We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai dishes, good service”

Ban Khun Mae Restaurant
Ranked #514 of 14,196 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $120 - $490
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Bangkok
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Great location near Siam Square and BTS. Moderate prices, 'traditional' décor, good variety of Thai dishes. Been there twice, enjoyed it each time. Introduced first by Thai local friends, so it must be fairly 'authentic' too!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kousy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 328 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2016

We had a very good diner, with very good food and nice staff. Easy access, right next to the bts. The restaurant is very nice. Prices are reasonable viewing the quality of the food. Don't arrive too late though, or you might have to order your desert before having started to eat.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnaisB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Having returned to Bangkok after 20 years, we found it too generally too westernised.. but dining at this restaurant brought back old memories. Food was excellent and the service was prompt. The tom yum kung was not too spicy (but spicy enough) and the papaya salad just right with basil chicken and rice. The music provided by the pleasant young lady on the Thai harp just made our final evening!
Wish we had been there earlier during our trip and with a bigger group to have tried more dishes. Will definitely go there again next time.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Mala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 August 2016

I remember Ban Khun Mae as it was one of the first restaurants that I went to on my first trip to Bangkok many years ago. It has become my to-go restaurant on each of my trip to the capital of Thailand. You can easily spot this restaurant (traditional Thailand house exterior) from Novotel Siam Square. You'd be greeted with the cosy interior with traditional Thai instrument playing on your way in... food quality has remained consistent all these years and that was important. Price-wise slightly on the high side but it was worth the $$$ paid

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank BL_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 August 2016

expect a long q if you went there during peak hours.. problem is there is no one to register your q.. u got to look for a gentleman wearing a suit for a number, if u ask other service staffs, they will just tell u "30 mins".. price is decent for the quality but not a must eat for me

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank raullim7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Ban Khun Mae Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ban Khun Mae Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing