We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil place in the heart of KTM”
Review of Hotel Ganesh Himal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Ranked #20 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ganesh Himal. The rooms were average but on our second stay we were placed on the 6th floor rooms which I found to be better and brighter. The rooftop terrace is also right at your door. The upside of the walk up the 6 storeys is that it gets you conditioned (somewhat) for the trekking ahead. The food on offer in the downstairs staurant is really good and cheap. The service is slow but friendly and nothing beats a hearty bowl of Ganesh oats and milk tea for brekky. I'd suggest a meal in the outside garden as it is truly a peaceful place to relax away from the chaos of the Kathmandu streets.

I look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmyjamesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 361 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

We spent more than 7 nights here and enjoyed are stay. The rooms are a little outdated and the bathroom was as small as a 19 Century Russian jail, but both were spotlessly clean. We felt the hotel was slightly over priced as we have stayed in better hotels around India and Nepal for half the price, however free airport pickup, free wifi in rooms and free water bottle refills made the price more justifiable. The staff were lovely and friendly, especially the maids. The resturant downstairs was good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Orwellwasright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I spent a total of seven nights, dispersed over three individual stays, at Hotel Ganesh Himal and found the rooms to be comfortable and clean.

The staff were initially formal, however I found them to be warm after a number of interactions.

The hotel itself is located in Chetrapati, which is just outside of Thamel (approximately 5 minutes walk to the 'tourist hustle and bustle'). I found this to be convenient, as it provided an opportunity to see some of the neighbourhood, as well as sample local cuisine which is available on the street.

I found each of the three rooms I bedded in to be large, and upon requesting a large bed was provided with one on each occasion. Despite having no shower curtain - seemingly the Nepalese way, whereby the shower simply 'empties' into the bathroom (picture attached)- the bathroom was relatively clean, although there was some mildew.

For the price I would suggest it to be good accommodation, particularly suited to solo travellers or couples on a budget (who don't mind a bit of dirt - it is Nepal, after all).

Be prepared for power cuts (load sharing) throughout the evening, which can lead to fans cutting out and you subsequently waking to find yourself sweating profusely, however this is part of budget accommodation in Kathmandu, and generators do eventually kick in to provide supplementary power.

Similarly, being in a slightly more residential area, there are some stray dogs, meaning often loud exchanges in the evenings.

The hotel has a courtyard/garden, which is quite pleasant to relax in, as well as a rooftop terrace with excellent views of the Kathmandu area at sunrise (picture attached).

All in all, definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WorldTravellerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

From the beginning of our stay until we left the hotel still they will greet you "Namaste" i guess thats way the staff of the hotel accustom to the guest..i like most of this hotel was the staff, atmosphere, good breakfast and easy access to everything you like to found out in Kathmandu.

we'll definitely come back to this place and stay...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabanoandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had a total of 6 nights at the Ganesh Himal hotel recently and it was a very pleasant experience indeed. The staff are very friendly and pleasant, the food is good and reasonably priced (try the trekkers breakfast!) with ample portions. Meals can be served in the garden if need be. Local papers are provided and the free airport pick up, complimentary drinking water and free internet access were all very much appreciated. Rooms are big enough, clean and serviceable. Rates are reasonable and the hotel is conveniently situated. I can't think of any downsides.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,293 reviews
6.1 km away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
493 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 209 in Kathmandu
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Hotel Encounter Nepal
#30 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,030 reviews
0.6 km away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 209 in Kathmandu
840 reviews
0.6 km away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#27 of 209 in Kathmandu
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganesh Himal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganesh Himal

Address: PO Box 12547 | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: ₹ 1,595 - ₹ 2,297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ganesh Himal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back and relax in one of the hotel's 11 guestrooms, all designed with guests' comfort in mind. Every room in the hotel offers guests television, hair dryer, internet access – LAN (complimentary), in house movies. This excellent hotel in Kathmandu also has 24hr room service, restaurant, bar/pub. Guests may make use of the hotel's excellent recreational and leisure facilities including garden. Offering guests quality accommodation since 2009, this hotel combines first-class service and the most modern facilities. To make your reservation at Hotel Backpackers Kathmandu, just enter your travel dates on our secure online booking form and submit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ganesh Himal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganesh Himal Hotel
Ganesh Himal Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing