We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean”
Review of The Ecotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ecotel Bangkok
Ranked #582 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Hotel was nice and clean, very much like a boutique hotel but in smaller scale. Hotel was not in the best location but is nice to stroll along the small lane for some local food and massage before hitting the main road and return to hotel too.
Staff was friendly and willing to help, we had some issue with getting a taxi (most of them refuse to use meter- make sure you insist or elase just get another one- if you are on the main street) to another hotel and staff go all the way to get use a taxi and will use meter from the main road (since hotel is quite away from main road).
Room sound proof was not good as you can hear restaurant nearby preparing their food in early morning ( i was in 5th floor) and very thin door.

Room Tip: double check if the door is closed properly before you go out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slq_dep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 332 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

For us this was a good hotel. We had a clean and nice room and the staff was friendly. The location wasn;t that good, because you have to walk a long distance to the main attractions, and childeren don't like that very much. But overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Low price and quite convenient location
however bathroom and bed is not exactly very clean, but good still to have a room over the head while you enjoy your shopping spree!

Room Tip: if you like to have comfortable night, do give this hotel a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed in Ecotel as it was suggested by my wife's sister. For me, the best thing about this hotel is the rate. Just one thousand baht / night (without breakfast) from booking.com.

Location is ok, if you don't mind a bit of walking and shopping for fashion is your main objective. Fifteen minutes walk to Pratunam Market / Platinum Mall (1.1 km). From Platinum, add another 10 minutes to Big C (525 m). Another 2 km if you want to walk all the way from Platinum to MBK, passing many other malls, which are conveniently connected by skywalk above the road of Rama I. Just opposite of Palladium mall there is a resto, Kai Ton, selling a very yummy chicken rice, one of the best in bangkok according to wikitravel, for unbelievably cheap price. Just next door of Ecotel there is a branch of well known bak kwa (pork jerky) shop, Lin Zhen Xiang, only 60 baht for 100 g. There is a money changer with very good rate nearby on soi 33, the one with big banner across the road that says "Exchange". Taxis are plenty, use those that are passing in front of 7-11, not in front of the hotel. The nearest public transport is an airport rail link (ARL) station Ratchaprarop, 800 meter to the west of the hotel. From Ratchaprarop you can go to Phaya Thai ARL station (one stop), then transfer to the integrated Phaya Thai BTS station. From Phaya Thai BTS you can go to Chatuchak (north) stopping at Mo Chit station, or Siam Square (south) at Siam station. From Pratunam Pier, just next to the chicken rice shop I mentioned above, you can go to golden mount and wat saket by boat and a little walk.

We stayed on the 4th floor, the wifi was very good. Usually i could get 1 MB/s (bytes not bits) download speed.

Overall I was not dissapointed, but as we traveled with young children who are not too fond of walking such a distance, for the next visit to Bangkok we would choose another hotel that is closer to public transport even when it means 50%-100% more expensive rate like Sacha's Hotel Uno here: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g293916-d1160075-Reviews-Sacha_s_Hotel_Uno-Bangkok.html

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pelesir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

my wife and I (both mid 70's) stayed at the ecotel for 7 nights and were kindly upgraded to a deluxe room. the room was spacious and spotless, the frontoffice staff were extremely courteous and spoke good english. we initially had some problems with the FIFI but that was quickly solved by allowing us to use the WIFI at the restaurant next door.
the breakfast was very good with asian and western dishes
don't use the tuk-tuk's and taxis outside the hotel as they all want to take you to the gem shops or tailors. walk around the corner and hail a taxi. it is our experience that taxis are better value AND cheaper than tuk-tuk's, you don't breathe exhaust fumes and they are not pushy. just make sure the meter is on, if the driver refuses to put the meter on tell him to stop and get out.. plenty of other taxis.

the doorman at the ecotel is very obliging and helpful and will help you with a taxi.

overall a excellent hotel with pleasant staff and nice rooms. would definitely stay again at the Ecotel

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldCoastBatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.8 km away
Grand Alpine
Grand Alpine
#723 of 885 in Bangkok
247 reviews
0.1 km away
Ramada D MA Bangkok
Ramada D MA Bangkok
#506 of 885 in Bangkok
822 reviews
0.8 km away
Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bangkok Palace Hotel
Bangkok Palace Hotel
#166 of 885 in Bangkok
1,633 reviews
0.1 km away
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
#215 of 885 in Bangkok
1,317 reviews
0.4 km away
PJ Watergate Hotel
PJ Watergate Hotel
#623 of 885 in Bangkok
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ecotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ecotel Bangkok

Address: 1091/333-4 New Petchburi Road 35 | Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #582 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: ₹ 2,084 - ₹ 4,038 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ecotel Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Ecotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecotel Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Ecotel Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Ecotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing