some slightly eccentric touches to the room (e.g. There were separate shower heads for hot and cold) and the sockets in our room didn't work. Luckily the sockets in our friends' room did. The air con was okay, but not quite Arctic enough for my taste (we were staying at the height of the hot season).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abreeze61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We arrived here at 10 pm after a grueling 28 hour journey. The hotel was easy to find as the management had kindly emailed us a map in Thai as soon as we had booked. Hence the taxi driver found no difficulty in locating the hotel. It is down a quite side street off a busy main road, there are lots of local bars/restaurants nearby, and the Khao san road is a ten minute walk. Perfect location.

The lady on reception greeted us warmly. I thought I had already paid for the room through the booking agent and she was very patient with me and checked with her brother, who confirmed I had made a mistake (which was true, I was very tired!). She told us we could pay the next day which was a great relief.

The lobby area in which breakfast is served was light and airy. There are a couple of computers for guests to use.

Our bedroom albeit small, was more than adequate. It had a comfortable bed, a rail to hang our clothes, a small fridge and TV with a few English speaking channels (who wants to watch TV when you are in Bangkok!). There was a dressing table and a safe. We had a small balcony on which to sit and watch the street below. The ensuite toilet and bedroom was spotlessly clean. The bedding and towels, also very clean and good quality.

Breakfast was very good. Served at civilised times between 7 am - 10 am. There was a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, eggs cocoked freshly, rice, salad (very nice touch) and brown or white bread for toast with jam or marmalade. There was also tea and coffee on offer (all day). You could eat as much as you liked, and indeed when we returned from a short walk at 10.45 am, guests were still eating.

Staff were at all times helpful and professional. We were able to safely store our luggage during our day of departure without extra charge (we tried to extend the stay in our room by a few hours but were unable as they were so busy - a very good sign).

The only suggestion we could think of, was for the hotel to improve the roof top area including providing some shade, in order to make it more of a comfortable communal meeting space for guests.

We would not hestitate to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor, this didn't pose a problem as there was a small lift for our luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank the-marmite-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#322 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#202 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#300 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#350 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#279 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#320 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof View Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof View Place

Property: Roof View Place
Address: 90/1 Samesean Soi 6, Banpanthom, Pranakorn 15000 | Soi 6 Banpanthom, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu , Old City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 907 - ₹ 1,815
Hotel Class:2 star — Roof View Place 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Roof View Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roof View Place Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing