We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
477
268
57
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
268
57
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool stone and wood boutique hotel caffe concerto nice pool shops and restaurants modern amenities breakfast buffet is travel desk the main road lovely hotel nepal trip the ground floor welcome drink pleasant stay poon hill day trek
Filter
Updating list...
690 - 695 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were fortunate enough to spend a night at Temple Tree after a few days in the mountains. It was such a treat to come back to such a beautiful, serene place. I hadn't expected to find a property like this in Nepal as everywhere else we stayed was far more basic. The design and attention to detail is great. It's clearly a new-build but they have incorporated the style of old Newari (I think) designs which is lovely. The room was beautifully decorated and furnished and there was free wifi which is always welcome. Having a pool was just wonderful. We had the pool to ourselves for the most part and it was glorious to be able to swim and get away from the usual Nepali noise & grime. I'm suprised by the review saying that the hotel's away from the shops/restaurants of Lakeside. It's about a 100m walk if that. It would literally take you a minute to get to the waterfront!! We only had breakfast at the hotel as it was included. We did look at the menu in the evening but were put off by the fact no-one else was there and also the food is pretty over-priced (though not unexpected for a hotel like this). We prefer more local-style eateries so we ate at Thakali Kitchen down the next lane, which was fabulous and cheap. Breakfast at Temple Tree was great though. Plenty of choice and the waiter was very attentive. I would highly recommend it - particularly after some hard trekking. It's a fabulous place to relax and unwind. Staying here felt like a real treat!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anokhi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We went to Pokhara for a weekend and Temple Tree, a new property offered a great relaxing retreat. Walking distance from the lake, the resort has well furnished rooms, swimming pool and upcoming spa. Thought the massage is available in the rooms and was rejuvinating after a days treck.....The service is great and food is good ...the cottage based setting takes the cake. Though the property does not have a great view, it is quiet and nice.

Room Tip: My personal preference is rooms on ground floor, where you have the liberty of walking in to the garden. The balconies in the rooms is small and can barely adjust 2 people sitting..
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikmal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We booked at Temple Tree for the first 4 days of September since it is one of the few nice establishments near the Lakeside main road (approximately 100 meters away). We knew they had just finished building it and we hoped everything was up and running. This turned to be the case so we had a very good time. We found the hotel very cozy and warm, with its soft earthy colors and stone niches. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the big central tree: early mornings we could sit there and see the peaks of the Annapurna in between the foliage, coming in and out the thick fogs of the monsoon. The rooms are not very big but are well appointed with Air con, satellite Tv and with very comfortable and new beddings. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, towels were soft and white but amenities were not impressive, regular soap and shampoos instead of some nice natural type of soap. Mineral water was complimentary and Wi Fi was free too, though connection is not always good. We were told server problems are chronic in Nepal. We tried room service and were not very impressed (goofy waiter…) but we enjoyed the bar area near the pool and especially the Tree House Restaurant on the first floor. The staff there are truly friendly and made everything they could to make us feel comfortable. They recommended us some other good restaurant too, like Caffe Concerto which is the nearby Italian Specialty Restaurant offering a whole array of yummy pastas and the Korean specialty one, enjoyed the spicy soups.

They also arranged a couple of sightseeing at affordable price - competitive with the nearby travel agencies – in their comfy air-conditioned mini bus and they throw us a free airport drop as a goodbye. All in all I would recommend it to people who looks for a cozy, medium sized hotel with a unique décor and homely atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try to get a north facing room
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Igor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We booked a 3 night stay for end-April 2011. The location is within walking distance of the lake, along a dirt path, which we would not recommend walking alone late at night. The Temple Tree was built on a small plot of land and this shows because everything was very cramped. The rooms and washrooms are ridiculously small, the latter in particularly poorly lit. It was done with plenty of design factors in mind but the execution was poor.

We were put on a 1st floor room right outside the pool. At 8am in the morning we were woken by the sound of labourers working away (hammers, chisels, lots of talking) and the sound of kids screaming in the pool. The distance between the balcony and the pool is so close I could have literally jumped into it. I opened the curtain to see what the noise was all about and 3 workers who were taking a cigarette break turned to look right back at me; luckily I was dressed!

After that we were just fed up with the whole experience and decided to find somewhere else because we could not imagine 2 more nights here. We contacted reception who said no problem, we can check out early. On this basis we made arrangements to move to the Shangri-La. However, at check-out we were told by the desk manager to pay for all 3 nights (at USD150 a night). After a bit of haggle and the realisation that the hotel did not have any of our credit card info or a deposit, we paid for the one night and left. We suggest that anyone still considering Temple Tree not to leave any credit card details in case they want to leave early!

On the plus side things are quite new and the decor is very different compared to other, more "corporate" hotels. The staff were on the whole genuinely friendly people, with the exception of the concierge (who basically saw only dollar signs and was very rude when he figured out that we knew better).

We initially thought that this hotel was associated with the hotel chain of the same name from Thailand but were told on check-in that this was not the case - they are completely unrelated.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the pool, even though it is closer. The noise is a serious problem.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank cmcmcm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

After trekking around Pokhara to find a hotel to stay at, this was just a breath of fresh air. First off, yes it's insanely overpriced for Nepal but when you are tired, want a very clean room and modern amenities it's worth every penny. The front desk did seem a bit disorganized since everything had to be approved by hotel management located in another city, but we were able to negotiate a walk in last minute rate as well as a fantastic sunrise viewing at Sarankot.

This hotel was brand new when we were staying and they were still working on building the extra rooms. The construction didn't bother us and was done during the appropriate hours when it wouldn't disturb guests slumber. The rooms are very clean and the bed quite hard but still managed a good nights sleep. The bathroom was SO nice to have a new bathroom with a tub that I could actually feel comfortable taking a bath in. There are little touches which for n.american standards weren't finished properly or poorly/quickly finished but most people would never be able to pick them out. The room had a cute mini sitting area outside which was great to watch the rain storm with some sangria :)

The highlight for us was the bar! Some of our favorite nights with some of our friends was cozzly snuggled at the bar to hide from the rain drinking amazing sangria. The staff was incredibly friendly and were so attentive to the drinks or food we ordered. You can tell it's a new hotel because the staff was still working out the kinks behind the bar as well as offering 'pitcher' of drinks but then not having an actual pitcher so having to pay for single drinks was a bit of a pain. However, the smiles and friendliness of the staff made up for the lack of organization, etc of opening a new hotel.

All in all we would recommend this hotel to anyone, eventhough it's a bit pricey for the area. You can walk into town, to the lake, to local restaurants and shops in easily 5-10min. Don't miss the restaurant MoonDance. Their menu is unbelievably large and once we found it we didn't go anywhere else! I think we were able to eat 4-5 different cuisines within our 3 day stay :) Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RisoStudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews