We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely value hotel in heart of Taipei”
Review of Dong Wu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dong Wu Hotel
Ranked #126 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Dong Wu Hotel is the best combination of price value and delightful design that I’ve ever experienced in an urban hotel either abroad or in the United States. The room was well designed in a soothing color scheme, the bathroom modern and up-to-date, and the room contained more space than most urban hotel rooms. If you’ve had feelings of claustrophobia in a hotel room, you won’t experience them at the Dong Wu. Extra touches that made the room welcoming include a lovely tea coffee setup area, convenient closet and drawer spaces, and the ability to control all room lighting from your bed.

The free breakfast is skewed towards Asian items, but offers plenty of buffet choices to begin a day of touring. Although the breakfast room is in the basement, the feeling is light and airy with many magazines and books in a variety of languages as well as a wide-screen TV which broadcast live, American baseball games the four mornings we were there.

Close to an MRT station (subway) and with taxis plentiful and inexpensive in Taipei, the Dong Wu was a perfect springboard for our Taipei meetings and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hbsboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Dong Wu Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 177 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

I booked this hotel based on reviews here and location. It is just a couple blocks from the MRT and the front desk staff are awesome! It was our second trip to Taiwan and having a front desk staff who spoke english well was a blessing. We came in late 2am and there was a front desk clerk awake and waiting for us. Check in was really quick as well.

The room was an interior room, no windows. At first I was a little put off by that but having a dark room after a late flight was great. The room itself was very clean, comfortqble bed and pillows. Nice LG flat screen with decent cable channel selection. Well appointed room with fridge, hair drier, airpot for making tea and coffee. Bathroom was big with a tub, marble counters the bathroom and the bedroom. Small selection of softdrinks and beer in the fridge. The room also has a safe, and audio system with speakers built into the ceiling.

Down side? The reviews about the breakfast are accurate, we went down for the breakfast twice at 7am and the food was already cold. To me on a budget hotel like this the breakfast isnt a big deal. They have a nice coffee machine that brews from fresh ground beans by the cup. How ever eggs, ham etc were all room temp or lower.

If they address the breakfast issues this place would be stellar, but I would stay there again without hesitation. Shop around, you wont find a better deal with a location like this.

Last note, this hotel is clean! I am picky and look at stuff like the back of the tv, tops of pictures etc. This room was spotless. Even the hairdrier had no lint or dust built up. Their staff is top notch.

Room Tip: I would say try an interior room, no noise and stays dark great for sleeping.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lifesapinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I'll use again, when I go to Taipei next.

・nice breakfast
・free pc connecting internet
・front desk is so kind

- 
・nothing special but it takes 5 or more minutes from station.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pogie9824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Only planned to stay in Taipei for 3 nights but turned out to be 6 due to the unfavourable weather in the south. Second hotel out of 3 hotels stayed in Taipei during this trip. Was kind of sceptical when booked directly via their website and did not asked for a deposit or credit card details.

Location-wise, it is in the Datong district and slightly under 10 minutes walk to Daqiaotou MRT along the Xinzhuang / Luzhou lines (orange).

On the way to the hotel, cab driver mentioned it has been around for some 30 years or so; but renovated. The room size was more than adequate for the price (NTD1960) but comes without any window/view. It does not have the modern, trendy look as expected, but more importantly is clean and feels secure. Free Wi-Fi is standard as with most Taiwan hotels. Breakfast is included and in the basement coffeeshop. Standard local fare and some some western; satisfactory overall considering it is not in an international class chain hotel.

Did not disappoint. Would have no hesitation to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights, the service was fantastic. We were provided with Taipei train maps and the hotel map to ensure that we could navigate around Taipei without any difficulty. The train maps even had popular tourist attractions on it!

The hotel was a 5 minute walk away from the Taipei MRT, the only complain was that we had to change quite alot of trains to go to the various attractions around Taipei, but other than that the location was good! The hotel was also conveniently next to "Family Mart" (something like 7-11) where we could get drinks and food at anytime of the day.

We stayed in 1 room for our family of 3, the room was quite big and the pillows were soft and comfortable to sleep in. The toilets were also clean when we checked in. There were alot of TV channels to choose from so we were all entertained during our stay

Room service was excellent and the free wifi was also very fast. Breakfast was just average, the food was the same for the 3 days, just a few changes here and there during the 3 days we were there.

There were also 2 free iMacs to use during breakfast time which was unlike any other hotel i stayed in which allowed free usage of computers and internet.

Dong Wu hotel provided us with an excellent stay during our 3 day stay in Taipei and we would definitely come back again! :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beat92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 km away
If Inn
If Inn
#239 of 575 in Taipei
41 reviews
0.7 km away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taipei Nanjing West
0.6 km away
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
#42 of 575 in Taipei
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Horizon Inn
Horizon Inn
#91 of 575 in Taipei
130 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel I Journey Taipei
Hotel I Journey Taipei
#132 of 575 in Taipei
49 reviews
0.7 km away
City Suites Taipei Nanxi
City Suites Taipei Nanxi
#94 of 575 in Taipei
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dong Wu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Wu Hotel

Address: No.258 Section 2, Yanping North Road, Datong District, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: ₹ 3,842 - ₹ 4,493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dong Wu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dong Wu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing