We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glimpses of Bhutan - 4 Days Tour
10

Book in advance
from
₹1,78,734.48
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Thimphu’s Weekend Market
from ₹1,78,734.48
More Info
from ₹6,41,986.82
More Info
from ₹1,01,154.29
More Info
from ₹4,93,684.35
More Info
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
16
25
13
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
25
13
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Nothing to be missed if skipped.

Pros:
To get an idea about what grains, vegetables are grown in Bhutan and what they consume.

Cons:
Smells bad
Very unclean

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank karthink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Saw this in a lot of itineraries and hence thought of doing it. It's just a normal fruits and vegetables market good for locals daily needs. No need for tourists to visit. Instead visit the handicrafts market if just needed. Although Paro has much better options to be honest

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank 486aniruddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2016

There are weekend markets at Paro & Thimphu (Fri to Sun) and visiting one of them gives you a lesson on how it is possible to have high levels of cleanliness in vegetable markets. The one at Paro is located near the Paro Market and we went there to pick up some fresh fruits, which we were unable to find elsewhere in Paro. There were other tourists like us also shopping for fruits. Wonder where one gets fruits on weekdays ?!!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank PVS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed the farmers weekend market. So much fun to move around and learn their food n culture. Some of The grains n vegetables n rice are so unique. Some vegetables are giant sized. Rice comes in pink n red n brown etc. They import paan leaves n most of the vegetables from India.
They don't kill animals. It's a violation. So they import all the meat from India. Bhutanese never kill animals.
Their chilliest the little round ones are the spiciest.
Their staple food is rice with egg diced in butter, potato slices diced in cheese n butter, turnips cooked in butter, long red chillies sautéed in butter with mushrooms n beef.
Yum fresh fruits available in abundance.
Enjoyed n great talking the the locals.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank shalzart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2016

“Get your fruits and vegies.” Spread over what seems like several city blocks, this open air market sells everything from dried fish, cheeses, spices and grasses. When the smell overtakes you, wonder to the streets for some shopping. Hint for men---if you decided to wear the traditional gho, you will need to purchase a pair of knee high black socks. Gold Toe brand is recommended.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews