We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
29
184
141
44
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
184
141
44
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pratunam market hotel lobby platinum fashion mall fried rice shopping area family mart baiyoke thailand
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for a week for the first time. It is indeed value for money (provided one books online, I did it through "bookings"). The stay was cool throughout except continuous nagging noise from a construction site nearby (thank God they would let you sleep in the night but start early morning).

The pool on roof top is a shallow pool but worth the exercise. They have very cheerful & helpful staff both at the front office & in their restaurant. When I ordered for some vegetarian stuff, they actually prepared something (though very basic, fried vegetables & boiled rice) that was not listed on the menu card.

Check in & check out was a breeze. Hardly took any time and they did not keep any cash towards deposit.

Locating the hotel for first time could be an issue. They should in fact drop Phayathai from their address as one tends to go to Phayathai station for those travelling by airport link train and instead write on their website guiding guests to get down at Ratchaprarop station and take a tuk-tuk or a cab.

Room Tip: For better view choose higher floors
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandiii999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Been there for 5 days to look for stuffs to sell, very near to shopping places, Platinum Fashion Mall, Pratunam Market and all the small shops & stalls surrounding it. You can shop but wont drop coz u can go back to keep yr stock & go 'fishing' again! Worth staying there, all basic necessities but with pool on top, not bad for a small hotel even you dont have much time to enjoy it coz shopping 24/7. Quite a number of muslim food too! 10-15 minutes to nearest BTS but hey, who needs that when you can get almost everything by walking & with all the buzzing you wont get tired! As usual there are plenty of massage parlour around to end your day..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awizul_tripAdvsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The first time I stayed at this hotel was back in 2009, which we booked from Agoda and the price was very affordable. Thereafter, I always stay at this hotel whenever I visited Bangkok. And I will continue to stay there again. The location for this hotel is very strategic where it's just walking distance to the shopping haven Platinum Mall. To get to platinum mall, we have to pass through a stretch of market selling clothes, accessories, food - that's the Baiyoke market. There were so many things to see and buy. We ended up spending around 1 hour at the market before reaching Platinum Mall - yes, we are shopaholic. The rooms are ok, clean, comfortable but of course, you can't compare to Ritz Carlton. However, the service were good. The most important feature and we liked most is the foot massage parlor attached to this hotel, which is next to the lobby. We found that is the best foot massage around that area and the plus point is after massage, we can go to our bed straight! The price was reasonable too. The hotel also offers tour package but when we realized that, it was too late; we were flying back home the next day.

I strongly recommend this hotel for travellers who like shopping. Of course, sight seeing too. Taxi are everywhere with reasonable price. For couples who want to enjoy romantic holidays, maybe you should look for other 4-5stars hotel if your budget allows :)

Another tip: The safe deposit is located at the reception and remember to prepare a pad lock of your own, so you do not need to rent from the hotel. Your padlock suppose to lock the box, and the box will be placed in the locker where the hotel will be holding the key.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peggy_teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

pros:
nearby to the most happening shopping places like the platinum and baiyoke towers.
you could literally just literally shop outside the hotel itself.
plenty of food around the shop if you dont mind eating the small stalls. i guess thats where the adventure is! :)
for the muslim travellers, there's a small muslim shop in one of the alley ways on your left if your heading from the hotel towards baiyoke. though its a tad expensive.
nice clean hotel room.
quiet!
its a place to stay if you prefer walking around from the hotel instead of getting into tuktuks n taxis.

cons:
don arrive too early for check ins! we arrrived at 4 am in the morning and the receptionist doesnt allow half rate pay if you want to check in before 8am!! they wanted full night's pay and it meant that we slept on the hotel lobby couch for 4 hours as a form of protest! :P

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at the White Palace in Prathunam, Bangkok for 5 nights having taken 2 rooms for the duration. The hotel is very convenient to stay in if you are looking for easy access to shopping and generally walking around in an area bustling and teeming with locals and foreigners alike. The hotel itself is very well priced and has all amenities that are normally needed.

The Hotel lays out a Buffet Breakfast every morning that is pretty elaborate and definitely the highlight of the stay. The hotel annexe has a massage parlor which is quite good and convenient to use as you return from a shopping spree dead tired.

Taxis and Tuk Tuk are easily available as you step outside the hotel and not too expensive to be driven to Siam Centre or MBK Centre (60 Baht). Even Chatu Chak is only 90 Baht by taxi (on a relatively traffic free Sunday morning), so definitely within easy and cheaper driving distances.

As a recommended side highlight, the Baiyoke Sky Hotel is 2 minute walking distance and we spent an evening having international buffet dinner on the Sky Restaurant on the 78th floor and then spent an hour on the 83rd / 84th floors on the revolving stage to get the view of the Bangkok skyline at night.

In all a very convenient and pocket friendly hotel to stay with family.

Room Tip: All rooms mostly are the same and not the highlight of the hotel. The over all budget friendliness and location are the key factors.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourbador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews