We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Thai food and Not worth value”

MANGO TREE Surawongse
Reserve with Chope
MANGO TREE Surawongse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #726 of 13,136 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bang Rak
Description: The original Mango Tree is located in Surawongse, where the fame all started from. It is because of our ancient mango trees at the shopfront that made us name our restaurant the way it is now. Since Thailand’s mangos are world-class, we aim to make our restaurant just the same. And here our concept tries to be as traditional as it can be to preserve its rich history in the heart of the city. In the evenings, we demonstrate live traditional Thai dancing and music which compliments the wooden exteriors and greenery of the restaurant. The outdoor dining can be further admired by its surroundings of heritage wooden houses which kept its original, colourful stained glasses. You may of course, also dine inside these houses, whether it is for private parties or just a fine-casual meal. Our dishes here are classic yet premium, just like the old Thai days because you deserve to experience the country’s authenticity.
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Service - totally different to your usual Thai restaurant, rude, no appreciation, no one there to serve upstairs.

Food - I had chill crab, sauce was ok but the crab quality was rubbish. No meat. Green curry was too watery.

Price - too expensive for location and value. US$80. Green Curry, Chill Crab, Coconut and rice.

I suggest people try Somboon Seafood. Much Better !!!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Wsfpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Located in a two storey building with its own garden area, Mango Tree is a favorate among tourists seeking authentic Thai cuisine. The restaurant offers indoor and outdoor dining. I’ve eaten there four times, once in each of the main dining areas and all have their individuality and attractiveness. The high quality of the food has sustained over the years as has the excellent service. If you’re seated outside then you’ll be treated to authentic Thai music played by a quartet part way through the evening. I’m not sure if this is offered during daytime dining. Toilets are clean and the indoor areas have strong air conditioning to fight off the highest summer temperatures. A very pleasant dining experience with a touch of Thai artistry and history grown in. Reasonably priced too with a great selection of dishes.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Phillip_Gatenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is tucked away off the main road in a peaceful side street. It has inside and outside areas. There was a cultural show going on, but we hadn’t booked so our table was out of the way (our fault not theirs!). The menu was extensive and offers a wide variety of dishes. The coconut ice cream was incredible.

But this restaurant offers more than just good food. It was absolutely chucking it down with rain when we left and we did not have an umbrella. So the maitre d’ arranged for one of the bus boys to walk us to our hotel will big umbrellas. It was only three minutes walk away, but we would have been drenched. This kindness was a nice surprise and offered, not asked for.

We also saw staff deal very kindly and patiently with a very awkward and demanding customer who was being quite unreasonable.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank 88kated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Little did I know, that this is where the Mango Tree empire began. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and weren’t too pushy when it came to taking an order.
The food was priced as expected, but was definitely worth the money.
There’s quite a vast menu, and you’ll struggle to go there and not find anything that takes your fancy - my problem was not trying to order one of everything!
Good drinks menu with a selection of cocktails.
10/10 would visit again.
Highly recommend the massaman.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank seanwtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Make sure to get a table outside (if weather permits) during the evening. Their locals play traditional music, and some of the sets have their traditional Thai dance.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank yzQaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MANGO TREE Surawongse also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to MANGO TREE Surawongse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing