We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,074)
Filter reviews
1,074 results
Traveller rating
405
465
148
38
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
465
148
38
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews china garden garden terrace indian restaurant duty manager swimming pool nice pool star hotel old wing nice stay beautiful property breakfast spread the hotel staff front office rooms are spacious an oasis ihg kakori
Filter
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 1,074 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

During our recent visit to Nepal, we stayed here. While the general staff are polite and courteous (particularly the bell desk, restaurant staff and housekeeping), the same cannot be said about the Duty Managers and others in charge. The hotel plays by a different set of rules than any other Crown Plazas that I have stayed at. The name of the game here is "RIP OFF". When you try to reach the management to clarify, they're apparently "busy" and inaccessible and others down the chain seem helpless. What could be more important than hearing the customer?

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krishna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Dear Krishna R,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kathmandu - Soaltee!

We appreciate you taking out time for your feedback. The inconvenience that you had experienced is indeed very disturbing. I have shared this with the department team members concerned and will ensure that this is not repeated. We view this very seriously and see it as an opportunity for us to improve our services reinforced through a refresher training initiative for our team members. Meanwhile allow me to assure you that corrective measures have been taken to avoid any future re-occurrence.

We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The location here is a double edged sword. On one had, you have a walled oasis, with gardens and 4 restaurants to chose from. On the other hand, you are far from the city action and not really where you can just leave and walk around.

Room tip: The casino across the street can get loud from 10pm-2am. Ask for a courtyard facing, far form elevators, room if noise is an issue for you.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goosekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Dear Goosekins,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kathmandu - Soaltee!

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel.Our Hotel is very near to the world famous " Monkey Temple" and other world heritage sites. The location does offer the hotel a calm and serene atmosphere.
We look forward to welcoming you back to experience the warmth and indigenous Nepalese hospitality at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu – Soaltee.

Warm Regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We would not say the rooms are luxurious but the hotel and grounds are. The room was very nice, however. The buffet breakfast was fabulous as was dinner at their Italian restaurant. This hotel was a great value for the money.The location was quiet and away from the cacophony of the city. We would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Valerie043,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kathmandu - Soaltee!

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel. We were pleased to know that you enjoyed your breakfast at our brand new Coffee Shop " Garden Terrace" and dinner at Italian restaurant "Alfresco".
It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from discerning guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.

We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu - Soaltee.
Warm Regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was my 3rd visit to Soaltee. The last one was over 15 years back when it used to be managed by the Oberoi Group. The property bought back a lot of fond memories.

Rooms: newly renovated rooms were nice with new LCD TVs. Although it was a mountain view room, the pollution in Kathmandu barely lets you see the view. Plus I must admit the windows do need a bit of cleaning (some other review also pointed that out)

Food: Awesome food at the Indian restaurant kakori. The Italian is also good. We didnot get the chance to try out the Chinese restaurant. Breakfast was nice too although the way the buffet spread was arranged it was a bit confusing. Food was expensive though

Casion: They shut the casino long back

Spa: No spa in the hotel. Was a major drawback

The hotel earlier used to be in the out skirts of the City and now the City has grown all around it. I would recommend this place for anyone visiting Kathmandu.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear ticklu64

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kathmandu - Soaltee!

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu – Soaltee on Tripadvisor.
We were pleased to know that you enjoyed at our Indian restaurant "Kakori" and Italian restaurant "Alfresco" and your room.
Your observation on window has been noted and are addressing the same .Kindly do not consider this as a reflection of our normal standards .
We look forward to welcoming you back to experience the warmth and indigenous Nepalese hospitality at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu – Soaltee.

Warm Regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

classic old style hotel,calm & beautiful,restaurans is renovated.
friendly staff (Prakash,binoth from reception & mahesh from bar).
kakaori indian restaurant ok,romm svc good,club lounge good.
hotel is cool old architect,you can also have a view of syumbunath ( monkey temple) from the back facing room.Thamel the main city is 10 min drive without traffic and with traffic 20min plus depends,

Room tip: hotel is cool,but a bit far from airport..
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cukoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Cukoo,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kathmandu - Soaltee!

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services.We are happy to note that the services rendered by team were to your satisfaction.
We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews