We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Diamond Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diamond Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Abilene
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Not the worst place we had stayed in the area but definitely a close second. When we checked in we made sure to ask if there was wifi in the rooms and the clerk said yes, so we filled out the check in sheet and as he was running our credit card says 'well i dont charge for internet so if it goes out oh well'. Normally wouldnt be that big a deal except i had clearly stated that i needed it for work the next morning and we could not stay if there was no internet. But other than that the room was kind of musty, the a/c was very loud and kept us up all night and other guests started yelling across the parking lot at 6am. Would not recommend this hotel if you like sleeping or need internet.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondy2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    25
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
7
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

We decided to stay here after reading the mostly positive reviews on Tripadvisor and after seeing an ad for the motel in the Midwest Travel Buddy, one of those rest area coupon books. Besides offering a $36.99 price for a king room (a hefty penny discount off the $37.00 if you pay without using the coupon), the ad clearly stated that the Diamond was rated three diamonds by AAA and two stars by the Mobil Travel Guide. This claim is repeated, as of this writing, on the motel’s website.

Well, it may indeed have had those ratings back in the 1950s or 1960s when it was built. But it does not have them now, as a check of the current AAA book and online Mobil Travel Guide shows. What it has is a selection of musty, moldy rooms – we sniffed the air in about six of them before finding one we thought might be tolerable – decorated with a sometimes amusing assortment of garage sale furniture. If you enjoy sitting in a faded yellow velour love seat while drinking deeply of mildew and craning your neck to see an oddly-placed television, this is the place for you.

Why, oh why, did we stay? Well, we were tired. We didn’t feel like schlepping back to the interstate in search of a better place. We figured we’d have some wine with the dinner we brought with us and then fall asleep. And the plan worked up to a point. Despite being able to open one of the two windows (the lever on the other one had long since ceased to function) to let in some fresh air, we awoke in the middle of the night. No, it was not the blaring horn of yet another train passing on the tracks three blocks away that interrupted our slumber. It was the insidious smell of must and mildew. It was so bad that Ms. Maven, suffering from a horrendous allergy headache, actually tried to sleep in the car, which is a first in her motel/hotel experience.

Did we mention that the Diamond is OLD? So old that there is no individual control over heating or cooling. Whatever the management sets the temperature at comes through the grate in the bedroom and the grate in the bathroom. You can try to shut the grate but you can’t really stop the flow of cold or heat unless you put a towel over the “shut” grate. Though there was a ceiling fan in the room, we imagine the heating and cooling system would be inadequate during temperature extremes.

Speaking of old, the bathroom in our room was the original, with pink tile, almost charming in a retro sort of way. There was even a place for facial tissues built into the vanity, back when the Diamond really was AAA-rated and offered facial tissues to its guests. The toilet was original, too, one of those small, rounded ones from the era before the elongated bowl. Larger folk will find it uncomfortable, especially as there is about three inches between the toilet and the wall, meaning that you might need to sit a little sideways.

The motel wasn’t entirely awful. The young man at the desk, whose parents recently bought the place, was helpful. The bed was acceptable. The large TV had a remote and got full local cable. There was even ice available, if you went to the office and took it out of the refrigerator. Breakfast, which we didn’t partake of, was served until 9:30. (Checkout was 11 a.m.) Goodwill-esque floral sheets offered a break from those monotonous white linens found at most establishments, but were unable to completely obscure maid-cart wheel marks and other stains. The room was more or less clean enough, though we did count 11 hairs on the shower wall that did not belong to us.

In our humble opinion this is the most overrated motel on Tripadvisor. It was the worst place we stayed on our 30-day road trip. For $37 we did not expect the Ritz – and, indeed, would have found it passable (though a little odd) had the room not had mold issues. But the management’s deceptive advertising raised expectations – three diamonds from AAA is usually what Hampton Inns, Courtyards by Marriott, and Four Points Sheratons get.

This is a no-star place. If must and mildew don’t bother you and you have a sense of humor, you might find the Diamond to be acceptable. But it is hardly charming, the rooms are dark and dank, and the place is clearly in decline. Deceptive advertising is not the only thing here that smells.

  • Liked — The TV channel selection was good
  • Disliked — Musty, dank rooms and deceptive advertising that falsely claims high ratings
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Motel-Mavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2008

We booked the hotel based on the rewiew we saw online and the price was good. However, we booked a room with a queen bed, and got a king bed. We also were expecting a coffee maker, an iron, an ironing board and an alarm clock-none of these were in the room. We were told there would be a microwave, which arrived on our 1st day. I had to take a special microwave breakfast to the lobby and heat it the first morning. The room was clean, but certainly needs to be updated and modernized for today's traveler. The TV stand has a broken piece on it and the recliner reclines nicely, but does not reset easily. We had NO blankets in the room and since we were unable to control the temp in the room, were cold on our second night. The biggest concern is the door to the bathroom. Apparently the toilet has been replaced. In order to close the bathroom door we had to force it shut passed the toilet. We can see where the door has been forced closed by others. Not at all acceptable. The key was a challenge the first time. We have been used to card entries. The deadbolt could only be locked from the inside, even though it is set up for a key. The room was not what we had expected from the information we had online.
WE WILL NOT BE STAYING HERE AGAIN NOR RECOMMEDNING THIS HIOTEL. It was the worst 2 nights of our 2 week vacation!

  • Liked — Closeness to attraction
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank loissiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

Spent a week at the Diamond after Labor Day.
Stayed there on vacation about the same time last year as well.
Owners remembered me.
Lots of improvements. New parking lot, new carpet, fresh paint and new window AC units. WIFI available in all rooms now. Computer available in the lobby.
I like it there. It is clean, very reasonably prices, quiet, friendly, comfortable and relaxing.
Higly recommended. Probably will go back again next year.

  • Liked — The friendliness
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Murphyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2007

As experienced travellers, my adult son and I stayed here for four nights while researching at the (fairly) nearby Eisenhower Archive. We were very comfortable and found the motel good value. The room was very quiet and the management was welcoming but discreet. Coffee toast and cereal for breakfast. A car is essential - no public transport and shops etc over a mile away. There was a 24/7 launderette almost next door was very convenient. That we were surprised with a Thanksgiving box of chocolates has not influenced the writing of this review! We would return at any time We had pre-booked over the net from London.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
Thank tonyPLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abilene
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Abilene
36.1 km away
Express Inn & Suites Junction City
36.4 km away
Hampton Inn Junction City
Hampton Inn Junction City
#1 of 15 in Junction City
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
36.5 km away
Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites
32.9 km away
Days Inn Salina I-70
Days Inn Salina I-70
#17 of 31 in Salina
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Motel

Property: Diamond Motel
Address: 1407 NW 3rd St, Abilene, KS 67410-3511
Region: United States > Kansas > Abilene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Abilene
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,761 - ₹ 3,532
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diamond Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.3 miles south of I70, exit 275, then one mile west. Attractive and well maintained rooms. Rooms include cable TV with movies, refrigerators, and microwaves. Small pets only, major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Diamond Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Abilene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing