We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Tibetian experience”
Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #38 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Authentic Tibetian experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have been to Tibet and am impressed with how well Hotel Tibet evokes that atmosphere of Tibet. The staff were very helpful, there was always hot water, and I particularly enjoyed meeting and talking with the manager, Tsering. This hotel is in a quiet location near embassies.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillSeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    155
    57
    9
    4
See reviews for
38
94
83
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed in the Tibet Hotel a couple of years ago. A few days to start with and then a week at the end of my expedition to Tibet.
I found the Tibet Hotel comfortable, restful and welcoming staff. The bedroom was tidy, clean and I had a good nights rest - every night and plenty of hot water for showers. The laundry service was excellent , the food good. The service from the Staff was friendly and helpful.
I had a balcony room which |I recommend. I will stay there again.
Allen B.
London

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony so you can rest there with a cup of tea brought up to you on Room Service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allen123-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I've made 13 visits to Nepal and each time I've stayed at the Hotel Tibet. It is my home away from home.

I cannot say enough good things about the Hotel, but I'll start with the staff. You are treated like family from the first day and they make efforts above and beyond to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.

I've never understood why people pay upwards of $100 to stay at the Radisson next door. If you're looking for a place that is affordable and cultivates a unique atmosphere (not like the Radisson), then you will love the Hotel Tibet.

The food at the Hotel is top rate. They just updated the menu last year, improving an already excellent range of choices, including many Tibetan dishes, their specialty. The garden bar is a beautiful place to relax with drinks and friends.

The rooms are unfailingly comfortable and tidy with all the amenities you need for comfortable stay.

All these other places referring to the Hotel Tibet as a "little gem" are exactly correct. Do yourself a favor... get off the beaten track, away from the chain hotels, and enjoy some true Nepalese hospitality at the Hotel Tibet.

Room Tip: If you need extra quiet for sleep, ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. Otherwise, all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Tucked away, close to the Radisson, this conveniently sited hotel is only 10 minutes from Thamel but offers a quiet oasis of calm away from the hustle-bustle of this vibrant city.
Staff are great and very obliging, food good (try their Tempura Prawns), and rooms are good value and comfortable. Photos of old Tibet adorn the walls and the whole hotel has a Tibetan theme, nicely executed.
I've stayed there three times now and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Some at the front have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had a gorgeous night in this hotel, and a meal at the restaurant outside on a balmy evening.

Because it's off the main road it was quiet and peaceful. The interior design and decoration was authentic and distinctive and really gives you a sense of the exotic culture and style of the Tibetan people.

Room was small but comfortable, and the water was hot, always a bonus!

Service great too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.8 km away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#21 of 198 in Kathmandu
602 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Manaslu
Hotel Manaslu
#108 of 198 in Kathmandu
251 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
#81 of 198 in Kathmandu
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,156 reviews
0.0 km away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#61 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,048 reviews
1.2 km away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Property: Hotel Tibet
Address: Lazimpat Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,553 - ₹ 5,233
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing