We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kantipur Temple House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
US$ 129
US$ 110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 211
US$ 182
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 59
US$ 51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tibet(Kathmandu)
US$ 90
US$ 72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
US$ 365
US$ 354
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 39
US$ 37
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kathmandu Home Hotel(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$ 35
US$ 24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 46
US$ 36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Shambala(Kathmandu)
US$ 95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveller rating
516
264
57
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
264
57
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot water bottleselectric blanketseco friendlyorganic foodnewari architecturetraditional stylemorning yogainner courtyarddeluxe rooman oasisbeautiful hotelthe hustle and bustlewood carvingsno air conditioningdurbar squareeco hotelbusy kathmandu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 871 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This hotel was a great find --- two minutes from the Thamel district, a peaceful and serene oasis in the midst of chaos. Lots of dark carved wood and Nawari decor; the only (slight) downside is that all the dark wood makes the rooms feel a bit dark. Hotel staff were very kind and helpful, and restaurant offerings were excellent. The hotel goes out of its way to be "green" so there are great little details, such as unlimited free filtered water (take a water bottle with you). I was with friends who were staying elsewhere and when they saw the Kantipur Temple they changed hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with as much light as possible
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwarrenlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I’m staying at Kantipur Temple House right now and I’m really enjoying it. The hotel is very peaceful and the staff is nice. The location of the hotel is also nice, its close to Thamel, without being in the centre of the busy streets, and also close to the old town.

The price is very fair and you get your moneys worth. The hotel restaurant is good and they serve a variety of food, including traditional Nepalese food.

I have read reviews on some sites that say that there isn’t any free Wi-Fi here but they have that now. Not in the rooms but in the lobby and in the beautiful garden.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MathiasHatakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

A walled outdoor garden, courtyards, unique architecture, wonderful rooms-though wholly surrounded by busy Kathmandu, the hotel is an island of calm. The staff are extremely helpful, the food at the restaurant is delightful and quite inexpensive. All and all, this is a splendid retreat and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Got more than expected after reading review at TA. Clean and calm place, good staff, big room, very nice courtyard. Not a fan of their restaurant - a bit expensive; go for Yak restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krvss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

A lovely hotel that is situated in a quiet back street away from the noise and fumes of Thamel. The staff are helpful, the restaurant food is lovely, there is a lovely garden and the location is great.

We stayed one night in a standard room and then four nights in a deluxe room due to a delxue room not being available on our first night. Interestingly we found there is a huge difference in the size and quality of the two types of rooms.

We were dissapointed with the standard room as it was very small with a very small bathroom and shower - if our budget only stretched to a standard room we would look at other hotels as don't think the standard room is good value for money. We found the deluxe room to be significantly better and believe it does represent good value for money.

Would have liked to see air conditioning in the rooms, as in every other hotel we stayed at in Nepal as it was hot at times and a fan didn't cool the room enough.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews