We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home in Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nirvana Garden Hotel
Ranked #112 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Cambridge
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A home away from home in Kathmandu”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I feel compelled to write a review of this excellent hotel in Kathmandu after the outstanding service that I have received there on a number of occasions over the last two years.

The hotel is everything that you would expect from a good hotel anywhere in the world (clean, friendly, safe and accommodating), but more than this, the staff at the hotel, from the door man and cleaners to the reception staff go out of their way to make you feel extremely comfortable and welcomed throughout your stay. They offer free airport transfer upon arrival, will be able to answer any questions you might have as a tourist, and will don anything they can to help make your stay as easy as possible (even offering to post a letter home to save me having to go to the post office!), and as memorable as it should be.

Highly recommended.

Dr Hawkes, University of Cambridge

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard garden - you might even get one with a sunny balcony, a perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    86
    46
    16
    11
See reviews for
18
58
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Dont normaly write reviews but this hotel and staff deserve it.
We stayed in the Hotel before and after going Treking to Mera Peak. We had 3 guys and 2 women. We did mention on a couple of occasions that we would stay in the hotel again if we are lucky enought to return to Nepal. I dont as a rule pay much attention to hotels I stay in put Nirvana Gardens added to out experience.

Due to problems with flights in land we had to extend out stay with the hotel by two nights which was no problem. We stayed over a week at both ends of the holliday.
This Hotel is all about location and the staff.

Kathmandu is very busy and in your face. The Hotel is down a quiet little street in the middle of the hikers area / shops etc in easy reach of the important tourists bits. What makes it special is that it is different to the madness of the city, with a garden that we found ourselves enjoying sitting in and particularly when we returned from the mountains eating and eating in !
I could not say enough about the food. While we had to wait for our order at times this lent to the pace of Nepal. The food was always well worth waiting for and the value was certainly noticeable. While we did want to eat out and enjoy the local food we were happy to eat in on a number of occasions for food. It was not like eating in an hotel. I can still taste the breakfasts!
The food and location, for the price make it very accessable for normal budgets and a great memory.

The best thing about the hotel is the staff. Throughout the hotel they could not do enough and went about their business in a very relaxed way. Thanks to everyone involved.

Pat, Ireland.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building before treking and when we returned we stayed in rear building over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

staff is very helpful and pays attention to details,
the garden is worth hanging out in, during the evenings - as an alternative to going out in the bustling night-life of kathmandu's beautiful old town,
not for travellers looking for latest trendy decor... but rather for nostalgics...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msballen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had booked into 2 deluxe rooms in the new wing as the hotel said they were better than the standard rooms, but we were somewhat disappointed. The carpet was grubby, bathrooms basic and needing updating, and a huge water stain on the ceiling didn't help the overall downbeat impression. But we were warm, as there were plenty blankets on the bed, and at end feb. it gets cold in Kathmandu. The power was off most of the time we were there, and I actually got up at 1am to shower then as I couldn't sleep and noticed that the power was actually on, which meant hot water! Despite its being situated down a quiet backlane, there is still a fair amount of noise - from the building of the school next door during the day, and the ever-present dogs during the night. I chose this hotel given its quiet location and nice looking garden, but I think you might need to bring earplugs along with your headtorch. We were given a packed breakfast to take with us the next day for our journey to Pokhara, which was good - 2 hard boiled eggs, bread & jam and a croissant. Overall impression - ok but could be a lot better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My family always stays at Nirvana Garden when we are in Kathmandu. The location and rooms are great, but it's the staff that makes the difference. BJ, for example, helped us go to Bodinath--he knew exactly how long it would take to go and return in the morning, exactly how much the taxi fare was, etc., and he helped us with a late checkout and storing our luggage and valuables. His English is perfect and he has a great manner--professional but easygoing. The other staff members are great as well. Take your time to talk to them!

--Mary from Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 km away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#94 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 km away
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Mandala Boutique Hotel
#56 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 km away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
#114 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#9 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.5 km away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#36 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Garden Hotel

Property: Nirvana Garden Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 5728 | Thamel, Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,879 - ₹ 3,175
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirvana Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Garden-Hotel is located in a tranquil oasis right in the heart of Thamel: Kathmandu's hub of touristic area, within walking distance of the Royal Palace Museum, the shopping and business district and areas of touristic interest. One step away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel, guests can enjoy the serene comfort of an expansive and lush landscaped garden replete with a rocky waterfall and a profusion of flowers, trees and birds. The hotel is unique, starting from its prime location, a spacious parking area, the ambiance and decor of the lobby and rooms to the Nepalese architecture of the hotel structure. The service is friendly but efficient and polite but personal, catering to all the needs of a discerning guest. The hotel aims to provide international standard accommodation and service with a touch of warm Nepalese hospitality at very affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Nirvana Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Garden Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing