We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Kathmandu for price”
Review of Family Peace House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Family Peace House
Ranked #75 of 466 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have only given 2 reviews prior to this one, and will only do it if I feel 100% satisfaction.
What can I say, but...... I Like this place.
Rooms are clean, well maintained. Area is quiet, no generator noises. Even when power is out in Kathmandu they have battery power which keeps the wii fii working. The people that run the place are friendly, and make you feel at home. The have rooms that cover every budget, and a roof top with view of the Himlaya's and Monkey Temple.
I have been here for a week, and will be leaving soon, but will be back here when I return to Kathmandu.
I have stayed in numerous places in KAthmandu over many years, and this is the first one that I am happy to recommend......
Good luck on your travels..
Brett

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shantiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 63 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

I stayed at the Family Peace House for one night in December 2011. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The rooftop patio is a nice place to spend the mornings reading and breakfast is available. The hostel is in Poknajol, a quiet area, about 5 minutes away from the main tourist area, Thamel. I really enjoyed my stay here and the staff were very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Caitlin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We wanted to book a place before arriving in Kathmandu so we didn’t have to walk around crowded streets to find something, so we relied on reviews from here to choose Family Peace House. Overall, not impressed at all with this place and strongly recommend that travelers stay elsewhere at one of the (many) nearby other guesthouses. I have no idea why this has been rated so highly by some.

On the plus side, the location is good, in Paknajol, a quiet-ish area very close to the main backpacker street in Thamel (less than 5 min walk). However, there is a school next door so there is constant daytime noise of loud kids.

Our room was okay, very basic. It was a double ensuite room on the top floor, so we had 3 walls with windows which was very nice to get the natural light. Bathroom was basic, with a dripping toilet and though we were promised hot water we didn’t have it for 2 days of our 4 day stay, which was inconvenient to say the least.

We had breakfast one morning here on the rooftop, and it was awful. Took about 40 min to get our eggs and toast and when it arrived it was cold. The rooftop is overrated, its just a small patch of concrete with a few tables and everytime we were up there we were sharing space with the staff and their friends who were taking up one of the tables, playing cards, and smoking cigarettes. It’s a fine place to sit and read for a bit but certainly not some garden oasis.

The most distressing thing to us about this place was the unhelpful staff. In a big city like Kathmandu it would have been helpful for the staff to help orient us, maybe give us a map or offer suggestions on things to do and some travel tips, but they did none of that. They were pretty silent most of the time, and when we asked questions it was like pulling teeth to get an answer. The man who supposedly works at the Travel Info desk there was useless. As an example, we told him we wanted to go to Nagarkot (to see the Himalayan mountain range from the lookout there) to spend a night. I had seen online that there were tourist shuttle buses that went there so I asked about them. He said they didn’t have shuttle buses, it was the low season now (which wasn’t the case – we were there in high season). I said I saw it online. He said no. I said well then what were our options…he said public bus or car. I again had to ask him to explain those options (pulling teeth) and he said for the public buses we’d have to take two of them and it wasn’t good, we should take a car. I asked how much a car was and he said 2,000 rupees or something ridiculous like that. So we went to another travel agent down the street and asked if they sold tourist shuttle bus tickets to Nagarkot and of course they did…for 350 rupees. Done!

Then, we talked to 3 of the staff members at the hotel to tell them we were in effect checking out to go to Nagarkot and wanted to store our luggage and then come back the next day to stay one more night. They said that was fine, they could store our bags. Great. So the morning we were leaving for Nagarkot we packed up and went to turn in our key and one staff guy said just to leave the bags in the room. We asked 'are you SURE that’s okay' several times and he said yes. So we left. Long story short, when we came back we took back our room and the next day when we were checking out they tried to charge us for the night we weren’t there. We obviously didn’t pay it and told them that 3 different staff members had confirmed that it was okay to leave our bags there. It was ridiculous and clearly no one there had communicated with each other.

We also gave the business card for the Tourist Shuttle bus to the Travel Desk guy and told him he should know that there indeed is a bus to Nagarkot so that if other guests want to go he won’t misinform them. He took the card and didn’t say a word. Finally my husband told him he was going to be sure to give them a negative review and suddenly he bounced into action all “thank you sir for your stay” and all nice.

Overall very unprofessional and unorganized staff and doesn’t seem to be a well managed place at all. It was nothing more than a bed to sleep in at night, when in Kathmandu you can do much better than that.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed here in last december 2011 for almost two weeks. They game me good price for long stay. I paid only 500 rupees for big and nice room on roof top. My room had hot shower every morning and afternoon. I had nothing to complain for this hostel. Staff are very nice and helpful. They always offered me free tea in the morning. I will stay definitely when I am back to this wonderful country.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jaimie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

While the location was great, quite close to Thamel without all the craziness and noise, the guesthouse was extremely cold and getting hot water was a bit of a hit and miss in our room 203.
We found the staff a little unhelpful at times and felt like we were not being given accurate information on prices.
We did feel safe while staying here and did return for another 2 nights after seeing what other guethouses had to offer for the same price.

Room Tip: Request not to have room 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 km away
The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
1.2 km away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#52 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,216 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,256 reviews
4.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,626 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#54 of 209 in Kathmandu
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Peace House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Peace House

Address: Paknajol | Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: ₹ 651 - ₹ 1,106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Family Peace House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Family Peace House is located in a quiet and tranquil area of Paknajol, directly adjacent to Thamel, the main backpacker’s heaven. We have 17 rooms in total with either en-suite or shared bathrooms, some have a private balcony, and all have a TV, fan, and heating in the winter. We have cosy garden and a restaurant with a variety of local and international dishes. From the roof top you have a view of the Kathmandu vallley including the Nagarjun Forest, the world heritage monument Swayambhunath ( Monkey Temple), Ganesh Himal, Gaurishankhar and Langtang Himal. We pride ourselves on cleanliness, comfort and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Family Peace House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing