We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for foreigners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed here when I was 18 years old and traveling around Nepal and I was very happy with staying in the Thamel District's Kathmandu Guesthouse. I highly recommend it to foreigners. The food is too expensive, go elsewhere to eat, but it is a nice place to regain your grounds and sit back to process all the beautiful things Nepal has to offer!

Room Tip: Eat elsewhere, the restaurant is too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,053 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

we are so glad that I chose to stay at kathmandu Guesthouse while visiting KTM. its is far enough away to be quiet and less stressful. The rooms are clean and our bed was very comfortable. Rooms are private and face towards an inner courtyard Although we only stayed one night, we really enjoyed our time. We arrived late evening and the owner wasn't able to pick us up at the airport everthing was ok but room was expensive..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moka j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in the garden view rooms around the back. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable with excellent hot water. Plently of blankets provided for cold evenings in winter. Note that Kathmandu has approximately 13 hours of scheduled power outages a day (different times each day) so when this kicks in the hotel goes onto generator which will only offer lighting to the rooms, not for the heaters or TV.

I found the way the hotel is run to be very well organised and efficient with regard to things like storing luggage, laundry, paying bills etc. (especially having just come form a couple of weeks in India). The location is excellent, close to shops and lots of fantastic restaurants. There is an ATM ont he gorunds of the hotel and the taxis to the airport from within the hotel grounds are a fixed rate of NPR500 which is cheaper and easier than haggling outside.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat_traveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here on a referral. The person referring it had not been in a while.
The desk person was nice. The travel person was not. Once he knew that we had friends there and would be relying on them, he gave us a total cold shoulder. be aware that the internet will NOT work in your room, only in the lobby. And the toilets tend to clog. Ew. The electricity is on about 6 hours max a day, so if your tv is on when the power goes off, there is no way to adjust the sound or turn it off until the power comes back on and that may be the middle of the night.....
Not worth the money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarynWynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

When we arrive by taxi from the airport [ the free airport pick up did not happen ],the 3 ring circus in the court yard was in full swing. Many tourists dressed like mountain climbers and wannabe gurus.Our room that we booked for 50.00 a night was a 10 dollar a night room any where else in Kathmandu.We found this out when we refused to take what they were trying to shove down our throats.We walked around and found a much better place for 12 dollars a night about a 3 minute walk called Festoon Hotel. My advice is to stay away from the jokers at the Kathmandu Guest House.
Those people rip off first time travellers to Nepal.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stacey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 km away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#7 of 209 in Kathmandu
753 reviews
0 km away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#37 of 209 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
0.6 km away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#18 of 209 in Kathmandu
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 209 in Kathmandu
600 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 209 in Kathmandu
358 reviews
5.7 km away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: no. 16 KGH Square, Ward, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: ₹ 2,553 - ₹ 5,361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing