We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roof View Place
Nearby Hotels
Amari Watergate Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$ 123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 63
US$ 59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 113
US$ 107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 152
US$ 136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 148
US$ 133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 144
US$ 134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 110
US$ 100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 123
US$ 105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 291
US$ 195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paragon Inn(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
US$ 64
US$ 25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
91
217
89
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
217
89
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskhao san roadair conthai dishbeds were hardbudget placegrand palacefree breakfastlaundry donefree bottles of waterown bathroomhot showernice breakfaststayed here for two nightshotel is locatedthe main roadclean roomsfridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel was great value, 10mins or so walk from koh shan road so location was ideal. breakfast was very good too and overall i thoroughly enjoyed my stay here but would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PraslinGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel on the Internet only for the first night in Bangkok and I can say it was a good choise from what you can find in the Internet. Room was clean, breakfast was good, location was not so central as we thought, but still within walking distance to the main sights. We traveled as backpackers and discovered you can find so many 2-3 times cheaper options of similar hotels with even better location, but they are usually not available on the Internet. Thailand is a perfect place to travel without any booking in advance

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meshkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Roof View Place. This isn't a place to stay if you're after luxury, a bathtub, room service and the like, but it's a great, inexpensive place to base yourself if you want to explore Bangkok. It's close enough to the backpacker hubs of the Kosarn Rd to make them walkable in 5mins, but far enough away to make it a quiet place to stay. The rooms are clean, well appointed, with a TV. Breakfast is your standard eggs, bacon, muesli, bananas fare and perfectly okay. The surlyness of the reception staff varied depending on who you got, but all are helpful. Pim is a delight.

Now for the downsides. There were some slightly eccentric touches to the room (e.g. There were separate shower heads for hot and cold) and the sockets in our room didn't work. Luckily the sockets in our friends' room did. The air con was okay, but not quite Arctic enough for my taste (we were staying at the height of the hot season).

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abreeze61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We arrived here at 10 pm after a grueling 28 hour journey. The hotel was easy to find as the management had kindly emailed us a map in Thai as soon as we had booked. Hence the taxi driver found no difficulty in locating the hotel. It is down a quite side street off a busy main road, there are lots of local bars/restaurants nearby, and the Khao san road is a ten minute walk. Perfect location.

The lady on reception greeted us warmly. I thought I had already paid for the room through the booking agent and she was very patient with me and checked with her brother, who confirmed I had made a mistake (which was true, I was very tired!). She told us we could pay the next day which was a great relief.

The lobby area in which breakfast is served was light and airy. There are a couple of computers for guests to use.

Our bedroom albeit small, was more than adequate. It had a comfortable bed, a rail to hang our clothes, a small fridge and TV with a few English speaking channels (who wants to watch TV when you are in Bangkok!). There was a dressing table and a safe. We had a small balcony on which to sit and watch the street below. The ensuite toilet and bedroom was spotlessly clean. The bedding and towels, also very clean and good quality.

Breakfast was very good. Served at civilised times between 7 am - 10 am. There was a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, eggs cocoked freshly, rice, salad (very nice touch) and brown or white bread for toast with jam or marmalade. There was also tea and coffee on offer (all day). You could eat as much as you liked, and indeed when we returned from a short walk at 10.45 am, guests were still eating.

Staff were at all times helpful and professional. We were able to safely store our luggage during our day of departure without extra charge (we tried to extend the stay in our room by a few hours but were unable as they were so busy - a very good sign).

The only suggestion we could think of, was for the hotel to improve the roof top area including providing some shade, in order to make it more of a comfortable communal meeting space for guests.

We would not hestitate to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor, this didn't pose a problem as there was a small lift for our luggage
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank the-marmite-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We paid 850 baht for a standard double room. It was very nice and clean.

By walking, it is a bit far from the touristy areas (more than 30 mins to Wat Po or Golden Mount).

The service was good, so was the breakfast and internet speed (they have 1 router per floor). They have 2 shower heads in the bathroom, one that directly connects to the waterpipes, and one to the water heater, but they are almost the same, because both are warm. They also have a small rack on the terrace for hanging laundry.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginomisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews