We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Encounter Nepal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #23 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Walking distance from the main shopping area. Very friendly and helpful staff although food was a bit expensive according to the general rates in the area. There are many good restaurants very close to the hotel. We had booked a suite but there wasnt much difference other than a balcony between the suite and a deluxe rooms. Room was clean and hot water was available. There is a travel desk inside the hotel and package tours are provided. There is also a very beautiful garden restaurant in the hotel. Our stay was comfortable and we will recommend this place.

Room Tip: No elevator available - choose a room in the new complex (not attached to the reception)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anand_Tvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    231
    68
    28
    26
See reviews for
96
207
220
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Very good location in thamel, just a bit outside the busy part of it. Rooms are very clean, hotel is quite new with a nice living space outside. We came back many times in kathmandu and it s great to find a nice place straight away, save you some time for sure !!! Our 2yo daughter had a lot of fun with everybody in there.They really like kids. She was a bit the mascot over there.
The only negative part i have to say about it, is the restaurant. Nothing wrong at all, it s pretty good, nice service but quite expensive compare to local ones. It s probably normal tourist prices ...A Good place to stay, i highly recommend it

Room Tip: Avoid th street.Some rooms are well insolated some less...So to avoid any inconvinience choose one i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guillaume g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vapi
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

If it is explained in 1 word that wil b simply MARVELLOUS.Awesome d stay d food d hospitality everything special thanks to MR.PRAMOD. who made it feel like home.....d man behind dis wonderful hotel.His personal care to every individual n speacially ME n MY BEHALF was really wonderful.He made us feel lik king and queen......GOOD JOB MR.PRAMOD.........C U THERE REALLY SOON AGAIN...........!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shashank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
163 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I was initially given a dreadful room, really old, holes in the wall, sink that drained onto the bathroom floor, only one socket (being used by the tv which was plugged in using wires with no plug), no working phone in the room, no wifi. It really was awful.

After numerous complaints, and eventually speaking to Mr. Pramod, I was offered a discount or room change. I took the room change, as the new room was perfectly fine, with everything working. If I'd been given it on arrival I would have given a score of 5. If I hadn't been offered a different room I would have left and given a score of 1.

Basically, it seems to me that this hotel will happily put you in the dud rooms unless you're willing to complain enough.

Room Tip: Insist on one of the newer rooms and if you're given a bad one complain until they sort it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed with the Encounter Hotel either side
great place!The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the owner very helpful.
Nepalis & continental American breakfast

Room Tip: "Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank shirinDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.6 km away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#15 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#8 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#6 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.6 km away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#22 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Property: Hotel Encounter Nepal
Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,833 - ₹ 4,451
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing