We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kantipur Temple House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
US$ 138
US$ 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 179
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 211
US$ 182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gokarna Forest Resort(Kathmandu)
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
US$ 129
US$ 110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
US$ 365
US$ 354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 39
US$ 37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 28
US$ 25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 62
US$ 60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveller rating
516
265
57
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
265
57
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot water bottleselectric blanketseco friendlyorganic foodnewari architecturetraditional stylemorning yogainner courtyarddeluxe rooman oasisbeautiful hotelthe hustle and bustlewood carvingsno air conditioningdurbar squareeco hotelbusy kathmandu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 872 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Staying at one of the most authentic Nepalese hotels in Kathmandu was a shear delight. As owner and operator, Mr. Bharat Basnet's dedication to keeping all things Nepalese was gratifying and very obvious. As an " Eco " hotel he's proven caring for the environment and our planet does not mean second rate accommodations. Located close to the market area made for easy street walking followed by a relaxing break in the beautifully maintained garden and courtyard.

Room Tip: Many rooms catering to different travellers.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Beautiful architecture , Lovely peaceful garden to sit and relax after the mayhem of Thamel. 5 minute walk to Thamel. The room i was in was light and comfortable. Hot water plenty and quiet to sleep. The extra touch of hotwater bottle each night to warm bed was much appreciated. The staff went out of their way to assist. Food was amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay which was 9 days. Eco friendly accommodation. Highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Sharyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subechhya, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Sharyn,

Thank you for staying so long with us and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and was happy with our team's service and our gastronomie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Spent a week staying at Kantipur Temple House, decorations and interior are full of precious craftsmanship, the courtyard is breathe taking! Staffs are very friendly, I miss them, Suman, the waiters at the restaurant, pretty receptionist, house keeping uncle, they make your stay warm and sweet! They offer a friendly vibe in a historic building, it feels like home to me!

I even helped the receptionist to do translation a bit as many Chinese couldn't understand English, but receptionist was so willing to help and try her best to assist them. Such a professional!

Room Tip: rooms facing courtyard
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wayne_Lo0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subechhya, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Guest,

We here at Kantipur are so happy to get your review. We are happy that you like our interior traditional ambience but most importantly w are happy to hear that our team was so helpful to you and you miss them. I have conveyed them your appreciation. We hope to see you again soon.
and thank you for helping out on the translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

As an eco hotel, it really doesn’t have many fancy facilities. But the whole building is stunning and the staff are helpful!
It is just a few-minute walk away from the busy Thamel Marg but is quiet. We got a room facing the atrium and could hardly hear any noise.
An electric heat mattress, warm water bags and a thick blanket were provided. By the time we checked in, the mattress had already been turned on and the warm bed was ready.
The morning yoga session was a big plus. We did it indoor in a chilly morning. I can image how much nicer it would be if done in the garden during warm seasons.
The male front desk officer on the night shift was helpful and nice.
My only complain was the occasional little smell from the toilet....a smell that you may often come across in many buildings in Kathmandu....

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Chung L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subechhya, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for enjoying your stay with us and appreciating our quiet and traditional ambience. We are happy to hear that you found our team helpful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

A beautiful period building with a fantastic garden, nice staff and great food/coffee each morning Central location but still quiet in the hotel.Will be even better when they open a roof top bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: they all seem nice
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddyflynn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subechhya B, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for enjoying your stay with us and appreciating our quiet ambience with traditional architecture and nice garden, our team's service and our gastronome. and Yes we will definitely open the rooftop in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews