We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel, not for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Ranked #5 of 583 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Great 5 star hotel in middle of Taipei. Very boutique/chique but is categorised as one of the best family hotels so I suggest you don't stay here if you have kids as there are no play area etc. Also I think the hotel lacks any restaurants so don't count on it.

Hotel has a limo service (very old Merc S-Class) but it's quite expensive so unless the company is paying for it, I suggest you get your own cab as they are plentiful.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room not facing the main road as the main road can get a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shininghero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 328 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed 3 weeks there. At first glance, I was a bit surprised that it is the first hotel on Tripadvisor for Taipei: my corner room was small and dark, the building is unassuming. To be clear, there are more "spectacular" hotels with grand lobbies and large rooms. But it did not take me much time to discover its real charm:
- Staff totally hospitable and quickly knowing you by name.
- Good room and bed. Remember that most hotels in Taipei are not heated, so your room may be freezing in winter, but here it is all comfortable.
- I love the jazz radio "Jazzie loves Paris" pre-set in the room, so you can relax listening to good music.
- Nice public areas, free cookies, plenty of comfortable seats, soothing music, and free cocktails from 6 to 7:30 pm.
- Great breakfast, plenty of Asian and European choice, and you can ask some interesting continental dishes from the menu as well (included).
- The terrace in the small garden. Get a table and enjoy Taipei morning before smokers monopolize all of them. Enjoy a cigar during the evening, drinking your martini.
- Excellent location, do not fear walking around, there are plenty of local restaurants, and it is the real Taipei life with intimate districts and small squares.
And now, a bit of "things which can be further improved":
- The TV...... most of it is Asian, with the traditional CNN and BBC News... But no HBO, Discovery, NGO.... A good addition would be to include Golden Movies, watching old classics in that atmospheric hotel could be perfect.
- Rooms are a bit small, avoid corner rooms. For long stays, go to Deluxe Rooms.
- A few more lights in the public areas, which are a bit dark, especially in winter.
- Safety boxes only use credit cards, no keypads, and this can be annoying.
- Not the fault of the hotel, but some guests from across the Pacific shared their jet-lag with others by having a loud conversation outside their rooms at 5 am. I had to wake up and open the door and shout "sshhhhhhhh! ggrrrr".

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit small, avoid corner room, go to Deluxe for long stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeanLouisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

What a great hotel. We stayed here on business for a month and couldn't h ave stayed anywhere better. The management treated us as family, plus upgraded us to a suite instead of our booked room. We will definitely return to Les Suites and will absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting Taipei.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmcmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is my return to Les Suites after 6 years. During this time, I stayed in different hotels in Taipei, but only Les Suites made me feel at Home.
I believe you can read all the pros in other reviews. That's true. I love the atmosphere in this boutique hotel. You can just relax in the library area with coffee / tea and snacks, any time of the day. There are several meeting rooms. I think guests can use it free of charge. There are also a few laptop, PC & iMac in the lobby area.
Room is still comfortable with Sony LCD TV. Wifi is always reliable. Bathroom is so nice that with a warmer on the ceiling. One negative is the mattress which is soft.
There is a new dining hall nearby (named URBAN ONE). There are many restaurants inside. But I love to go Chalet Swiss which is about 10mins walk from Les Suites (near Ikea).
I will definite return to Les Suites in my next trip to Taipei, if keeping the same rate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bird-Bird-Blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in Feb overall were quite happy. Just a couple of issues that kept it from being perfect.

The first being that during our stay, the cable was 'upgraded'. By upgraded, the hotel mean remove nearly all of the english channels leaving us just with just a few basics like BBCNews. When we started our stay we had several English language channels including HBO, SkyMovies, etc. that were particularily enjoyable for anyone with terrible jetlag - some fun programming made the wasted middle of the night awake hours pass quickly. I don't quite understand why the hotel would remove these channels and then call that an upgrade. Clearly it was a downgrade. If you don't watch TV, this won't be an issue for you.

The second issue was that the thermostat in the rooms would reset themselves every few hours without reason. So we'd wake up and be boiling or freezing. It was not difficult to reprogram but got old after a while.

We stayed in a corner suite that was quite large, had a nice sized sitting room and seperate bedroom. We were given a 5th floor room that looked directly out onto the mall across the street so the view was pretty bad but not a big deal. The one major negative there is that the bright lights of the mall sign made it impossible to get it completely dark in the room at night - even with the shades closed.

Breakfast was fine albeit a bit dissapointing considering how great Taiwanese food is. For example, great breakfast pastries are available cheaply at several bakeries nearby but the options at breakfast were stale.

All that said, there were quite a few positives about this hotel. Starting with the service which was friendly, helpful and courteous throughout. The staff at Les Suites are excellent.

The location was is a bit far from the main attractions of Taiwan but cabs are quite cheap. The area near the hotel has plenty of shops and restaurants to keep anyone busy.

Last but not least, the room bathroom was wonderful. A deep soaking tub, seperate shower and toilet with toto washlet attachment. Lovely.

Overall, a good property and I can see why it gets great reviews but a few tiny tweaks would make this place excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StefR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Hotel Eclat Taipei
#14 of 583 in Taipei
869 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 583 in Taipei
1,463 reviews
Regent Taipei
#499 of 583 in Taipei
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#28 of 583 in Taipei
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng

Address: No.12 Ching Cheng Street, Songshan District, Taipei 10547, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei > Songshan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#2 Business Hotel in Taipei
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: ₹ 11,621 - ₹ 17,107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
les suites taipei ching-cheng - Boutique Hotel Taipei offers a contemporary tranquil get-away while centrally located in the heart of Taipei. Walking through the illuminated gateway is like unwrapping a chic gift. The palpable ambience of European sophistication and polished style, along with renowned Asian minimalist pristine strikes any insightful voyager coming through this surprising boutique hotel in Taipei. A suave oasis in the midst of the ultra-hi tech, les suites taipei ching-cheng , assures a savvy, yet relaxing ambience in each of the 84 carefully appointed rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Taipei (Ching Cheng) Hotel Taipei
Les Hotel Taipei Ching Cheng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing