We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest, most comfortable hotel in Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #33 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Kathmandu Guest house staff are super friendly and helpful. The rooms and extensive buffet breakfast are wonderful. Better still, the peaceful garden surroundings offer a great respite from the busy Thamel streets nearby where everything you could possibly need to prepare for a trek is easily available. This place is wonderful with rooms available for every class of traveller - no need to even consider staying elsewhere! I have stayed here as a solo woman trekker and as a trek-group leader. Trekkers have all agreed that the amazingly helpful staff and peaceful surroundings make this the ideal choice for Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank shauna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shagunis, Owner at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Namaste and warm greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience at KGH.Your love for KGH and words of appreciation has highly bolstered the morale of the staff we are extremely delighted that we exceeded your expectation in terms of service delivery and we cater to every class of travelers and KGH has been a perfect rendezvous for travelers,honeymooners and writers for many years and it was our great pleasure to have you stay with us every time.
Our meticulously hand manicured garden offers great respite for trekkers and other guests,our location and the garden are things to die for.
Thank you once again for patronizing KGH.
We look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Regards
KGH Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 461 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2015

I stayed at the Kathmandu Guest House in October and November 2015, both before and after my trek to the Everest base camp. It was my first time to Kathmandu and found Thamel overwhelming at first. But KGH played a huge role in getting me settled. It has an excellent location, close to many good restaurants, a bakery, bookshops and supermarkets. Once you enter its gate, it's a different world altogether. Quiet, tranquil, well maintained garden. The rooms are clean, the staff helpful and friendly. It was a relief to be back at KGH after the strenuous base camp trek. I would definitely stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending KGH. A special thanks goes to the Senior Front Office Manager, Nabin Shrestha, who was very helpful. And also to the gentleman at the tour desk. All the staff at the reception were excellent, too.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

Not cheap by traveller standards. Get you guide to book or you will pay tourist price which is double. No backpacker accom here since earthquake.
Check you room before you unpack. First room had no phone working. Second room had no lights in bathroom. Final got a room on groudfloor. Others were on 3 with no lift.
Still expect power cuts by generator cuts in. However when gen on no heating.....

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank F3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

The staff and service was outstanding, the rooms were great for the price I paid and it included a super breakfast! The location is the best! The office manager Nabin Strestha truly cares that his guests enjoy their stay. I stayed there 5 days prior to my trek, and another 5 days after the trek, and will go back! There are luxury rooms as well as budget room available.

Room Tip: management will let you view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BobbieS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

Kathmandu guest house has a great location at the heart of Thamel. Darbarmarg is just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Amenities are moderate, not bad for the rent I had paid. There are a number of restaurants around. Although surroundig areas festure nightlife, the hotel itself appeared family friendly.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
Thank Suman Nazmul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 km away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#7 of 210 in Kathmandu
755 reviews
0 km away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
0.6 km away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 210 in Kathmandu
602 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 210 in Kathmandu
359 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: no. 16 KGH Square, Ward, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: ₹ 2,551 - ₹ 5,421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing