We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tour Package & all details listed here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #53 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Visited this place 2-6th May on a package visit from www.AntilogVacations.com , a famous dealer for nepal packages in India.The offered us few casino & non casino packages & we chose it because of it suiting under budget.The travel was planned from Del-Kathmandu-del

Location :

The location of this hotel is far away from the city in a peaceful location ; away from all those hustle bustle noises as well as the traffic worries of the city, its on the other end so to reach some parts of the city its really time consuming and to be frank its not quite accessible .However the city had grown rapidly and expanded till this hotel, Thamel the main city is 10 min drive without traffic and with traffic 20min plus depends on conditions prevailing,

Our check in process was quite smooth and didn’t consumed much time to our relief

 The rooms seems to be renovated recently, they were quite big and spacious and the beds are also comfortable, all the much needed amenities like TVs, furniture etc… are all new and are in very good working condition, the view of the valley from the windows is really amazing its simply lush green surroundings, bath rooms are also good and up to date
 Staff is very pleasing and are always handy when required , d the job well, no worries with the service
 Food is awesome at this hotel especially it’s worth mentioning about Indian restaurant KAKORI which served us different varieties of dishes. The Italian restaurant too served delicious food, and the Chinese restaurant was ok, though every thing is quite expensive, but had no choice other than dinning here taking in to perception the connectivity factor to the restaurants in the city
 Swimming pool is maintained well and the bar at the venue is worth a try
 No casino and spa which is a turn down factor with this hotel
 Over all enjoyed our stay over here, definitely will consider this hotel when we visit back

Antilog Vacations is easily the best for nepal tours & they proved it with their good services in the end.Thanks to them and staff at Soaltee

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirandeep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Kirandeep,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza kathmandu - Soaltee!

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule and sharing your valued feedback with us.
We are very glad to know that your check-in experience was good and you had a comfortable stay with us, liked the quality of guest room and amenities provided in the guest room and also enjoyed all our dinning options.
We take a pride in the services extended by our team who take that extra step in making our guest feel comfortable and address their needs.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 550 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

During our recent visit to Nepal, we stayed here. While the general staff are polite and courteous (particularly the bell desk, restaurant staff and housekeeping), the same cannot be said about the Duty Managers and others in charge. The hotel plays by a different set of rules than any other Crown Plazas that I have stayed at. The name of the game here is "RIP OFF". When you try to reach the management to clarify, they're apparently "busy" and inaccessible and others down the chain seem helpless. What could be more important than hearing the customer?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krishna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Dear Krishna R,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kathmandu - Soaltee!

We appreciate you taking out time for your feedback. The inconvenience that you had experienced is indeed very disturbing. I have shared this with the department team members concerned and will ensure that this is not repeated. We view this very seriously and see it as an opportunity for us to improve our services reinforced through a refresher training initiative for our team members. Meanwhile allow me to assure you that corrective measures have been taken to avoid any future re-occurrence.

We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The location here is a double edged sword. On one had, you have a walled oasis, with gardens and 4 restaurants to chose from. On the other hand, you are far from the city action and not really where you can just leave and walk around.

Room Tip: The casino across the street can get loud from 10pm-2am. Ask for a courtyard facing, far form elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goosekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Dear Goosekins,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kathmandu - Soaltee!

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel.Our Hotel is very near to the world famous " Monkey Temple" and other world heritage sites. The location does offer the hotel a calm and serene atmosphere.
We look forward to welcoming you back to experience the warmth and indigenous Nepalese hospitality at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu – Soaltee.

Warm Regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We would not say the rooms are luxurious but the hotel and grounds are. The room was very nice, however. The buffet breakfast was fabulous as was dinner at their Italian restaurant. This hotel was a great value for the money.The location was quiet and away from the cacophony of the city. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Valerie043,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kathmandu - Soaltee!

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel. We were pleased to know that you enjoyed your breakfast at our brand new Coffee Shop " Garden Terrace" and dinner at Italian restaurant "Alfresco".
It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from discerning guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.

We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu - Soaltee.
Warm Regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was my 3rd visit to Soaltee. The last one was over 15 years back when it used to be managed by the Oberoi Group. The property bought back a lot of fond memories.

Rooms: newly renovated rooms were nice with new LCD TVs. Although it was a mountain view room, the pollution in Kathmandu barely lets you see the view. Plus I must admit the windows do need a bit of cleaning (some other review also pointed that out)

Food: Awesome food at the Indian restaurant kakori. The Italian is also good. We didnot get the chance to try out the Chinese restaurant. Breakfast was nice too although the way the buffet spread was arranged it was a bit confusing. Food was expensive though

Casion: They shut the casino long back

Spa: No spa in the hotel. Was a major drawback

The hotel earlier used to be in the out skirts of the City and now the City has grown all around it. I would recommend this place for anyone visiting Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear ticklu64

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kathmandu - Soaltee!

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu – Soaltee on Tripadvisor.
We were pleased to know that you enjoyed at our Indian restaurant "Kakori" and Italian restaurant "Alfresco" and your room.
Your observation on window has been noted and are addressing the same .Kindly do not consider this as a reflection of our normal standards .
We look forward to welcoming you back to experience the warmth and indigenous Nepalese hospitality at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu – Soaltee.

Warm Regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
6.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,629 reviews
3.6 km away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,123 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#52 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#93 of 209 in Kathmandu
499 reviews
5.1 km away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,117 reviews
3.1 km away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#19 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: ₹ 9,575 - ₹ 13,418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing