We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Location not far from the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Manaslu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Manaslu
Ranked #113 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Very friendly staff and the accommodation is clean and tidy. Breakfast has improved greatly since we were there last time.

The pool was a welcome relief after the dusty warm streets, last time, but it needs to be heated in late autumn - otherwise it is pointless having it. It was way too cold despite us being from a cooler climate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tassietent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumeet G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Namaste
Greetings from Hotel Manaslu
Thank you for you reviewing our property using your valuable time. We are constantly in improving process and we are also varying different dishes in breakfast so long staying guest dosen't feel bored having same breakfast.
As we do not have heating facility in our outdoor pool and we will disuss this issue with management team for heating process of pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel is nice and the room is clean. Wifi in the room is a hit or miss but mostly miss. The wifi in the lobby works better but when everyone in the hotel is connected to it, it’s very slow. The room is a nice comfortable size. The shower is so small, however. They have nice selection for breakfast. The staff are all nice and accommodating. You may hear the chicken crowing at 4:30 am. Get a room facing the garden. They have swimming pool but didn’t see anyone using it. It is close to Thamel and there is also shopping close by.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Willy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumeet G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Namaste
Greetings from Hotel Manaslu and thank you for taking your valuable tome for reviewing our Property,
The shower room is garden side facing room are smaller than non garden side, As we have rooster and wild chicken in our property so they makes noises in the morning and we are in process of shifting them to different Location. As this is a winter season and swimming pool has not heating facility so this time in year please do not use swimming pol but enjoy to sit next to it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Manaslu is a nice hotel to stay when you are visiting Kathmandu. Staff is very helpful and professional. Food is tasty and you have wide verity of choice. Hotel has small garden and even smaller swimming pool. Hotel is located in quite part of the city far from noise and dust. You at like 10 -15 min walk from Thamel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Krzysztof N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumeet G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Namaste
Greetings from Hotel Manaslu
Thank you for such a wonderful Review. we are very pleased to know you know you liked our property and swimming poll .We hope to serve you in coming days as well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We had a payed booking from spain and when we arrived they sent us to a different hotel than in theory was same quality just for 1 night. After 25hrs traveling we were sent to a smelly hotel, with brown water coming from the tap and dirty sheets (we even found pants inside the bed) when we tried to claim in the actual hotel the literally laughed in our face and invited us to a bottle of water (they put it for free in the room) and a buffet dinner that they already had cooked for a group... the hotel is ok (dont clean the room though))

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumeet G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Namaste
We are extremly sorry about the experience you had during your satay

As we are very sorry that for 1st Night we had to shift you to different hotel because of some unavoidable circumstances.

For the cleaning of the room we are not using master key and we always inform this during check in time . So keys must be dropped at reception while going our so our house keeping staff can clean the room.

As we have to shifted you do different hotel we offer free dinner as per apology from hotel side and we usually have buffet dinner in October and November ,

We are sorry that our service team didn't inform you that you could have order from menu if you don't like the Buffet.

We once again apologize from our side for shifting the room for 1st Night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

I stayed here twice for two nights each time, pre and post trekking. My rooms were spacious, clean and reasonably equipped on both occasions. The food is of average quality. At breakfast the dining room was very busy, with some of the wide range of buffet items running out at times. Coffee is instant granules. The WiFi quality is variable, but mostly slow when I was there. Service was mostly good, the exceptions being slow retrieval of the suitcase left at the hotel while away trekking.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumeet G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Namaste
Greetings from Hotel Manaslu
Thank you for your valuable response about our property.

As because of peak tourist season, the wifi in the rooms get slow but we have a better free wifi in lobby and bar area.

And for the slow service for retrival of Suitcase , This time in the year our store room as are fully packed with luggage's so it takes some time to identify the suitcase .

We will suerly improve our wifi and storage area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Tibet
Hotel Tibet
#40 of 210 in Kathmandu
489 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Heranya
Hotel Heranya
#73 of 210 in Kathmandu
104 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#41 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#103 of 210 in Kathmandu
55 reviews
7.1 km away
Park Village Hotel & Resort
Park Village Hotel & Resort
#80 of 210 in Kathmandu
199 reviews
0.1 km away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#64 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manaslu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manaslu

Address: 230 Hotel Marg | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: ₹ 4,861 - ₹ 6,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Manaslu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1972, Hotel Manaslu has kept the proud heritage of Nepal alive throughout its operating years of inimitable service and warm hospitality. Taking pride in the renowned craftsmanship of Nepali artisans, splendid examples of their craft, including many ancient pieces that have been carefully restored, have been incorporated in its architecture. For an intimate experience of Nepal's art and culture, welcome to Hotel Manaslu, a heritage hotel in the truest sense of the word. We could not be more conveniently located-near the old royal palace, close to many important embassies, and at the center of commercial activities, just 10 minute walking distance from the the popular tourist district of Thamel. Although located at such a busy hub, you will find peace and serenity amidst the harmonious surroundings of Hotel Manaslu, your best accommodation in Kathmandu. "At Manaslu, we combine splendor with Nepalese Hospitality. A model of elegance and services with all the comforts of home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Manaslu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manaslu Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing