We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private Dining...”

Bu Keba The Organic Village Cafe`
Ranked #179 of 715 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Indian, Nepalese, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We have ample seating area including: -Outdoor seating -Indoor Lounge -Treehouse (Machans) -Conference hall On Saturdays we have a small farmers market where we have local vendors selling organic fruits & vegetables, organic grains, milk products, organic bakery items, dips, honey, ghee, etc We also serve breakfast along with our farmers market
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Private Dining...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

If you wish. The private dining rooms are quite nice. Either floor seating on cushions (upstairs) or low seats (downstairs). Wood, cushions, gauze-like curtains... Nice. Though you probably need a reservation or to arrive early to snag one.

Had the spinach and paneer ravioli tonight. Very nice. Hearty. Cooked exactly right. Nice "farmers" (tomato-based) sauce. The garlic bread was covered in fresh garlic. Dark bread, quite yummy.

Friend had the pesto spaghetti. It was supposed to come with toasted walnuts on top. She had to ask for the walnuts and then they arrived untoasted (but quickly). The spaghetti appears home-made.

Had a capirinha (made with rum, so not REALLY a capirinha). But it was certainly passable. My friend had the mojito. Quite decent, though not the best in Kathmandu.

I had 2 capirinhas, the ravioli, and the garlic bread for about 1350 NPR (Roughly $15 USD).

All in all, a nice visit. I'd certainly return. (And I will!)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unusual dishes, gracious setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

The outdoor curtain booths are romantic at night. I recommend the buckwheat crepes - the wild boar was solid fat, although tasty. Avoid it if you don't like fat on your meat. The momos were tasty - the sauce was especially delicious.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelermt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bashanta Basnet was great!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

It was the first time we had been to this organic restaurant with friends. Bashanta made our dining experience awesome. He suggested us the varieties of food along with their nutritious values....In over all the ambiance, quality of food, level of service, way of interaction with guest is superb. Mr Bashanta made our dining experience delight....

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toljit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to "dine"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I've been to Organic Village twice now and I've left happily stuffed each time. My favorite place to sit is in the multi-level outdoor private dinning rooms. With cushions and floor seating it has a very classy but relaxed atmosphere. This is a great place to go an enjoy a wonderful evening with some friends as the rooms are spacious (seating about 8) or to treat yourself or impress a newcomer. On top of that, the food is excellent, well-spiced and leaves you with many options - both vegetarian and non-vegetarian. Choices range from fire oven pizzas to curries to braised lamb. This is truly a great "dinning" spot in the heart of Jawalakhel. I already have plans to go back for thirds.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go, and go often”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed at the Summit Hotel in Patan, on the outskirts of Kathmandu, after my month-long Annapurna Trek, and absolutely loved Bu'keba, which was a short walk away. I had several lunches in the outdoor courtyard, and a lovely candlelit dinner one night, and the food was excellent without fail.

It was wonderful to see the attention placed on good quality, healthy, locally-sourced food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bu Keba The Organic Village Cafe` also viewed

Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
 
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Bu Keba The Organic Village Cafe`? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing