We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a hotel but a bed and breakfast since it has no restaurant or bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Want Residences
Ranked #13 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This is not a hotel but a bed and breakfast since it has no restaurant or bar”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We are very upset at the hotel and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, for listing among its amenities having a restaurant and a bar/lounge, when they don't. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and later on serves as the so called bar/lounge where they only offer 2 fixed mixed drinks, 2 beers, and a couple of wines. Their room service, advertized as a "diverse selection of gourmet dishes" offers 2 salads, 1 soup, and 2 hot dishes, served only till 9 pm...making matters worse, the one cold and rainy night we decided to order room service, the soup was not available.

Rooms are well appointed, with the suite having a comfortable and spacious layout, but the regular room is on the small side. The location is convenient, but at the time of our visit in April of 2012 the street was partly torn up with subway construction that seems to have some ways to go.

Service is very friendly, but the English from most of the employees we encountered, including the front desk, was extremely limited, which makes communication a challenge.

It does have a gym, which I did not visit, but does not offer a spa.

As nice as the rooms are, I would not return nor recommend this "hotel" unless they start operating a real restaurant and bar. From the looks of the city, there are plenty of full service hotels, including the Regent only a few blocks away, where we had dinner at a great Chinese restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for Park view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaMacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public_Relati0ns, 客戶關係經理 at San Want Residences, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Miss MamaMacu,

On behalf of the on-site staff and the management team, it has been a pleasure for us to serve you for your stay in San Want Residences Taipei. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to summarize your experience while staying with us.

We regret to read about the issues that you have encountered during your stay. Your experience has been communicated with the management team and we have taken some steps for improvement. First of all, we have already rearranged our beverage menu, so that our guests have more choices in the lounge bar. Furthermore, we are in the process of increasing our room service menu selection and hopefully we can execute this by the end of April.

Again, thank you for sharing your valuable comments with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to enable us to show you the progress we have made in regards to improving services.

Best regards,

San Want Residences Taipei
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    179
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
179
146
84
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Our group enjoyed our stay at the San Want Residences, Conveniently located, just 10-15min walk to shopping area and the metro, or its easy to get a taxi to go around.
The rooms are spacious and the bathroom has big shower area and a sunken japanese style bathtub. And it has also the Toto smart toilet so everything was automatic. They use L'Occitane products in the bathroom. Room slippers are very soft and comfortable.
Staff is very attentive and friendly. Its basically one of the new hotels so the decor is nice and everything is in good condition. Would especially recommend it for business travelers cause they even have a fax/printer, mobile phone, and stationary stuff for business needs.
One thing we just didnt like, was it was drizzling and they lent us an umbrella, but during our rush we forgot one inside a taxi and we had to pay NT$540 for the umbrella which is like U$20. I think it was too much for an umbrella, but anyway it was our fault that we left it. Maybe next time they should just give out disposable umbrellas for customer use.

Room Tip: we got the studio suite and it was comfortable and spacious enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLDLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I was on a business trip to Taipei and I stayed in this hotel for about a week. It's one of the best hotels I have ever been to, especially the service, comfort, details, good breakfast and location.

Service is the best I have ever had. Staff in hotel is very polite. Say "welcome back" when you get back to the hotel. Open the door for you when you get out of and into the hotel. After checked in, brought me up to the room, and showed me how to use the elevator with the access card, and told me which floor the breakfast area and etc is. Service at the restaurant that serves breakfast is top-notch too. Taking away the used plate and pouring more coffee are all automatic and in a timely fashion. Simply amazing.

In terms of comfort, it's very clean. I had no problem sleeping after a long day of work. I got a room facing the park. The bed is comfortable, and lots of sun light brightening up the room in the morning.

In terms of details, the washroom is very nice. Automatic/electrical toilet that open and closes the lid by itself. The toilet even provides a massage type of cleaning if you hit the button. There's a square-shaped huge hot tub. It's so huge that made me feel like I went to a hot-spring type of tub. The shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, lotion, hand soap are top notch. They provide L'occitane en Provence.

Location wise, it's only 10 minutes away from the Zhong Shan Station, there's plenty of restaurants nearby, and there are big malls right next to the station. At the back, there's a Japanese towns with lots of japanese restaurants and some taiwanese restaurants.

The only bad thing which is minor is I can hear a little bit of noise coming from another room. They were probably playing TV very loud. In addition, some 2nd hand smoke got into my room for like 5 minutes, but that's only 5 minutes out of my whole 1 week stay.

Highly recommend, and I would definitely come back for the next business travel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bngsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

At the sleeping time, we found that there always some loud noise from other hotel rooms. We had changed room once but the situation was the same and we had told the housekeeping about that. But they could not find out the source of the noise. Later, we found that when we closed the glass door of the shower area, it would make loud noise and some vibration to the structures. Besides, the wooden door of the room also could make loud noise.

We could not sleep well during those days.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank small c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I like this hotel very much. The people who work at the hotel are very polite. We often hear stuff like "good morning", "good evening", "welcome back", "have a nice day", "see you soon"... The workers there were all very nice and kind. They opened doors for us, and once when we did not know where our lift card was, they borrowed their lift card for us!

There are many free things there for you. For example: fruit, biscuits, drinks... you can ask for as many as you like!

The hotel is very clean and neat. There were no rubbish anywhere, and the rooms were organized neatly when we came in.

I really like this hotel!

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a familiy, I advise you not to choose a king size bed that your whole famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chi Ching C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#8 of 571 in Taipei
1,351 reviews
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent Taipei
#21 of 571 in Taipei
1,877 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#23 of 571 in Taipei
1,535 reviews
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
#39 of 571 in Taipei
3,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Want Residences? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Want Residences

Property: San Want Residences
Address: No.128 Section 1, Nanjing East Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taipei
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#13 Business Hotel in Taipei
#19 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,989 - ₹ 45,999
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Want Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About San Want Residences TaipeiSan Want Residences Taipei formally opened its doors for business in March 2008 and aims to exceed guest satisfaction and achieve the attentiveness found in leading luxury hotels. San Want Residences Taipei is a sophisticated bolt-hole in the centre of Taipei, a tranquil alternative to staying in a bustling city hotel. Located in Taipei Nanjing East Road, and adjacent to the LinSen Park, the hotel is surrounded with international designers’ boutiques and offers easy accessibility to MRT station. San Want Residences Taipei is the latest boutique property carefully selected to join Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH). The hotel has an impressive collection of artworks and sculptures by contemporary Taiwanese artists, adding a special element to your experience. In addition to the museum boutique concept, the hotel also offers office use facilities especially for our business travelers. Equipped with selected office stationeries, the spacious office desk features multifunction HP laser jet machine to fax, print and copy. With an access to project laptop screens to the 37” High-Definition LCD television, each guestroom offers wireless and high-speed fiber optic Internet Access and free cell phone rental to fully support your business requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your San Want Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Want Residences Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing