We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elbrus Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elbrus Home
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Fantastic hostel in the center of Kathmandu :) Rooms are OK, the owners Khem and his brother make the fantastic atmosphere , breakfast very , very delicious and the best terrace with fantastic view :) I recommed it !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelineKRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    61
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
7
116
81
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Elbrus Home was our favourite place we stayed in all of Nepal and one of our top favourites in our 3 months of travelling. The staff were all extremely friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The free breakfast was a very nice touch. The location is perfect, in Thamel, very close to some great restaurants, shops and market stalls. Khem the owner was wonderful and even helped us set up a trip to chitwan National Park, Pokhara and a tour of Bhutan. The first room we had was lovely, clean and spacious, and we really enjoyed staying there. We then went on to some other areas of Nepal and returned to Elbrus home to stay a further 3 nights. On our second stay we were given an even better room than before which was great. We then went on a trip to Bhutan and again returned to Elbrus home for a 3rd time before our flight. It was like our home away from home and extremely comfortable. Also its a good place to meet other travellers with its communal internet area and rooftop.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms, 1 was a twin that could be turned into a double which was great, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Location is perfect. Just 100 meters from the center of Thamel. Nice to get out of Thamel after a long day. Perfect teresse on roof where the western style breakfast is served. Staff is fantastic helpful. The host spend a hole day with at the emergency room when we had an injury. Rooms are clean. No luxery but very nice and extreemly good value for the money. Tv in room came in handy during champions league final. Staff can also arrange trips and airport pick ups. All in all highly recomendable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_welles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

The staff and the hostel manager is very nice, they're helpful and provide us with endless hospitality, love it. The room is okay but its clean, more light and air con will be great, though. But, so far its still acceptable. There is free wifi inside the room which also very great and the free breakfast is totally worth it where we can order everything in the menu and the taste is delicious! The location is good as its in the Thamel area which is a backpacker area and near markets. One suggestion in the website its better to put the name of the road (Tradevi Marg) since we only has address "Thamel, Kathmandu" and our driver drop us in the corner of the street because no clear address of this hostel in the internet.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niantiaulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candolim, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Rooms are ok and clean enough. Staff is quite friendly. Nice public area.

A bit pricey for what it is, better value can be found elsewhere in Kathmandu.

A bit of a problem booking online (have experienced this elsewhere as well), so make sure you re-confirm by email a day or two before coming in.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyHatJono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 187 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.8 km away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#11 of 187 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.5 km away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#8 of 187 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Andes House
Andes House
#1 of 105 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 km away
Famous House Kathmandu Youth Hostel
2.9 km away
Dormitory Nepal
Dormitory Nepal
#4 of 105 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elbrus Home? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elbrus Home

Property: Elbrus Home
Address: Thamel | Golkopacka, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Kathmandu
Price range (per night): ₹ 823 - ₹ 1,097
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elbrus Home, formerly known as Kathmandu Tourist Bungalow, was established in 2003. The hostel lies in the hub of the tourist center Thamel. It is located nearby several supermarkets, bus stations, travel and trekking agencies, restaurants and bars, bookshops, and internet cafes. In addition, most embassies are easily accessible from the guesthouse. Rooms offer twin size and king size beds, a television, hot shower, and western style toilets. Guests can enjoy mountain top views from the rooftop terrace, while enjoying a refreshing meal from the restaurant. Staff is on service 24 hours a day and can help guests book sightseeing tours, safari and rafting trips, trekking, and mountaineering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Elbrus Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbrus Home Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing